We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean up, lay down and be ready for the great day ahead...”
Review of Malabar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malabar Inn
Ranked #21 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Global Village
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Clean up, lay down and be ready for the great day ahead...”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

If you are looking for a luxurious or fancy hotel, keep looking elsewhere. But if you just want a simple, clean, friendly and most importantly inexpensive place in the heart of Georgetown to get rested - congratulations, you've just found it. But remember, this is not a hotel. It's a hostel with tiny but tidy rooms and shared bathrooms. No windows, no television, no minibar and no worries. All you going to get is a good night's sleep. Personally, we slept like a log and woke up super refreshed. We called our room a "five star rejuvenation chamber". Thank you Tony and the Malabar Team!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cikkcakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    73
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
89
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Hi Tony! Great three night stay. Yes rooms are small, no windows but super clean and cheap (I think we paid £14 per night) and Tony is very calm. Georgetown is great, love the street art, lovestreet, cheap curries, friendly people. Forget Thailand and tour Malaysia. One day we will be back and stay again and the Malabar. It is a bit hectic on the roads but buses are great, North of the island is good for a serious hike, lots of fun cafes and shops to see, see you again Tony, Stuart xx

Room Tip: En suite isnt too important, the communal loos and showers are super clean and there is a nice roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely little guesthouse in central George Town.

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid January and were extremely well looked after by Tony and his team. His knowledge of the area and what to see and do is second to none, and he even suggested some gems that weren't in the guide book.

I would certainly recommend this place to anyone heading through as he really does go above and beyond the call of duty to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

It is worth noting that I left some personal belongings at the Malabar Hotel and Tony even took the time to post them on. He really is a nice guy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Read strong reviews and the hotel is decent enough in a good location. We where placed across the road however, where building work is still going on so were woken early each morning. Management didn't acknowledge it even after we raised it as a point. Wifi is also temperamental. Apart from that ok.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hostel with an excellent service. The owner make all what is in his hands to satisfy the clients! I needed to see a doctor during my stay and he even drove me to the hospital! We left the place with a smile on our faces. We absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edonistt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

It's a budget guesthouse, so don't come here expecting luxuries. But if you expect good service, affordable price and central location, Malabar Inn is definitely worth considering.

We got a suite, which means it comes with an attached bathroom for paying slightly more. The room is clean, aircon is functioning well, bed is ok, yes the pillows are quite hard but we like them hard so no complain. The only weakness is the size of the ensuite bathroom is way too small, you don't have space to turn, but hey no complain for the price we paid, and especially when the water heater is working perfectly. hehe.

Our room is right next to the road, so if you are light sleeper, then please consider other places, or request for a room that's away from or facing the road.

The strong point of this guesthouse is its location, close to morning market and all the local restaurants, there's no shortage of food.

Tony is very friendly and helpful. Good job Tony! and thanks for answering my phone call patiently.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teddy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This review and rating has to be viewed in context.

We found accommodation in Georgetown to be generally a bit more expensive than elsewhere we stayed in Malaysia. As backpackers we were prepared to forfeit the luxuries and share a bathroom in order to keep the cost down.

We paid around £12 (60 RM) per night. This was slightly more than we paid in the Cameron's, from which we had travelled.

Initially we booked through Agoda (paying fractionally more presumably as part of Agoda's booking fee) for a 3 night stay.

After checking our room and taking a brief look around Penang we booked an extra night, and a couple of days later we added another 2 nights meaning we stayed here for a total of 6 nights.

The bad? The room we stayed in (2) was very small and had no windows but we knew this might be the case from other reviews and this did not bother us.

The pillows on the bed were extremely hard. Softer pillows would have been better but who knows, had we asked the owner (Tony Yoeh - who we will come to later) he may have been able to do something about them.

As would be expected the wall partitions are not particularly sturdy so you can hear other guests and because of the location you are likely to be woken by street noises in the morning.

So why stay for 6 nights?

The room was very clean and the air conditioning worked well.

On each side of the bed was a plug socket meaning that we could both charge up phones and camera's at the same time. Very handy.

We did not have towels but Tony was happy to provide us with them at no charge, and provided further clean towels at the mid point of our stay.

On arrival, after a journey from the Cameron Highlands we were greeted with a glass of water whilst we checked in. From the off it was clear Tony was a really lovely and helpful guy. He provided us with maps marking on some of his recommended sights and how we could reach them by bus. He also provided us with a helpful street food guide which proved invaluable whilst we tried to sample as much of the local food as possible.

Unlike some of the other views expressed previously, in our experience Tony was usually on hand to deal with queries and provide advice. He does live within the premises but you cannot really expect him to be on hand 24/7.

Tony was pro-active in helping us to book the onward bus journey to Malaka. In fact he booked it for us, arranged the bus company to collect us at the door and even chased them up on the morning of the pick up when he thought they were running late. As we left he gave us a large complimentary bottle of water for our onward journey.

On one of the nights I asked Tony if he could point me in the right direction of somewhere showing the Newcastle match. He was happy to let me watch the game in the reception area of the guesthouse.

Tony is basically a legend. You cannot fail to like this man.

The shared bathroom was clean and always available during our stay. Two shower areas and two toilets. A hair dryer is also provided.

There is a small communal area where you can have a drink. There is an honesty box there for purchasing water, crisps and biscuits etc.

The Malabar Inn itself is very well located. You are very close to one of the free shuttle bus stops on Penang Road, close to the Komtar which is the main bus terminal and also within walking distance of the Georgetown sights, Colonial district, Little India and the jetty.

Hopefully that explains the 5 star rating.

Don't arrive expecting a room with a view or the best nights sleep ever, but you can expect all of the other good things mentioned above, which for us made our stay perfect.

Tip. Tony rarely accepts walk in's so best to book online beforehand to avoid disappointment. Book online!

Room Tip: Tony rarely accepts walk in's so best to book online beforehand to avoid disappointment. Book o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#32 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#33 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nam Keng Hotel
Nam Keng Hotel
#9 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malabar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malabar Inn

Property: Malabar Inn
Address: 26 & 28, Jalan Cintra, George Town, Penang Island 10100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Malabar Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family room with Bathroom. ( One Queen size bed and One Single bed. 3 Adults and one child no charge ) at myr135.00 Room allocation ONE Double room with Bathroom. ( One Queen bed for two adults) at myr90.00 Room per day TWO Twin-bed room with Bathroom. ( Two Single bed for two adults ) at myr90.00 Room per day ONE Single room with bathroom. ( One Single bed for one adult ) at myr70.00 Room per day TWO Double room with SHARED Bathroom. ( One Double bed for two adults ) at myr70.00 Room per day ONE Twin-bed room with SHARED Bathroom. ( Two Single bed for two adults ) at myr70.00 Room per day ONE Single room with SHARED Bathroom. ( One Single bed for one adult ) at myr58.00 Room per day ONE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malabar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malabar Inn Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing