We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good backpacker place”
Review of Guest Inn Muntri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guest Inn Muntri
Ranked #110 of 173 George Town B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and were plesantly surprised. Our double room was basic and a bit small, with just a bed and desk, but the nice comunal area and clean shared bathrooms more then made up for it.The staff were very knowlegable and gave us pleanty of advice on where to visit and the best places to eat. The location was also good, close enough to reach most places easily, but on a nice quiet side street. Overall very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andychelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Guest Inn Muntri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 178 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. Staff very helpful and friendly. Free tea and coffee all day and great location. Breakfast starts at 8 but when i said i had to leave at 730 they said they would put it out at 7 for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sparkydoesasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent three nights here as we explored Penang. The owner was very helpful in helping us navigate the island, showing us bus routes and different areas to explore. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The downstairs has a nice lounge area with free coffee and tea. The location is very good, steps away from bus routes and within walking distance of major areas in Georgetown. The hotel itself is quiet, located on a side street.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My sister and I traveled to cities in Malaysia and we stayed at five different hostels in total. Guest Inn Muntri is absolutely my favourite. When I walked to the place at the first time I thought it's quite far but just spent couple hours in the city , I found out that the location is very good. There are many buses to get to the hostel as well as buses to other tourist attractions. The room that I stayed has no window but clean. The staff are awesome. They are very friendly and helpful Especially Mr. Ooi :) He always approaches to guests to offer helps and information. Breakfast is nice. Common area is great because it has a very high ceiling and a pond. Totally love it !!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chindara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Me and my partner stated here over Christmas and loved it. When you arrive the owner shows you to your room and then sits you down with a coffee and a map and shows you the points of interest and how to get around on the island. We had a shared bathroom room but the bathrooms were spotless every day and new and the rooms were also really clean and comfortable. The air con was great and the wifi was good. You get free wifi, tea and coffee and breakfast. Breakfast was bread and jam and butter or porridge. The location is really good.... There is nothing negative to say about this guest house. It is relaxing, clean, comfortable and really friendly one of the best we have stayed in. Anything the owner can help you with he will. He will arrange taxis, lend you an umbrella, give bus routes and directions and if you ask a question he doesn't know he will find out for you. The laundry service is fast and really good. a lovely little place with a great atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked a stay at this hotel through Agoda and it was alright, just alright. The only good things are the unlimited tea and the reception staff - they were very kind and helpful with the Penang map and bus transit.

Otherwise, everything else was terrible. The room (on the bottom floor) had a musty smell and basement-like dampness and the hotel was infested with mosquitoes because the bathrooms were a breeding ground. On our last night, we had to move to a dormitory, we didn't book the double room (our fault). There were cocoons of house moths all around the beds - especially on the wall the bed was against and hanging down from the upper bunk over the bottom bunk.

Still this was one of the better hotels in the area for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor as it's quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed in the four bed dorm and although it was spotlessly clean and had air conditioning it was still a little bit too cramped for my liking. The whole place is really clean and the breakfast good. The staff were really friendly and helpful. A nice place in a good location in a quiet side street.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Inn Heritage
Red Inn Heritage
#76 of 173 in George Town
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#26 of 173 in George Town
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#25 of 173 in George Town
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#51 of 173 in George Town
184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocoa Mews
Cocoa Mews
#35 of 173 in George Town
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
D Mo Inn
D Mo Inn
#53 of 173 in George Town
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Inn Muntri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn Muntri

Address: 17 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range: $11 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest Inn Muntri 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Georgetown, Guest Inn Muntri provides both dormitory and private air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. It . Free parking and a 24-hour front desk are available. In the common area, guests can play billiards, watch TV and get drinking water from the water dispenser.Simply furnished, all rooms come with a desk. Bathroom facilities are shared, and are equipped with cold and hot-water showers. There is a shared computer in the common area which guests can use.Guest Inn Muntri is a 10-minute walk from KOMTAR, 1st Avenue and Prangin Mall. It is a 15-minute walk from Penang Jetty and a 30-minute walk from Gurney Drive. Penang International Airport is a 30-minute drive away.Bicycle rentals and day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides luggage storage and laundry services.Guest Inn Cafe serves Western dishes, snacks and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Guest Inn Muntri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Inn Muntri Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing