We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happens to business ethics?!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Northam All Suite Penang
Ranked #43 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Hotel not honouring rate agreed on 10th Feb..! Booked at one price, call me now telling is different price when my check in is this Sat, 25th Feb!!
What happens to business ethics?!
Being regular there on a monthly basis for coming to 3 years, I stand fit to comment the drop of service from the front desk. Front desk management is definitely not in good hands!!
Don't even consider this hotel NOW when you are expecting good and courteous services.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
4  Thank SydneyGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 399 of 522 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

We were in Penang for 2D1N looking at properties and booked this hotel. As the name of the hotel implies, looks like all rooms are suite with fantastic sea view. We love the room that comes with a jacuzzi bathtub. One of our friends tried the massage and said it was good. Its really a 25-30 mins walk to the famous Gurney drive hawker centre and shopping centre. We didn't mind walking as we didn't have our kids with us, but going back to the hotel... we took a cab. They don't seem to run the meter in Penang, even the locals say that... so you've got to bargain, which I hate. We tried the hair wash opposite the hotel and enjoyed it.
A few in our group has a tour of Penang with a driver, which also includes airport transfer. Thought I will do this the next time we are Penang again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May-Tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Checking in was swift. We booked a deluxe suite got amazing views over city and partial view of the sea. Room were spacious and bed huge. Furniture rundown. Free internet but very slow connection. Gym was pathetic. Pool water very cold and is only a lap pool so children do not have much fun.
Service was good they tried to do their best so no complaint there. We were there over Christmas period. We had the Christmas dinner at their Coffee house. Spread was not very good. The waiter was not aware what they are serving when I asked them what sauce they have for the turkey and roast beef. They were not able to tell one from the other!
Overall stay at The Northam Suites is average. there are better hotels in Penang

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SingaporeTravelCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We booked this hotel before reading the reviews here and were a little bit worried when we did. However, our experience here was great. We booked two of the largest suites and both had amazing views over the city and out to sea. The rooms were spacious and airy the the bed HUGE! Yes, the furniture is a little bit run down, this was not enough to detract from our experience. Re the location - I prefer staying near Georgetown rather than at Batu Feringgi, so this was ideally located.

We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly and the Spa treatment was reasonably priced and very good. The pool was a little bit cold, but having lived in Scotland most of my life, I can tolerate that.

All in all, very pleasantly surprised and we'd definitely come back

Room Tip: The largest suites have windows on 2 sides, so wherever you are, you will get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenLanghammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Very comfortable hotel with friendly pool of staff. Check In was fast and staff on duty were very informative. Can take a slow walk to Gurney Plaza where there are loads of shops, movies, eatries etc. Need to take a cab to town though but very convenient ride, no hassle to getting a cab. Hotel need to improve on its television (too small) and extra bed (not comfortable).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Pink_lotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel had some pretty bad reviews but i found it to be quite decent. The staff were super friendly and the buffet food downstairs was delicious. The suites were huge! with big bathrooms and extra washroom for guests.The hotel is a little older but i found the decor really added a traditional feel to it. My stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitalvixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Location is good. Rooms needs some upgrading work but overall, a pleasant stay.
P.S The pool water is quite cold even at 10am, so better wait till evening time for a dip!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shashindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
0.4 mi away
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
#28 of 88 in George Town
788 reviews
0.0 mi away
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
VOUK Hotel Suite Penang
#40 of 88 in George Town
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northam All Suite Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northam All Suite Penang

Address: 55 Jalan Sultan Ahmad Shah, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in George Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $47 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Northam All Suite Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northam All Suite, Penang is strategically located in the heart of Penang's commercial and leisure district. The hotel offers easy access to the city's historical and cultural landmarks. The spacious suites, refined with homely earth tone finishings, Jacuzzi and modern amenities will pamper your every whim.The 142 splendidly furnished and cozy suites are replete with opulent accommodations complete with panoramic views of the iridescent sea. Watch the sky light up in a glorious sunrise or end the evening with the sunset as day turns to dusk. This is a stay in ultimate indulgence. The Hotel is located in the heart of the new business and commercial district and less than five minutes away from all major shopping complexes and Gurney Drive. It is 20 km away from the Penang International Airport, approximately 20 minutes by road or 4 hours drive via the North-South Expressway from Malaysia's capital city, Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Northam All Suite Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northam All Hotel Georgetown
Northam All Suite Georgetown
Northam All Suite Hotel Georgetown
The Northam All Suite Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing