We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unusual little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Noordin Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Noordin Mews
Ranked #4 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unusual little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Noordin Mews, mainly due to the young and friendly staff, who were all very helpful. The room was very unusual, but clean and amazingly quiet considering the layout of the property. Breakfast was a bit basic, but sufficient. Would stay again and recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kritigirl325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    213
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
387
439
62
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Upon arrival, I have been welcomed in my room by the very kind staff. They offered me a welcome drink in a nice bottle. Everytime I was coming back or in the pool I was offered some fresh water, I loved that attention. The rooms were big and full of chinese retro items, its lovely. It still smelt like the wall painting was done not long ago, which I did not mind. The TV is however not in front of TV but there s a long couch to lay down on in case you feel like staying home for a night. The breakfast was yummy, served from 8.30 onwards. the pool is refreshing after a day of sightseeing. Location is near a shopping mall (3 min away) and walking distance to main touristy spots (20 min)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kouala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is fantastic with nice rooms, a good pool, extremely friendly and helpful staff and a good location. The breakfast is great with a choice of eggs, muesli or varied asian dishes as well as juices, fresh fruit, tea or coffee. The staff are all very welcoming and every time we arrived back in the hotel after a hot excursion we were treated to a glass of iced water and a smile . The hotel is located in a commercial street, 1 street south of Komtar. The location is great for buses, including the free CAT service, as it is very close to the Komtar bus station. It is about a 1 Km walk to the historic part of Georgetown but there is plenty to see on the way. Try the hawker stalls for an evening meal,1 block south (away from Komtar) or go about 4 blocks further to the large interesting markets and hawker stalls (for lunch) - corner McNair and Herriot streets - fantastic food.

Room Tip: We had room M which is upstares at the rear and was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albanytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The good:
- The staff provided excellent service. They were really helpful and efficient. They always tried their best to meet our requests
- Though breakfast was simple, it tasted great. It was lovely having breakfast by the pool every morning
- They served very good coffee and blue-berry jam during breakfast.
- it is a few minutes walk away from First Avenue shopping centre
- the beautiful decor especially in the common and dining area
- the feel of the hotel made you just want to hang out in the hotel grounds.

The not-so-good:
- terribly weak wifi in the rooms
- it is situated on a quiet, dark street at night and is quite unknown to the locals.
- the door latches of the room was hard to open/close
- if you don't like having old photos of people you don't know hanging all over your hotel room, you won't like this place.
- no safe in the room

Noordin Mews made our stay in Penang extra-special and memorable. The good outweighs the not-so-good. I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: If you have issues with stairs, remember to request for a room on the first floor. But you may be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The historical building of Noordin Mews is nice and attractive. Service is perfect. It is unforgetable that when I came back outside at the hot weather, the staff sent cups of cold water for us. Moreover, when I shared that the Blueberry was tasted nice and asked it would be for sale or not. They called the supplier and gave us a small one free of charge.

The location of Noordin Mews is good too. You could walk to the Bus Stop of Komtar which is a big bus stop and you could reach most points of Penang by bus.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is good too. I had happy time there. One little problem is the WIFI service was weak.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chi Kin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great hotel, fantastic service. The rooms are designed with all the mod cons but with a touch of retro. We were given the room on the 2nd floor closest to the road, that actually meant some traffic noise. So avoid this room if you are a light sleeper. Bathroom is a tad dark though. Alacarte breakfast is available with an Asian option and is cooked upon order. The breakfast is fantastic and was a great way to start each day. Service by each of the staff is fantastic, nothing is ever too difficult for them, and they will also offer very good suggestions for food or attractions, or even give good advise on places NOT worth going. :)

Location wise, this property is on the other side of the Georgetown Heritage Site, separated by Komtar, so you would need to cross quite a few busy roads to get to the main attraction area. However, it was not a long walk, maybe 10 minutes, although the roads are very busy.

Will I come back?? I would certainly recommend this property to anyone looking for a place to stay, however, personally I would choose to stay within the heritage zone itself on my next visit to Penang.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GetawayJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. From arrival to departure the staff was superb making sure that we had a fantastic stay. The breakfast was great. They have a different asian breakfast every day, and it was big tasty portions that made a great start to our days. The location is good, close to KOMTAR and the shopping around it, and with lots of great street food within walking distance. The rooms are big, and have a big clean bathroom. Good closet space for clothes as well. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: As for a downstairs room if you have a stroller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vegard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noordin Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noordin Mews

Property: Noordin Mews
Address: 53 Lebuh Noordin, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Noordin Mews 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noordin Mews is a private boutique hotel in the historical Georgetown Penang with the added advantage of a lovely swimming pool. The hotel located just one street away from good shopping (Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue) and Penang Bus Terminal (Komtar). We are just minutes walk away to all the heritage attractions of historical Georgetown and the various eclectic dining options that Penang is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Noordin Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noordin Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing