We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker best place”
Review of Guest Inn Muntri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guest Inn Muntri
Ranked #121 of 171 George Town B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Backpacker best place”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Kinda disappointed on their breakfast because they provide the 3 in 1 hot drinks only. However I like this place so much because it's quite comfortable and clean accommodation. The hair dryer is limited. We have collect it at the counter and return after use.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celinetzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    54
    20
    14
See reviews for
8
67
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

After we walked down every full hostel on love lane, we ended up here. The staff was very friendly and the room looked nice. The bed however, was terrible.. unless you like springs in your matrasses. I still feel like skippy..... After one night we moved to another hostel. Besides that..Although there are signs in the hostel that anyone must be quiet after 10pm, the youtube songs of the staff was pumping through the speakers till 0.30am.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

It's a hostel, with good prices, great location, air conditioning, and friendly service. Really the only downside are the ultra thin walls, which lets in noise like they were made of paper.

We had a private double room, and it served us well. It was small but clean and the air conditioner was powerful, keeping us comfortable in the heat. We weren't there most of the time anyway, since we were busy out exploring Georgetown! But the paper thin walls did make it difficult to sleep sometimes when other guests were noisy or heavy steppers. Still, for the price and location, it's hard to beat, and as hostels go, it's quite good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 621chrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

The airconditionned dorms are ok and the location very good, making it the ideal place if you just need to sleep for the night. Its main clientele is made of chinese backpackers who often speak little english making it harder to socialize. Wifi doesn't reach in some dorms, too few showers and toilets. Staff is very nice and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2014

the dorm is simple and also small. it's ok since we were there only to sleep. there only one plug each bed so if you have multiple device, make sure you bring power strip. the bathroom is clean and it will be better if there is shower foam. hehe. the location might be hard to find but now you know the name, you can simply google it. it also near to camera museum. staff are friendly and helpful. they even helped me to get a bus to kuala lumpur including free transportation from hostel to bus station. recommended to anyone who have small budget but want a comfortable place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benzhafiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

It was my second time now in Penang and I was looking to stay closer to the famous downtown Georgetown area than before. I started googling and checking the various options and find this lovely inn. Parallel to the famous Lebuha Chulia Street and truly a gem. The staff super helpful with any information I was looking for, whether to local restaurants in the area, transportation options or other personal suggestions for my stay. Its truly a great value for your money and it goes even beyond that. In the end, you will not spend most of your time in the hotel, but walking around the city to discover all the amazing street art, coffee shops, art galleries, museums and of course the food. I loved my stay and will make sure to return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

So you're coming to Georgetown and looking for a place to stay... Guest Inn might be a little hard to find, but you'll be glad you did. Located adjacent to Love Lane, this converted shophouse offers dorms and private rooms. The rooms are pretty bare bone and only have one plug, so if you're looking to charge multiple devices, bring a power strip. WiFi is available in the common areas as well.

Beer is a bit cheaper than the nearby 7-11, so if you're looking to drink, you can stay and mingle with other guests and play pool. Overall, it's a great little place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank QiRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Inn Heritage
Red Inn Heritage
#80 of 171 in George Town
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#26 of 171 in George Town
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#23 of 171 in George Town
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#48 of 171 in George Town
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar Inn
Malabar Inn
#24 of 171 in George Town
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
Ryokan Muntri Boutique Hostel
#2 of 116 in George Town
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Inn Muntri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn Muntri

Property: Guest Inn Muntri
Address: 17 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 171 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest Inn Muntri 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Georgetown, Guest Inn Muntri provides both dormitory and private air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. It . Free parking and a 24-hour front desk are available. In the common area, guests can play billiards, watch TV and get drinking water from the water dispenser.Simply furnished, all rooms come with a desk. Bathroom facilities are shared, and are equipped with cold and hot-water showers. There is a shared computer in the common area which guests can use.Guest Inn Muntri is a 10-minute walk from KOMTAR, 1st Avenue and Prangin Mall. It is a 15-minute walk from Penang Jetty and a 30-minute walk from Gurney Drive. Penang International Airport is a 30-minute drive away.Bicycle rentals and day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides luggage storage and laundry services.Guest Inn Cafe serves Western dishes, snacks and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Guest Inn Muntri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Inn Muntri Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing