We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend some money & bring this beauty back to life”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed here 10 years ago in a junior suite and felt like a King with it’s impressive views, separate lounge with settees, 2 toilets, desk, Jacuzzi bath in the double sink bathroom with separate shower.

I was so much looking forward to coming back for a 3 night stay with my partner to experience what was one of the nicest Hotels I had ever stayed in, but sadly this in not the case now for this tired and worn beautiful Hotel.

The location is by the sea (there is no beach here) approx between the centre of Georgetown and Gurney Plaza shopping mall. There is fairly large food hawker centre 2 minutes walk by the waters edge and if you feel up to the 20-minute walk to Gurney Plaza shopping mall you will pass many other eating-places. We took taxis into Old Town (10 RM), as it seemed to far to walk.

The rooms are well equipped with safe, iron, hairdryer, complimentary water, fridge, kettle, free wifi, air con, bed & lounge TV, complimentary toiletries etc. There is a 9th floor pool with great views and a spa area offering massages etc

Breakfast has plenty of choice, but lacked freshness. Items looked limp and pastries & bread were from the day before.

Rates were very reasonable and about the same as what I paid 10 years ago, but sadly this now shows in wear and tear.

Staff were great and made us feel most welcome. Shame the owners won’t spend the money to match this welcome. So say, they are refurbishing a floor at a time, but I get the impression it’s on a shoe string budget.

Room Tip: Take a room furthest away from elevators
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petegaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Petegaff,

We thank you for your remarks on your stay with us and glad to know that our staff has been very friendly and efficient.

Admittedly, we are in the process, under new ownership in refurbishing our rooms in stages, the TV, the floor and other items.

We hope you will come back and stay with us again in one of our newly refurbish room.

Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for The Northam All Suite Penang
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 514 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Pros -
1. Spacious room compared to most hotels nowadays
2. Working Jacuzzi in your room
3. Good buffet breakfast
4. My room had an ocean view
5. Free internet wifi
6. Reasonable priced rooms

Cons-
1. Need a car. Not walking distance to city centre or attractions
2. There's no Golf Channel, hehe

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Ed S,

We have noted your 6 compliments and the "No Golf Channel" comment.

Look forward to Welcoming You again.

Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice view from my room but find iron mark on the rug. Very spacious but furniture very old and tired. Reception very poor service, asked for extra blanket twice but never arrive. Bathroom have mould in it , try using jacuzzi but deity water come out. Bed linen got hole & towel were old & rough. We will not return again. Disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regine-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Regine-09,

We noticed that you stay with us in February and wonder whether it was during the Chinese New Year period?

Yes, our Suites are very large and very often there are 5 to 6 people in the room and requesting for extra towels, extra blanket, extra pillow, etc.. and we could not comply with all request.

However, I can be contacted at this number, 012-4816556, so that I can investigate more thoroughly.

Anthony Ang
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just returned from Penang last weekend and was my 4th stay with Northam Suite in the last 10 years. I hope the followings could help you with knowing what to expect, so as to avoid unnecessary disappoinment:

Plus Points:
1. Very spacious suite rooms. Recommend the 57 sqm Junior Suite.
2. Good size in-room Jacuzzi.
3. 2 sinks. Separate shower & toilet cubicles. 2 toilets in a Junior Suite.
4. The sea facing rooms have beautiful and relaxing views of Penang's shimmering water.
5. Very affordable rates
6. Walking distance to Northam Cafe (2 mins), Kochabi Taiwanese Cuisine (5 mins), Him Heang (6 mins), Chew Thean Yeang Aquarium/ Pet Store (15 mins), Gurney Plaza (20 mins).

Need improvements:
1. A room on 32nd floor has cracked wooden flooring near the bathroom entrance. To replace.
2. The room I last stayed on 37th floor needs carpet shampooing to remove the huge stains.
3. The front desk staff are friendly but more smiles & welcoming would be appreciated.
4. There's no ramp linking carpark to the hotel. Challenging to drag luggages up & down stairs.
5. For the price, the buffet breakfast spread is just so-so.

Personally, I still think it is a great place to stay, except for the must-do refurbishments. One more thing, thank God, so far no haunting experience for me yet, though I'm ultra sensitive to such 'ambience'. Thus, if the price level does not increase drastically, I think I'll just keep going back! :o)

Room Tip: Go for the sea-facing junior suite rooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fats88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, General Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Fats88 Singapore,

Thank you for your "Plus Points" & "Need Improvements" Comments.

We thank you for both and I have personally look into areas where we can improve further.

We are in the continuos process of upgrading all our Suites, such as floorboards, TV and other necessary guest comforts.

We look forward to having you as our guest again and the possibility of saying "hello" to you.

Regards,
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

the suite was very spacious and clean. we like how it was decorated. simple yet with elegance. the location is perfect for me. located between georgetown and tanjung bungah. we got sea view room and it was nice to see the sea just as soon as we wake up. not to forget we also requested for a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sicha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Mr Sicha 123,

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at The Northam All Suite Hotel Penang.

We look forward to Welcoming You again and if time permits, I would be glad to say hello to you.


Regards,
General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Value for money, good Breakfast, Free good wifi signal in the rooms. Very clean rooms. Good location, very near from kondar. never miss cheese no egg cake. Never miss the boat ride to turtle beach and monkey beach in penanag national park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arulsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthamMIS, Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Mr Arulsingh,

Thank you very much for your compliments on our hotel. Our motto has always been:

"Make The Guest Happy and We Will Feel Happier".

We look forward to Welcoming You to The Northam again and I would like to have the honour to meet you personally.

General Manager
The Northam All Suite Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Knocking sounds, dragging of furnitures and dropping of marble sound can be heard all night. When we complained, the staff didn't look surprised. In fact the room above was empty. Toilet floor was slimy looking, floorboard near bed rotting and bedside control panel buttons have holes in them. Hall lights kept flickering intermittently. Don't bother with breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
54  Thank Benwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N0rthamAllSuite, Manager at The Northam All Suite Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

I can assure you that our hotel is not haunted as I have a room in the hotel. There has never been a haunted story complaint.

I have a Welcome Letter in the room with my hand phone number. You should have contacted me as my phone is reachable 24 hours.

I would like to find out more details as this is the first time I received this complaint.

My email address is : anthony.ang@northam-hotel.com.my

From,
GM
The Northam All Suite Penang.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#27 of 85 in George Town
774 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
1.0 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.7 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 85 in George Town
704 reviews
0.0 mi away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#39 of 85 in George Town
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Address: 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in George Town
#15 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $45 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing