We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try their dessert” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of China House

China House
Ranked #2 of 33 Dessert in George Town
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try their dessert”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went on weekday and no problem with the service. Some cakes are uncovered. The tiramisu is fine for me but the Kahluaflan is not so acceptable for me. Individual taste maybe. The cake did not look tasty from their outlook. I wish there is more explanation for individual cake and dessert there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    499
    182
    89
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Service a big let down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This place was recommended and appeared promising when we frist entered as it had a cool and calm ambience and relaxing...however we only ordered tea, beer and cakes and the cakes came within 5 mins but 4 times had to ask for our drinks which came 25 mins after the cakes....no apology offered for delay and would not return or recommend this...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RosiePerth123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Live music night was great at China House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We came in just for a drink and ended up staying there for 5 hours. The place has a really cool vibe. And it was amazing to see how big this place is! During the night there was some really good live music, which made our evening very special

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniëlle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food, huge cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

You go to Vhina House for an evening out and not just a quick bite. Food is good, service very friendly and when you go for the cakes..... be aware that they are hguge and easily can be shared.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dutch_Marc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great cakes and coffee in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My favourite place in Georgetown, in fact in all of Malaysia, for cakes and coffee. Nice ambience in old building, wonderful, wonderful selection of cakes. Sometimes service is slow, but usually friendly. Always busy, the bar with the band is often good also. Nice place to sit and relax.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Applecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing