We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, A reasonable hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Northam All Suite Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Value for money, A reasonable hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed recently in July 2012 and in general, the location is quite nice and I totally love the spacious room specially the bathroom area. It is a little bit rundown i.e the floor is uneven but it is value for money. I booked through Agoda and it only costs me RM480 for 2 nights stay in a Deluxe suite. The breakfast is good as well. All in all, I had a good stay at this hotel and wouldnt mind staying here again. Do ask to stay on higher floor as you get to enjoy the beautiful scenery specially during sunrise and sunset.

Room Tip: Find higher floor for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeLoveBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    193
    122
    36
    35
See reviews for
160
115
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Subang jaya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We like this hotel for its room size, big bed which is 2 queen bed. Location is in town, sea view. For food, can go across northam beach food court for hawker food in evening. during day time, go behind the car park in the morning there is stalls a roadside, and also can go gleneagle medical centre mini market to get stuff. Price reasonable. Hotel breakfast buffet really need to be improve, variety and quality. Facility wise, they only have adult pool, gym, sauna....

Room Tip: Facing front is sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenleSubang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is my 2nd time staying at this hotel. Nothing has really changed. Furniture and deco is still the same ie. outdated. Room is dim, TV is small & very old. The receptionists, waiters and waitresses should be given a session on "service with a SMILE" :). Requested a power adaptor and it took them ages to send.

Note: The Northam Beach Cafe hawker center opposite the hotel is open air and faces the sea. Pretty good to chill and enjoy d sea breeze with some famous Penang hawker food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed in a Studio Suite for 1 night on business in late May. I checked in close to 7.00pm, but the room still was not ready! Waited for about 10 minutes, then the receptionist asked the bellman to send me to the room. At the room, a maintenance person was at work replacing the light bulbs in my room for some reason. Why they could not have done this when the earlier guest left at 12.00pm I do not know!
He left soon after, but the problem apparently was not fixed: I switched on the desk light and the whole room blacked out! To be fair to the hotel, I did not inform management about this as the problem was fixed by switching off the lamp.
In terms of size, the room was good value - where in the world can you get a suite for RM260 a night, with 2 bathrooms! However, fixtures and fittings were old. The TVs were CRT, and the towels were course and thin.
Breakfast was so the usual Malaysian carb-fest of nasi lemak, fried noodles, etc. Soba was also served. I have an early breakfast at 7.00, so the egg station cook was not there yet. Heshould have been, as the breakfast starts at 6.30.
Another quibble is that there is no ready supply of taxis, despite the Northam being a city hotel. The concierge had to telephone a taxi company to take me to the airport, so I had to wait for it to come and bear the call fee. I thought this could be easily resolved by having a taxi-light at the road to call passing cabs in.
All in all, I have mixed feelings about this hotel. I'd try not to stay here again if I could help it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonBoy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I agree with most of the reviewers here on its slightly outdated items in the room but bear in mind, all these items are fully functional and does not affect my stay at all. The junior suite that I stayed in had a separate living room area, bedroom, 1 bathroom (with jacuzzi!) and another toilet in the living room area. And the view of the sea was simply fabulous after a long day. However, the pillow is a tad too soft to my liking, would recommend the hotel to keep a couple of harder pillows that would be available upon request.

Checking in and out was a breeze with no problems at all. All the staff that I encountered were very professional. The indoor carpark did not have lifts connecting it to the lobby, hence room guests will have to walk down a flight of stairs. As I drove, getting around was not an issue but to guest who do not have their own transport, they will have to rely heavily on taxis.

Overall experience was good and I will not hesitate to return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: High floors to get a nice view of the sea and surroundings. Drop off your heavy luggage before park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank merk_kl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Yes it is dated with old furniture eg sofa, CRT tv, writing desk. But bed is comfy and bathroom is modern. It is also the only accommodation in Penang island, as far as I know, that has a separate bedroom+bathroom with a spacious living hall. It is excellent for having guests during the day time without them looking into the bedroom. For this type of accomodation, the price is also very reasonable. Just don't expect 5 star treatment for staff or F&B.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Volatile75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I recently stayed 9 nights at the Northam and for the most part thought it was great. My suite, 3105 was large and comfortable. Sure, the rooms could use some upgrading but for the price, it was way more than expected. The view was incredible, the bathroom impressive and the amount of space was amazing.
The only really obvious problem were the laminate floors which were a mess but not a big deal, all things considered. I LOVED the pool and had it completely to myself most of the time. The breakfast buffet was a nice mix of different cuisines, not amazing but not bad. I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crzfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#26 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
1.7 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Property: The Northam All Suite Penang
Address: 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in George Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing