We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Noordin Mews

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Noordin Mews
Ranked #4 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very clean, lovely big rooms, exceptional staff that really went the extra mile and central location. I would highly recommend this hotel. Close to shopping mall and hawker market. Nice central communal area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaAndyAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    194
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
336
407
57
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Couldn't speak highly enough of our stay at Noordin Mews. From arrival to departure, no task was too much for the staff, they responded to every request with a smile and did whatever they could to make our stay all the more enjoyable (we asked for everything from directions & buses to ferry tickets and dinner bookings). Its a lovely setting, great pool, awesome breakfast and the rooms are chic yet simple, we loved the 1950's Chinese decor. The hotel is a short walk from the main bus terminal, which made it really easy to get to Kek Lok Si Temple and Batu Ferringhi for day trips and its an easy stroll to Little India and Chinatown. There is also a small hawker food market in the next street which served great local food.

A big thank you to Baby for going out of her way to send back a picture we left in a taxi... just an example of how lovely the staff were! Would definitely return :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezzca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The service is top notch for a B&B. Welcome drink and fresh fruits, luggage is taken to your room. Anything else? A welcoming smile, always! We booked 2 rooms here, E and K: both were spacious recently refurbished and nicely decorated. A special ++ for the cute bathroom. What makes it a 5 stars? The delicate attention to details, the peaceful and quiet atmosphere of the place, the quality of the service and the delicious breakfast taken in the patio! One more thing, they have car park available right in front, Wifi is free. The only slight minor point - if you don't have a car - is that you are about 15 mins walk from the heart of Georgetown and the main action. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in an upstairs mews room, and the service was 6-star, always accompanied by lovely smiles from everyone.

The downstairs area was smaller than it appeared to be on the website, but our room was spacious and comfortable plus a very good-size bathroom. Must add that the whole property was well-maintained and spotlessly clean.

The breakfast offered a few choices, but it was all good food nicely served, and the coffee was fresh and hot (didn't have the tea).

The only downside was that the music from the breakfast area was sometimes rather loud and monotonous. We didn't really like the street, but we got used to it and we did feel safe enough both daytime and evening.

A stay at Noordin Mews is a different and interesting experience which we would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aandlkch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Checkin was prompt and we received a chilled towel. Our bags were taken to our room. A welcome drink tray with fruit plate arrived minutes after we walked no our rooms. The staff were cheerful and eager to help, especially at breakfast.

The rooms were fun with period memorabilia, but we saw that in some other rooms, the bed is nested and may be challenging to roll out.

Breakfast is a delightful choice of local (Nasi lemak) muesli, French toast or scrambled eggs with toast. The coffee is strong and fresh ground, but the juice tasted fake.

We really thought the hotel was very fun, but it is pricier, and a outside of the Georgetown heritage proper and even beyond the buffer zone. the decor and choices were eye candy. The staff seemed eager to help.

We would love to see a ventilator in the bathroom and deadbolts on the door that have been better oiled. They clattered loudly every time you opened and closed them. Blocking the padlock was also a bit challenging at night because it was very dark.

Perhaps a courtesy ride into the heart of Georgetown would reduce the challenge of crossing the really busy streets that need to be crossed on the walk towards Little India.

Room Tip: Ask for directions. The sign is tiny and we drove by twice before locatng it with help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lu-Shien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwäbisch Hall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Most friendly staff i ever had in Asia

Everything was Perfect, Thanks
Perfect Location, Nice Pool, best coffee ever.
Early breakfast was nö Problem
We lover the Stay in this Boutique hotel

We wer messed up about georgetown, nö Need to go there for frequent Asia Visitors but the hotel was so Good

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Asiafreak2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have only stayed 2 nights here.
Nice room, spacious.
All staff members were very polite and helpfull.
Good atmosphere
Very close to 1st avenue mall and we walked all the way to Little India, not far

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 77 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 77 in George Town
5.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
0.6 mi away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#4 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 2,805 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#13 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noordin Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noordin Mews

Property: Noordin Mews
Address: 53 Lebuh Noordin, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Noordin Mews 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noordin Mews is a private boutique hotel in the historical Georgetown Penang with the added advantage of a lovely swimming pool. The hotel located just one street away from good shopping (Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue) and Penang Bus Terminal (Komtar). We are just minutes walk away to all the heritage attractions of historical Georgetown and the various eclectic dining options that Penang is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Noordin Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noordin Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing