We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Inn
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
$141
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$145
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$128
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$43
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$46
Hotel Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
5
22
27
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
22
27
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater dispenserbooked the family roomisland hospitalinternet connectionconsac
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 67 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very clean bathroom. Room also very clean. Value for the RM. location not so good. But if you have your own transport it's ok. Car park limited. It's just 4 months old. We stayed from 15 to 17 sept 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianakpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was far from city center,hard to find on the road on foot. Clealiness was OK, Rooms were specious and clean.Reception staff in night shift, Ms Roubini and Mr.Erin were very cooperative. Breaffast was just bread & butter with coffee/Tang.

Room Tip: Found all rooms with window, I had 2 rooms, road side one was good.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Usafzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Grand Inn is your run of the mill traveller's hotel. All your basic necessities, clean, cheap and great air con. Sadly the location is not great, having a 45min walk to the city centre/shopping malls. Breakfast is VERY basic and by that I mean Toast, Jam, Orange Juice and nothing else at all! Taxi drivers have no idea where it is to make sure you give the exact address. Overall the stay was fine with no complications other than the belief that one of the beds had bed bugs (resulting in 50 bites), in all fairness to the hotel they were onto it immediately, however something to look out for!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahWilliam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A good budget hotel which is very near to town, hawker stalls and Loh Guan Lye Specialist Centre. I got a room in this hotel for MYR 95 per night when most of the other 1 or 2 star hotels around town charged me nearly double (Hari Raya school holiday so they increased the price). The room was clean and also the bathroom. Like the previous comment stated, I found the only downside was that you could hear voices and footsteps from the corridor.
The breakfast menu was simple, too simple... they only served bread with butter and jam. For drinks you have the choice of coffee, tea and orange juice. If you would like to have heavy breakfast, I suggest walking to nearby hawker stalls.
Overall, I was satisfied for the amount I paid and there's free Wi-Fi!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank WishPriya1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel itself it not bad. It is a fairly new hotel, many of my cab drivers do not know where it is but if you say it is near "G Inn", they will know. The painting on the wall looks like it's not fully dried but it is. I'm assuming there's moisture in between the walls. The beds and everything is clean. There is a little market (similar to 7-11) and food court/stalls within walking distance. Right outside the hotel is a bus stop, which is convenient if you plan on taking public transportation. The staff members are really helpful, answering all of my questions to the best of their ability. The biggest downfall is their air conditioning unit in the room, it is the weakest ac system I have ever come across. After a long day in the heat, I would like to return to a room where I can cool down but the room feels very musty and the ac takes about 15 minutes to lower the temperature of the room. Another complaint is that you can hear all the footsteps and the people talking in the hallway. All in all, for a budget hotel, it was worth it.

P.S. If don't have anything planned but would like a tour of Penang, there is a travel agency nearby. When you walk out of the hotel, turn right. Keep walking until you pass an intersection, until you see some kind of wedding carriage. Right after the carriage, you will see a bunch of travel deals posted on the wall. This agency offers a lot of diff kinds of tours for the city depending on what you want to see. It cost 60 ringgit per person. They have 2 tour times, I don't remember the exact times but there is 1 in the morning and 1 in the afternoon. Or you can set your own tour for 200 ringgit to rent a van for 4 hours.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews