We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing much to shout about”
Review of China House

China House
Ranked #2 of 31 Dessert in George Town
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Malaysian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nothing much to shout about”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

There have been a been a lot of good comments on China House. Tried recently but was not very impressed.

The food are mainly western and very much Australian style given that the owner who originally came from Australia. They serve all day breakfast and cakes as well as some western dishes. Cakes are quite good but not the rest of the dishes which are just average.

There are various sections, namely the cafe, formal dining, wine corner and bar at the rear of this very long and narrow pre-war old house. There is also an art gallery on the 1st floor.

The decor of the place is very bare and rustic. So if you like rustic and bare, it might interest you. The owner has obviously spent very little to refurbish the place. What I don't particularly like is that they also put in a lot of replicate modern furnitures which do not go well with the rustic look.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    525
    192
    93
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cakes”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We had been told to go and try the cakes and we're glad we did. The food was great but I have never seen such an amazing selection of cakes anywhere. We tried three and they were all delicious. The building is amazing and it's in a great location so you can walk off some of the food later!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare-UKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Western snacks at Western prices”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

China House is possibly the funkiest cafe in Penang at the moment. The building is very deep, running a long way from Beach Road to Victoria Street, and it is anchored in the middle by a long rectangular pond framed by a round entrance way, which exudes calm and serenity. China House is very rustic with high airy ceilings and white painted exposed beams. By furnishing and painting rooms differently, it has cleverly created themed spaces. The design is very eclectic with recycled furniture and mood lighting, but it is the the massive atelier-styled mirrors throughout the dining area that makes it pop! Chasing the young and beautiful, or at least the old and rich clientele, China House is well-worth visiting at least once to soak in the ambience and imagine that you are far, far away in a cafe in the West. You will certainly feel the hole in your wallet as the prices are Western prices! You could have more satisfying meals elsewhere but I have to admit, the cakes look like they are to die for ... Service is adequate but the staff behind the bar could do with a smile. The space upstairs has been split into an art gallery, and what looks like a holding space for old furniture so maybe this is a work in progress. I like the "unfinished" feel of China House but I wish you didn't have to be rich to go to cake heaven.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueArsedFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem which made all the difference”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Being a spoiled traveler I was utterly disappointed by Penang, until ...
Until I went for dinner at the CHINA HOUSE
There is so much to say:
I loved the place, it's huge and every ambience has its own reason to be there:
the restaurant, a room painted in blue with marvellous paintings of Chinese porcelain and antiques everywhere, the food was world class! I had the fillet mignon cooked to perfection (very rare to find that in Asia) the desserts are mouthwatering stunning, I had a lemon cream with ginger nuts on top ... Omg sooo goood!)
The place is reasonably priced, abt 30 usd x head including wine

The art gallery on the first floor is not uninteresting and is surely tempting

The courtyard has a round 'moon gate access which already sets the mood, the candles , feng shui swimming pool antiques and tropical plants complete the fairy tale status

The life music bar, although loud and crowded (no noise gets to the restaurant area) features some surprising artists ( reconnect a beautiful voice and swing to an ugly nerdy teenager was intriguing)

On top of the bar is a huge chill out room with marvelous pieces of art and eclectic furniture which just makes u feel to be in the living room of Picasso, ready for a long chat with your favorite writers and movie stars.

I really loved it and went back twice

This place is the only reason I will come back to Penang, don't miss it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Villa_Dermawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everthing else but tourists !”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The coke without bubble on 3kg of rocks after 1 hour of wait is !
Very touristic place and prices. Nothing to see, nothing to do there...
Even the breakfeat is uneatable
A huge deception.
Real place for Bobos !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Filou_o_turco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China House also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to China House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing