We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where did my childhood go?”

Ben's Vintage Toy Museum Penang
Ranked #49 of 124 things to do in George Town
Attraction details
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Where did my childhood go?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ben is DA MAN. Right from the beginning, I was awed by the extensive range of toys collected by one person, and how each and every toy displayed was in fairly great condition. I came across some video games that triggered some almost-forgotten childhood memories (Western Bar video game!!) and also plenty of other things that I've never seen before. The owner's daughter (Nabilah if I remember her name correctly) and her friend was manning the shop at that time, and they were kind enough to give us fun tidbits about some of the toys.
The 2nd floor had displays of beautifully crafted rocking horses and toy cars. And er, yeah some creepy looking dolls too for added effect.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sulaishah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    37
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Toy Museum in Penang”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nothing special. It's in a warehouse sort of place and you will see few rows of big marvel characters. The rest are all small toys, barbie dolls, movie charaters etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only for devoted toys lovers...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great collection,amazed and surprised with some of the vintage toys-some which I have never seen and many are still in good,playable condition. Ben ,the owner was there and very friendly and patient with the kids exploring his collection. Definitely recommended if you are one of those who loves toys,otherwise one may be bored

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank souldoc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“You can't imagine what kinda toys they have there..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Visit this place to see a wide variety of toys, maybe since 1800.. not a toy lover but I enjoyed the visit and I bet you would too.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank koshpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
93 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“best toy collection in SE Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

best toy collection in SE Asia, all vintage..tin robots to dolls & bikes...Ben & Malik are toy houds at heart & it shows... a personal collection run amok

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NicaNutButter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Vintage Toy Museum Penang also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Ben's Vintage Toy Museum Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing