We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place to stay in a convenient location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Noordin Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Noordin Mews
Ranked #4 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming place to stay in a convenient location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Noordin Mews as a group of four friends. We also organised car hire via the hotel - the rate was much cheaper than if we'd organised it via an external company and added bonus that a contact of the hotel picked us up from the airport and dropped us off at the hotel (they also dropped us off at the airport on departure) - this was extremely helpful to us so we could see some of the surrounds without having to worry about traffic.

Prakaash was our main contact at the front desk during our stay and he was absolutely fabulous when it came to making recommendations on where to eat and places to see. The hotel is walking distance to the first avenue mall, cecil street markets (which we visited twice during our weekend stay - specifically for the very tasty apom balik), kimberley street markets (for the chendol man).

Breakfast was provided during our stay but the kitchen is not open for lunch or dinner but they were extremely accommodating in supplying us with bowls and cutlery when we bough some food back from the hawker centre for lunch during our stay.

He made our stay very enjoyable and we will definitely be recommending noordin mews to anyone looking to visit penang.

Room Tip: We had four in our group and had 2 rooms that were connected to each other... 2 king beds with 2 bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    214
    25
    5
    0
See reviews for
387
440
62
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This newly opened boutique hotel in a quaint and very tastefully decorated heritage house just blew us away. We cannot thank the manager, Prakeesh, enough in giving us lots of information on the best places to visit in Penang, food centers to visit etc. The spacious ensuite room was very comfortable and sitting by the pool and lounge with a good book was a delight. We really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of this place and the staff made us feel very welcome. By far the best hotel I have stayed at in a long long time!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma294217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suratthani
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Charming, pieceful hotel in 2 old renovated buildings. Very friendly and attentive staff. Good wifi, good pool, ok breakfast and very clean hotel. Normally you get what you pay for......here you get more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SALA_Samui_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Like I normally do, I read about this hotel on the Internet and even read various reviews ( even tripadvisor) and was a little skeptical on what to expect. But it is a FABULOUS place to go to. The entire experience was absolutely worth every penny spent. Our rooms were cozy and very well kept. Each item in the room was very well thought of and was aesthetically placed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Even though we had senior citizens and children with us they always served us with a smile. Prakaash, Chona, Mhel and the rest of the staff are all worth a mention. From recommending local eateries to arranging day trips they all went out of their way to make our trip comfortable.
We are glad we went there and would love to go there again ! Kudos to the entire team! Well done!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank priya1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This latest heritage retro-fit by the detail-obsessed hoteliers that conjured up Clove Hall and Muntri News is outstanding in multiple ways. First, they've preserved a resplendent Peranakan Nyonya/Baba mansion and it's former stables and furnished it, delightfully, with tropical art deco furnishings and authentic 1950s Asian pop cultural treasures - where else would you have a private room adorned with thigh-high cheongsam, cat-eye sunglasses, a jeweled lighter and a string of pearls; or stumble onto a period moto-scooter in the stairwell loft? Yet, you feel right at home, not like you're living in a museum. Second: the 15 "stable" suites are super clean, modern and understated, with cozy bed nooks and fabulous cushioned day beds, smart towel racks for drying off your damp apparel, flat screen TV, vanity, plus choice decor including period mid-century Asian advertising and elegant glassware! Third, there's a small, sparkling swimming pool to dip into (NOT child safe), a rarity in hot and sticky George Town. Fourth: the low prices (introductory I assume, because the quality of the hotel is far superior to other heritage boutiques in town which charge much, much more). Fifth, the gay regulars (including, on my visit, a famous jazz diva in town to perform at the fabulous China House) and sophisticated straight couples staying in this adult oasis mix together with ease and create convivial breakfast conversation at the poolside cafe. Sixth, the untrammeled neighborhood, adjacent to the George Town World Heritage Zone, is filled with (as yet) unrestored art deco, colonial and Chinese shophouse architecture, and a few minutes walk to the cinemas and shops in three large shopping centers. Last, but not least: the staff are warm and attentive without being over-bearing and add immensely to the charm. Quiet, secure, private and intimate, this elegant hide-out is perfect for romantic get-aways, longtime Penang fans returning to soak up the local flavors, and jet-setting regional LGBT who will most appreciate it's retro glam stylings - seemingly tailor made for them and their friends. Upstairs are two multi-bed suites for larger groups. Free Wi-fi throughout the property. Two blocks away is the Nyonya Kitchen at Birds Nests Heaven where you can dine, literally, in a local family's parlor on traditional foods cooked in the kitchen by Mom and two Grandmas. Also a short walk away is the Cecil Street Market where more than 30 hawker stalls sell local specialties at lunch and in the afternoon.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good. Larger groups of friends and lovers can take one of the multiple bed sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank noooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

when i found ut how much they were charging for the rooms, i thought to myself that the owners must be crazy. at MYR250 nett a night, you are not gonna find anything else in georgetown that gives you this kind of luxury and comfort.

just a few doors away from KOMTAR and Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue and all the major heritage cebters of georgetown, this wonderful new place boasts of a nice pool, gorgeous rooms, bautiful decor and sweet and friendly staff.

i still can't get over the price.......

what i really like about noordin, as well, is the privacy it offers to the guests.

Room Tip: i think for a bit more, they offer the larger, suite-like rooms for parties of 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank biduanitadediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#6 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#8 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noordin Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noordin Mews

Property: Noordin Mews
Address: 53 Lebuh Noordin, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Noordin Mews 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noordin Mews is a private boutique hotel in the historical Georgetown Penang with the added advantage of a lovely swimming pool. The hotel located just one street away from good shopping (Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue) and Penang Bus Terminal (Komtar). We are just minutes walk away to all the heritage attractions of historical Georgetown and the various eclectic dining options that Penang is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Noordin Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noordin Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing