We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful & friendly hotel staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Singapore
1 review
“Helpful & friendly hotel staff.”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Greeted by friendly Reception when my parents & I arrived on 9 Apr. Check in process is fast & smooth. Hotel room is big with a queen & single bed.

Breakfast spread is humble. It can get pretty crowded at certain timings as the cafe is not very big.

Walk 200m to the main road is where you can find the night street food stalls. Closed on Wed. 1st Avenue, Pranglin Plaza is about 15min walk for healthy adults. My mum has weak legs so it took us double the time to get there. 1st Avenue is where all the international brands are. Pranglin Plaza is local shopping mall. Wisma Gama is where locals will go. There is a supermarket & departmental store there.

Taxi is not easily hailed on Penang roads. This is a headache as I have 2 old people with me.

The only negative comment is the toilet design. Really lousy! Shower room should be built with a door to contain the water within the shower area. However, shower area is at the moment you step into the toilet where the basin is too. Toilet cubicle is instead separated by a door. The floor is very wet & slippery after shower & especially dangerous to anyone regardless old or young.

The Hotel should really do something since the toilet structure cannot be changed.

Overall, it's a pleasant stay for my parents & I. Love Penang!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sher24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is glad to know that you are satisfied with clean, comfortable room and satisfied with the hotel location. Hotel Sentral is conveniently located next to Jalan Macalister, where you can easily access to all the famous local foods and the major shopping malls.

We hope you will be able to visit again in the not too distant future and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.


Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    168
    137
    25
    18
See reviews for
115
95
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed here with my family for 2 nights and it was a nice stay. The staff who checking us in was very warm and efficient. She do her job well, always smile and polite. Her name is "Shemee". (Sorry if I'm spelling wrong). I booked for family suites to stay for 3 person , the room was not big at all but it was enough for me and my family. However, the room was very clean , A/C working properly and water pressure in the shower was very good. The breakfast is OK , just only small buffet line but not much choice. The location of the hotel was very great , near to food stall and Komtar bus terminal. One thing that they have to improve is WIFI connection in the room , it was very slow.

Overall, it was a very nice stay here and if I have a chance to go to Penang again. Here will be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you have been overall impressed with the service quality of our hotel. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us and your positive comments will certainly be shared among the team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Hotel Sentral Georgetown in the very near future.


Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel is not the most central in Penang, despite the name, but it isn't a far walk to most sights. The service was very warm, friendly and efficient and the room was decent and clean for the money paid with a comfy bed, decent shower room and very quiet. We didn't get to try the hotel's breakfast, as we left before breakfast started, but all in all, it was a decent place to stay in Penang.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christibbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and it is glad to know that our rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral. It is definitely a great pleasure to have the opportunity to be of service to you.


Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel expecting it to be basic (£15 per person per night); it was indeed no frills, but some aspects were disappointing. The sheets and towels were dirty looking and stained, the room smelled musty, and only one half of the air con machine worked. We were woken after our first night by the hotel cleaner banging on the door. When I asked him to come back later he unhappily asked what time - I gave several suggestions, all of which he rudely rolled his eyes at, so after a while I gave up and told him not to clean. This was very frustrating and not up to the standards I'd expect even from a basic hotel.

Other than this, the front desk staff were very helpful, and we arranged a flexible tour (we were able to pick whichever locations we wanted and only had to pay 10 ringgit more per person per hour if we went over the five hours already paid for) with the tour desk with Ng as our driver and tour guide. Overall it is a budget hotel in a good location - you get what (little) you pay for!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank EBernheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It was very disturbing to learn that your stay was unpleasant and would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience that you may have experiences as a result of our service shortfalls.

With regards to the attitude of the staff, it is certainly an area of genuine concern. We shall enhance our training on Guest and Customer Services so as to handle these issues in mention.

We await your return as our esteemed guest on your next trip.


Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

The location of the hotel indeed is quite good and it is near to those eating location. However, upon arrival to the hotel, we requested both rooms to be located near to each other. In the end, they gave us a room which was one at the most corner of the hotel and another one located at the middle which is separated by lift. And when we tried to talk to staff, they told us this was considered "NEAR".

Meanwhile, the room that we were staying, the split unit is installed on top of the door and is totally block 50% by the cupboard which the cooling air is not able to be delivered to us.

And the worst part is when you tried to flush the toilet, it is so disgusting that it took very long time for it to flush through and we would advise the hotel to pay in attention to those facilities in the hotel.

And also improve on the service because we used to stay in Hotel Sentral few years ago back and the service was quite good compared to nowadays.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatty_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It was very disturbing to learn that your stay was unpleasant and would like to extend my sincere apology for any inconvenience that you may have experiences as a result of our service shortfalls.

We hope this have not marred your future stay with us and look forward to welcoming you and your friends back on your next trip.


Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I came to Penang 2 weeks ago with my wife and we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We chose this hotel because it was centrally located at Georgetown.

We booked a deluxe queen size room in Expedia.com, but upon arrival,we were told that there were no queen size bedrooms available. What Hotel sentral did instead was to combine the 2 single beds together into a "queen" bed. I think this is very misleading. We would not have chosen this hotel if we knew this beforehand.

Upon registering at reception, we had to pay a $150 ringgit deposit. I have never been asked to pay any sort of deposit in my travels before. Perhaps hotel sentral should review their policy.

When we reached our hotel room, we were shocked to discover that our bedsheets were dirty and our towels were stained. This is unacceptable.

To make matters worse, we were disturbed by the terribly loud live music that was playing downstairs, presumably by some disco or ktv lounge. The music lasted for a few hours and only stopped at 1230am. When we called the reception, the reason that they told us was that the disco or lounge had license to play live music until 1am. This is a big minus for any hotel traveller. We requested for a change of rooms for the 2nd day, away from the live music.

Overall, we were quite dissapointed with the standards of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akls1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We deeply regret to hear that your stay with us was unpleasant. Please rest assured that your feedback is taken seriously and steps to address the issue has been discussed at length with the team.

We hope this have not marred your future stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.


Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

You'll probably sleep well in Hotel Sentral Georgetown, but it isn't a place that you'll remember with a pleasure.

Rooms we're basic, and we had a room without a view. There was a window, where you could see other windows... Location could be more close to the old town, but there are a lot of eating and nightlife options quite near by (try noisy copra mill bar & food court at the next block).

Breakfast was ok, but nothing special. Some reviewers seem to have complained about service. On the contrary we found the staff helpful. Biggest nuisance was a cold shower.

Pros:
+ Basic good in many ways, if your looking very basic place to stay.

Cons:
- Our room had a cold shower (even though hotel advertises with hot showers)
- Hotel could be more closer to old town.
- Useless windows, you can only see other windows (unless you take suite from higher floor)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mualimanmatkaajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Assistant Front Office Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral, Georgetown.

Thank You so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

We sincerely apologized for the cold shower that you had and we have informed all our housekeeping supervisor to double check on the water heaters when they do their room checking.

We hope this have not marred your future stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.


Thank you and best regards.
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
Kimberley Hotel Georgetown
#31 of 84 in George Town
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heliconia Hotel
Heliconia Hotel
#28 of 84 in George Town
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#30 of 84 in George Town
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,041 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merchant Hotel
Merchant Hotel
#41 of 84 in George Town
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sentral Georgetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sentral Georgetown

Property: Hotel Sentral Georgetown
Address: No 12 Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sentral Georgetown 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Sentral Georgetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sentral Georgetown Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing