We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK for the price and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guest Inn Muntri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Guest Inn Muntri
Ranked #70 of 169 George Town B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK for the price and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We booked a stay at this hotel through Agoda and it was alright, just alright. The only good things are the unlimited tea and the reception staff - they were very kind and helpful with the Penang map and bus transit.

Otherwise, everything else was terrible. The room (on the bottom floor) had a musty smell and basement-like dampness and the hotel was infested with mosquitoes because the bathrooms were a breeding ground. On our last night, we had to move to a dormitory, we didn't book the double room (our fault). There were cocoons of house moths all around the beds - especially on the wall the bed was against and hanging down from the upper bunk over the bottom bunk.

Still this was one of the better hotels in the area for the price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor as it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    59
    47
    17
    11
See reviews for
8
64
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
725 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed in the four bed dorm and although it was spotlessly clean and had air conditioning it was still a little bit too cramped for my liking. The whole place is really clean and the breakfast good. The staff were really friendly and helpful. A nice place in a good location in a quiet side street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I spent 3 days in Georgtown and had a room at this place. The room was ok. No window. As I did a lot of outdoor activity it was ok. The bathroom could have been more clean as I found some old cigarette on the basin. Sheets and towels were clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlHaVi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipolog City, Dipolog, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Rooms and toilets are clean. Staff are provides excellent service and they're so friendly. I had a very nice stay, i was in a dormitory room unfortunately i dont have any room mates but thats just another silly idea. hahaha

www.wanderfulasia.blogspot.com

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderfulasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in Guest Inn Muntri on 10 Nov 2013, for a day trip and 1-night stay in Georgetown. We booked the whole room of the Dorm bed room and also a Standard double room.
The Dorm room have 2 double deckers bed inside. My four male friends all stay in this dorm room, and they find the dorm room's condition is good, but just the space is small ( and imagine if you're shared this dorm room with other Strangers, how hard it could be...?), and one of the safety deposit box inside the dorm room are no functioning ( The receptionist said no key for the safety deposit box, so we assumed the safety deposit box is for Decoration purpose only? Hmm...
My lady friend and I was staying in Standard double room, becoz I have requested for twin beds, so we got this twin bed room in upstairs. The twin room is very good, air-conditioning is very strong enough & comfortable, and the cleanliness is very good in the room.
This Guest inn does not have attached bathroom, all must use the Shared bathrooms, luckily they have around 12 bathrooms/toilets, and all of them have hot shower. All of the toilet/bathroom have maintained very clean.
One thing made me feeling surprise about this guest inn is- They paid very good attention on those small & details things, such as their decorations, the breakfast bar, and even the small stuff like the Coffee Mugs. The inn coffee mugs are all in one same categories, and all in nice colors, they make me feel they have been chosen to matched with the inn' theme decorations. ( Not that kind of plastic cups simply can buy from supermarket) I wonders the owner must be very keen & paying attention on those small details in the inn. I would said i like their coffee mugs so much ( even thinking that request one to take home ha~).
We will coming back for this inn again, for the location wise, they are near to many local famous eateries & street foods too.

Overall the guest inn is very good to stay, However there are a lots of mosquitoes around the guest inn, even inside the rooms. We have requested the mosquitoes spray with the receptionist, however the reception does not response to us on this. The bathrooms/toilets even worsen, just stay inside for 5 minutes, hands and legs already got full of mosquitoes bites. We have no choice, got to go out and buy the mosquitoes spray back to the guest inn and spray it inside the room ( Otherwise I am sure than we will not have a good night sleep in the inn.) We just curious that such a clean hotel like this, how come have so many mosquitoes?? Where have these mosquitoes come from?

Room Tip: Just remember to bring your own Mosquitoes Spray or anything that works in kill mosquitoes! So it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giellena_Yee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in 3 diffrent places in Penang and this was the one we liked the most.

The location is perfect in the middle of Gerorgetown but not in a main road. You can do everything by feed. The staff was very friendly and helpfull and there was always a nice and chilling atmosphere in the reception area. They have some nice rattan chairs and tables outside, near the reception and on the first floor so you can have seat, a coffee and chat to other travellers. Coffee and Tea is free the whole day, furthermore there is a little breakfast included. For me very important: Breakfastime is until 11 am. So they have a heart with people who like to sleep a little bit longer!

Our room was simple but very cosy. A really nice and comfy bed a table and the best was the light. They had a bright light in the room and and very cosy soft light for the evening. The floor is very nice too - wooden like the whole place. The room was about 69 MYR.

As far I know, there are only shared bathroom facilities. The bathrooms are new and have moderns style with hot water and there was always a free bathroom when you need one. Towels are provided in every room.

The place is very clean.

All in all we are very happy that we have found this new palce: Atmosphere, staff, rooms, area ... everything was great. We would always stay again at Guest Inn Muntri.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I spent three nights in this hostel, set in an old-shop house newly renovated. It was quite difficult to find a single room in Penang and within the city centre, and this hostel sounded good, nice and right to the price as for 45 RM included also free breakfast, free wifi and free coffee/water all day.
In fact when I saw the room I was a bit shocked as it was just a box-room with a single bed, a desk and a little stool...but to my surprise there was no window, so it feels quite claustrophobic!
In addition my room was on the ground floor near the shower, so all night I could hear people walking above my room and people showering and also screaming or talking as very close to the reception area. I did not sleep well, as the walls are made of cardboard...not insulation at all. I was even woken up in the afternoon (after a sleepless night I had to sleep somehow) by a couple talking very loudly across the reception-room and when I reported this to the guy at reception he told me he could not say anything as they were clients! but he did not care I was a client also and telling people not to talk so loudly it is a matter of respect!

The toilet/shower room: this must have been conceived by a very ingenous architect as although new, it was permanently flooded due to the fact the shower is hanging above the toilet! why they cannot built the shower head at the end of the bathroom separated by a curtain? this will avoid swimming all the times you go to the toilet.

On the last note: I booked first two nights and then when I realized I was arriving late in Penang I sent an email to extend my stay an extra night. I NEVER got a reply and after 24hI had to book another room through hostelbookers and paying again 2 USD service fee. This was not good customer service, what if I had to announce I had to cancel my booking? why they have an email if they never reply?

Breakfast is only coffe/tea, toasts and some eggs which are never hard boiled!

Location is very good and the owner was nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anto_Seb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
Thirty Three Stewart Houze
#20 of 169 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Inn Heritage
Red Inn Heritage
#77 of 169 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley House
Kimberley House
#48 of 169 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cocoa Mews
Cocoa Mews
#41 of 169 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muntri House
Muntri House
#33 of 169 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malabar Inn
Malabar Inn
#16 of 169 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Inn Muntri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn Muntri

Property: Guest Inn Muntri
Address: 17 Lebuh Muntri, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest Inn Muntri 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Georgetown, Guest Inn Muntri provides both dormitory and private air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. It . Free parking and a 24-hour front desk are available. In the common area, guests can play billiards, watch TV and get drinking water from the water dispenser.Simply furnished, all rooms come with a desk. Bathroom facilities are shared, and are equipped with cold and hot-water showers. There is a shared computer in the common area which guests can use.Guest Inn Muntri is a 10-minute walk from KOMTAR, 1st Avenue and Prangin Mall. It is a 15-minute walk from Penang Jetty and a 30-minute walk from Gurney Drive. Penang International Airport is a 30-minute drive away.Bicycle rentals and day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides luggage storage and laundry services.Guest Inn Cafe serves Western dishes, snacks and desserts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guest Inn Muntri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Inn Muntri Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing