We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sentral Georgetown
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
$141
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$145
$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$128
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$44
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
54
173
145
29
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
173
145
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew lanewalking distancebudget hotelnight street foodfree wififood outletsfamily roombus stationpleasant staypenang roaddouble bednasi kandarstayed here for nightshousekeeping staffstrategic locationlocal foodgeorgetown
Filter
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 424 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is strategically located near the center of Georgetown, where most of the tourist attractions nearby is within walking distance.

During day time, you can walk to places like Komtar or Chowrasta market to get some local products. At night, you can dine at one of the famous hawker stalls in Penang, located just at the junction of the hotel. All sorts of choices from the famous Penang Char Kway Teow, Assam Laksa, Satay, or even Wan Tan Mee.

Room is clean but the toilet is a little bit cramped, perhaps due to the structure of the toilet itself.

The room rate is inclusive of breakfast, with limited choices for e.g. Fried Kway Teow, bread, bake beans, chicken sausage, and porridge. The thing is food are not covered properly, and there are flies around the dishes.

Thought of trying of on the local dessert which is wrapped in a banana leaf, but the first thing I see is a dead mosquito, stucked on the surface of the piece. Perhaps I should inform the management, but I'm not sure what can they do about it other than saying sorry. Hopefully they will get to see this and do something about it.

Will still recommend to stay here, but perhaps skip the breakfast if you have the choice :)

Room Tip: Choose non-smoking level, I'm not sure what floor am I in, but can smell the smoke everytime I enter the room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hola0hola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

We are also deeply regretted to know you had experienced our poor serving breakfast during your stay with us. I have taken note of your comments and our team have been briefed accordingly to improve the quality of the breakfast/

Our assurance is that the issued that had been highlighted will be resolved and we hope that you will be able to visit again in not too distant future.

We sincerely request you to return as our esteemed guest on your next trip so as to evaluate us once more.

Thank you and best regards.
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The room was very clean and comfortable, and the location of the hotel was really nice. The staff was friendly, though there were quite a few miscommunications with housekeeping due to language barriers.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meshell273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Thank you and best regards.
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is clean and neat. The staffs are generally friendly. The hotel is within walking distance to the Komtar interchange, some night street food stalls, and the famous Ghee Hiang shop. Had a pleasant stay and would recommend anyone traveling on a budget. Some minor points to note: noticed a strand of hair on the hair dryer (the very first time I entered the toilet) and some brown stains on the bedsheets. Would recommend the hotel to check and action on these minor details to further improve the quality of service of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Nice and new hotel. The rooms were modern and clean, but a bit small. The staff were friendly, but they were bad at recomandations and info about restaurants etc. It was also something wrong with our shower head, that they "fixed", but it got broken two seconds after they had fixed it. My friend also got some dirty towels. The breakfast was okey, be early if you want a good selection. And the juices were terrible, and the water seemed like spring water,

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnybunny93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It is good to know that you enjoy our location and its glad to know that rooms are clean, comfortable and you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Sentral.

However I would like to extend to you my sincere apology for any inconvenience you may have experiences as a result of our service shortfalls.

I have taken note of your comments and please be assured that your feedback is taken seriously and steps to address our shortcomings have been discussed at length with the team.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Thank you and best regards.
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A bit at the outskirts of centre, but if you like walking easy to go to e.g. Little India. Rooms are rather small, but relatively new. Good airco. Building activities adjacent to the hotel; some disturbance in the morning.
The only downside is breakfast; try to avoid this canteen-like activity as much as possible. Being setup for the Asians, but not for Western travellers.

Room Tip: As far away as possible from the building activties
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSGeorgetown, Manager at Hotel Sentral Georgetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings from Hotel Sentral!

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experiences with other Tripadvisor visitor about your recent stay with us.

It’s glad to know that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable room at Hotel Sentral. Most importantly you did enjoy the location though the location is much debated.

Besides, thank you for pointing to us the issue in regards of the breakfast foods. We had addressed the issue and hopefully on your next visit, you’ll be able to notice the positive improvements.

Thank you and best regards.
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews