We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely staff”
Review of Guest Inn Muntri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guest Inn Muntri
Ranked #121 of 170 George Town B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely staff”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in May 2013 in a double room, with private bathroom. The room was big and clean, but there was a nasty damp smell that hit us the moment we walked in! The ceiling also leaked, only a few drops every now and then, but it was off-putting, so I told the manager who gave us a very slight discount on the room.

Aside from this, I was very pleased with our stay at Guest Inn Muntri.

The staff are especially nice, and incredibly knowledgeable. We had a number of questions for them, and we had really helpful answers...

The location is also fantastic... Within walking distance of all the key sights, and there are a number of lovely restaurants and caves on the same road.

We didn't really have a problem with the noise...perhaps this was because we were staying at the end of the corridor on the ground floor.

One more thing to mention is the 'hang out' area... We really liked this, and spent most of our time here. It's a nice communal space with a pool table, and there is free flow coffee and tea.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gaby0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    54
    20
    14
See reviews for
8
67
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed in a double room with shared bathroom with my fiancee.We were so dissapointed as we couldnt sleep at all at night due to the wooden walkway ,you can hear loud footsteps at night and the partition is thin and not soundproofed at all..I stayed here for 2 nights and i couldn't sleep at all .The shared bathroom is also dirty and wet most of the time .Only good side is the location which is short walking distance to most main attractions.Wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyL284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My fiance and I stayed in private room with a private bathroom. The guesthouse is fantastic if it were not for the noise that kept me up all night. We were in Penang for a race, so were particularly annoyed to hear 1) the guy next door sighing when taking a dump, 2) the sounds of billiard balls colliding in the middle of the night, 3) endless chatter and laughter of other guests despite being told the walls are paper thin, and lastly 4) creaking floorboards and heavy footsteps.

Other than the noise, there is no fault with the inn. The staff is most friendly and helpful! Coffee and tea is freeflow, and it's situated strategically in Georgetown. The jetty is not too far, so if you don't mind walking in the heat, free transportation around town is not a problem. Hawker stalls open later in the evening, so food is definitely not an issue. There is also a restaurant opposite the hotel, if you don't wish to walk too far.

A cracking good guesthouse, if it weren't for the noise.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get your own private room with private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisajariffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This place is really good, the staff is very helpful and nice. We stayed in a private room (shared bathroom) and it was okay, small but very clean, good wifi inside. The only thing I didn't totally like is that there's no recepcionist at night, there's only one person from the staff who doesn't speak english, so in case of an emergency this might be an issue. Breakfast (as in any other guesthouse in Malaysia) is toast and jam, although free coffee, tea and fresh water all day. The atmosphere is very relax.

Room Tip: The room we had had a window facing the patio on the 1st floor, this might be an issue for light sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delikafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The place is nice but the wooden floors upstairs make it impossible to have any kind of peace and quiet. I was in a room next to the bathrooms so I heard lots of people walk by and it was very annoying after a while. The room also had a window that overlooked the common area which seemed nice until people started playing pool and chatting. It wouldn't be a big deal except for the terrible acoustics of the place. If people were more aware of their heavy heeled stomping this place would have got an average rating.

We asked to change rooms and the receptionist was helpful with that but the only other room available was in the back and had no wifi service.

I stayed for 2 nights and was glad to be on my way.

The owner was very helpful with other guests asking questions. He sat down with them on the patio and really went over the map with them which I thought was very nice.

Free coffee all day and they had a small book exchange.

Room Tip: I think I was in room O or Q. It was next to the bathroom and overlooked the common area. Very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a double here at the start of march 2013. No complaints. We were in a double downstairs. No window. Air con worked fine. Free tea and coffee, nice communal area where the wi fi worked well. central georgetown location. Really helpful staff. It is essentially above average hostel accommodation in my mind. If you are expecting bargain hotel you will be dissapointed. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

the inconsiderate and loud guests staying there. The building is old and has wooden floors upstairs as well as thin walls. Any time one of these certain guests walked by, it was like an elephant stomping down the hall. Totally of their own doing, its not difficult not to slam your heel down when you walk. If you stay here, please remember that.

Staff were nice, bathroom ok, pool table should just be free, breakfast was a miss.

Maybe the downstairs rooms are better, but if you are upstairs and a light sleeper, you are at the mercy of other guests.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julbo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Inn Heritage
Red Inn Heritage
#80 of 170 in George Town
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xavier's Lodge at Muntri Street
Xavier's Lodge at Muntri Street
#72 of 116 in George Town
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#22 of 170 in George Town
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cocoa Mews
Cocoa Mews
#35 of 170 in George Town
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#48 of 170 in George Town
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#26 of 170 in George Town
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Inn Muntri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn Muntri

Property: Guest Inn Muntri
Address: 17 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest Inn Muntri 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Georgetown, Guest Inn Muntri provides both dormitory and private air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. It . Free parking and a 24-hour front desk are available. In the common area, guests can play billiards, watch TV and get drinking water from the water dispenser.Simply furnished, all rooms come with a desk. Bathroom facilities are shared, and are equipped with cold and hot-water showers. There is a shared computer in the common area which guests can use.Guest Inn Muntri is a 10-minute walk from KOMTAR, 1st Avenue and Prangin Mall. It is a 15-minute walk from Penang Jetty and a 30-minute walk from Gurney Drive. Penang International Airport is a 30-minute drive away.Bicycle rentals and day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides luggage storage and laundry services.Guest Inn Cafe serves Western dishes, snacks and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Guest Inn Muntri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Inn Muntri Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing