We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience”
Review of Noordin Mews

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Noordin Mews
Ranked #3 of 173 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Like I normally do, I read about this hotel on the Internet and even read various reviews ( even tripadvisor) and was a little skeptical on what to expect. But it is a FABULOUS place to go to. The entire experience was absolutely worth every penny spent. Our rooms were cozy and very well kept. Each item in the room was very well thought of and was aesthetically placed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Even though we had senior citizens and children with us they always served us with a smile. Prakaash, Chona, Mhel and the rest of the staff are all worth a mention. From recommending local eateries to arranging day trips they all went out of their way to make our trip comfortable.
We are glad we went there and would love to go there again ! Kudos to the entire team! Well done!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank priya1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,256)
There are newer reviews for Noordin Mews
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

This latest heritage retro-fit by the detail-obsessed hoteliers that conjured up Clove Hall and Muntri News is outstanding in multiple ways. First, they've preserved a resplendent Peranakan Nyonya/Baba mansion and it's former stables and furnished it, delightfully, with tropical art deco furnishings and authentic 1950s Asian pop cultural treasures - where else would you have a private room adorned with thigh-high cheongsam, cat-eye sunglasses, a jeweled lighter and a string of pearls; or stumble onto a period moto-scooter in the stairwell loft? Yet, you feel right at home, not like you're living in a museum. Second: the 15 "stable" suites are super clean, modern and understated, with cozy bed nooks and fabulous cushioned day beds, smart towel racks for drying off your damp apparel, flat screen TV, vanity, plus choice decor including period mid-century Asian advertising and elegant glassware! Third, there's a small, sparkling swimming pool to dip into (NOT child safe), a rarity in hot and sticky George Town. Fourth: the low prices (introductory I assume, because the quality of the hotel is far superior to other heritage boutiques in town which charge much, much more). Fifth, the gay regulars (including, on my visit, a famous jazz diva in town to perform at the fabulous China House) and sophisticated straight couples staying in this adult oasis mix together with ease and create convivial breakfast conversation at the poolside cafe. Sixth, the untrammeled neighborhood, adjacent to the George Town World Heritage Zone, is filled with (as yet) unrestored art deco, colonial and Chinese shophouse architecture, and a few minutes walk to the cinemas and shops in three large shopping centers. Last, but not least: the staff are warm and attentive without being over-bearing and add immensely to the charm. Quiet, secure, private and intimate, this elegant hide-out is perfect for romantic get-aways, longtime Penang fans returning to soak up the local flavors, and jet-setting regional LGBT who will most appreciate it's retro glam stylings - seemingly tailor made for them and their friends. Upstairs are two multi-bed suites for larger groups. Free Wi-fi throughout the property. Two blocks away is the Nyonya Kitchen at Birds Nests Heaven where you can dine, literally, in a local family's parlor on traditional foods cooked in the kitchen by Mom and two Grandmas. Also a short walk away is the Cecil Street Market where more than 30 hawker stalls sell local specialties at lunch and in the afternoon.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good. Larger groups of friends and lovers can take one of the multiple bed sui...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank noooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

when i found ut how much they were charging for the rooms, i thought to myself that the owners must be crazy. at MYR250 nett a night, you are not gonna find anything else in georgetown that gives you this kind of luxury and comfort.

just a few doors away from KOMTAR and Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue and all the major heritage cebters of georgetown, this wonderful new place boasts of a nice pool, gorgeous rooms, bautiful decor and sweet and friendly staff.

i still can't get over the price.......

what i really like about noordin, as well, is the privacy it offers to the guests.

Room Tip: i think for a bit more, they offer the larger, suite-like rooms for parties of 5
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank biduanitadediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katimue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordin M, Manager at Noordin Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank 991Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordin M, Manager at Noordin Mews, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank chantalk20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordin M, Manager at Noordin Mews, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 85 in George Town
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.7 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 85 in George Town
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 85 in George Town
3,625 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.4 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noordin Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noordin Mews

Address: 53 Lebuh Noordin, George Town, Penang Island 10300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: $85 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Noordin Mews 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noordin Mews is a private boutique hotel in the historical Georgetown Penang with the added advantage of a lovely swimming pool. The hotel located just one street away from good shopping (Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue) and Penang Bus Terminal (Komtar). We are just minutes walk away to all the heritage attractions of historical Georgetown and the various eclectic dining options that Penang is famous for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Noordin Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noordin Mews Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing