We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good reminiscence with strange encounter”

Ben's Vintage Toy Museum Penang
Ranked #49 of 124 things to do in George Town
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good reminiscence with strange encounter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

The museum is in the vicinity of Khoo Kok si in Chinatown. The famous wall painting of "a little boy on a stool reaching up for something" is also around the corner. The shop attendant was very friendly. He offered some vintage toys and gadgets for us to have some hands-on. I even played with 'the western bar", a hand held electronic game from the 90s. Upstairs was a collection of vintage prams, strollers, rocking house etc. old pictures with children from the 70s decorated the walls. My sis in law felt weird in 1 room and it was in this room that I witnessed my husband's phone camera shutter went off by itself a couple of times and blurry pictures were captured. It was a strange encounter and completed the whole experience of a vintage toy museum. We defintely didn't feel scared.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adri-ence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    37
    18
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like walking into a "Pickers" episode”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Malik, Ben's son was a warm, endearing host who sat me down for a couple of hours to talk about how he and his family collected and obtained his vast collection of old vintage toys. There are items from the heyday of 70s Japan, pre and post-WW2 era tin and steel-plate toys, a truly remarkable array of vintage robots and cars and even an antique rocking horse. But the most impressive item was an issue of Superman #1. Yes, that Superman #1.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RaqibKarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wicked Collection!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

How great was this. I just wanted to open all the showcases and play with everything like I was 6 years old again. It only cost 6 Ringgit to get I would of payed 20!!
I don't know how ZaraAndy can say that's too expensive. And its a museum that's why you can't play with the toys.
Bring the kids so they can see what it was like when we were young!
KEEP IT UP Ben!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LJ_Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Step back to childhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Small but well maintained and displayed exhibits. Took me back to my childhood with toy pinball machines, robots and blow football. Well dne Ben.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonandTracyBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I love toys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

A rich man's obsession. i also collect plastic toys and this is a mind boggle The dude spends an incredible amount of money on his obsession

Helpful?
2 Thank Durio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ben's Vintage Toy Museum Penang also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 
Penang Island, Penang
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Ben's Vintage Toy Museum Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing