We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room, good hotel but very poor front office service !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #23 of 82 Hotels in George Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good room, good hotel but very poor front office service !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My family and I chose this hotel cos of its strategic location and knowing that it has been recently renovated, we assumed it would be a good choice for holiday. We must agree that the room is really nice and comfortable to stay in. However, the check-in and check out process were VERY slow and service was VERY poor! When i arrived to the reception to check in, i was attended by a receptionist named Sarah. She was sooo slow and it seems like she wasn't very well trained in explaining how room charges & deposit are charged. When i asked her is room charges payable during check out, she answered yes but she collected a total of room charges&one night deposit from me. When i reconfirmed with her again, then she said yes, it is their standard procedure to collect room charge and deposit together during check in. I was clearly confused. This showed how terrible she is in explaining things to guest. When i was at the front desk, there was also another receptionist named Devy who was attending to several China guests. Clearly the guests did not understand English very well and i heard a bell boy came over and spoke to her, indicating that they are from China and Devy should speak to them in Chinese. It was pretty clear that this receptionist can speak Chinese. But instead of speaking and helping guest to understand better, she refused to speak a word of Chinese yet raised her voice towards these guests in a very unfriendly tone. I even heard one of the guest scolded back, "ben dan" which means stupid. What a shame!

Same thing happened when i checked out, i was queueing up at the front desk and the guests ahead of me were attended by Sarah. There were only two receptionist at that time. I noticed the other queue had the same number of queue as the one i was in. There were three people before me. So i purposely timed how long this Sarah will take til it gets to me. True enough my queue remains that long while the other queue was already shortened. Then i hopped to the other queue as it was taking too much time. After that, a guy who looks like their front office manager, his name is Sivali, came out to help. The guy who was standing in front of me in my initial queue went to Sivali's queue and complained about Sarah. I saw Sarah showing a sour face to this guest, and the guest said "what kind of service is this? So slow, so poor!" After this guy is done checking out, i hopped to Sivali's (u can totally imagine how long i have waited!!)

I must say how disappointed i was speaking from a former hotelier point-of-view. With such renowned hotel, there should be proper procedure of attending to guest and charges for deposit. Though the room and housekeeping service was very good, the front office service clearly need an upgrade of standard. Hope the management will truly look into this as it is quite intolerable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 592ndreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang!

It is with our deepest regret and profuse concern over the issues highlighted that has caused so much of inconveniences to you as our esteemed guests.

Nevertheless, we would like to emphasize and reassure that what you have experienced is certainly not the reflection of our standards of service. I assure you that I am equally most concerned with regards to the service shortcomings which were not at all intentional.

Nonetheless, you have my assurance that I will personally address this issue with my team members for immediate improvement.

Meanwhile, I would like to emphasize that what you have experienced is certainly not the reflection of our standards of service.

I sincerely hope that you have not allowed this incident to mar your impression of us and that it has not detracted too much of your overall enjoyment of your stay here.

We appreciate your kind understanding and we value your support. We look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    692
    264
    94
    43
See reviews for
348
313
73
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

The rooms were clean and a good size, pool OK but lacks afternoon shade, the breakfast was varied and plentiful and the staff very friendly. This hotel is a great base for exploring Penang and much cheaper than staying closer to the old town. There are also some good shopping centres nearby (if that's your thing). All buses leave stop under Komtar, a short walk away.The free MPPP which loops around Georgetown will take you through the streets to the jetty where you can catch the ferry across to the mainland and back for RM1.4. The nearby Clan villages are worth a look. You can also walk in to Little India and see the street art and partake in some delicious Indian food. The 101 will take you up to Batu Feringghi for RM2.7 to visit the beach and where there are some great places to eat after 7pm and the 204 which goes to the Kek Lok Si temple and nearby markets and fenicular railway where you can get a fantastic view of Georgetown for RM2.0. There are street food markets outside the hotel and down Jalan Macalister. There is no need to catch taxis in Penang as the public transport system will get you to most places cheaply. The GAMA has a supermarket where you can purchase drinks or snacks and there are a couple of convenience stores where you can get ice (the hotel will supply it but only in small quantities) for your afternoon cocktails. There are also a couple of laundries nearby in Lorong Kinta, Lorong Madras and Jalan Burma opposite the big aquarium.

Room Tip: Beds are very hard so you may want to request a pillow top for the mattress if you prefer something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MickeyMouse955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your comments on the hotel as well as the surrounding for other travelers' knowledge. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice traveling experience, enjoyed the location and liked our breakfast and the service.

We look forward to welcoming you soon on your next visit.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Clean and comfortable room. Service very good and checkin/checkout was timely. Good assortment of food for breakfast. Hawker stalls close by and within walking distance to mall.
Suggest to compare in house price of vehicular tour to that of taking cab. We took hotel tour and it was a limo ride only and expensive. Pool area very nice but only two umbrellas...get there early.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We appreciate the time taken to share your valuable comments with us on your recent trip to Penang!

We will continue to make every effort to further enhance our services in our continuous pursuit for service excellence

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in the club room. Check in took close to 30 mins as we had booked 3 rooms.

The club lounge did not offer much selection for breakfast and all day drinks.

The rooms were pretty spacious and clean.

Location was good as there were hawker stalls just outside the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank GhimH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Penang. Your comments are highly appreciated.

Meanwhile, we look forward to your return visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

You pay for what you get, as the old saying said. We stayed here for 4 days in early February 2014. The hotel seems to be renovated but still looks and feel out of date. The room size and WiFi are good. The noise at night didn't really affect us and stopped normally around 11 PM.
The breakfast was very good and lots of varieties that can satisfy all nationalities. The restaurant supervisor in charge was very friendly in the morning.
We didn't try any Hawkers foods outside but had dinner once along the side of Jalan Magazine road (make right from the hotel to the corner and another right) with steam fresh sea food from the tank. The side walks are really not very easy to walk, specially at night.
Lots of taxi in the front but you have to have an ideal how much it is before you hail for the taxi. Otherwise, they will overcharge you. Don't take any tour from the hotel, Penang is small, you can do it on your own. We negotiated a taxi to take us Penang Hill, Lok Si Temple, The Goddess of Mercy Temple, The leaning Buddha and Burmese temple and the Gurney Pass almost the whole day for $30. Another thing, don't take the free Tourist bus shuttle from the Komtar bus terminal area, it will take forever to wait for the bus and it will be very crowded as the local use it themselves as transport to the old town. It is better to take a taxi from the hotel as it is not that far. The two big malls by the Gurney drive have very good food and is very clean.
The staff in the hotel are really not that friendly. Specially the concierge, getting info from him is like pulling teeth. He was too busy checking his phone than paying any attentions.

Room Tip: High floor will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlKo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay however we apologise for the lack of service.

Meanwhile, I would like to emphasize that what you have experienced is certainly not the reflection of our standards of service.

The department and associate concerned had been reminded of their duties and they have assured me that they would be more diligent in the future.

Thank you for your kind understanding and we value your support. We look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The room was nice and big. The bathroom needs abit maintenance, there was water leak when taking a shower. Staffs were friendly and helpful. Don't book the Penang hill tour from the hotel. They charged us 320rm for 4hrs on a private tour. But all they did was drive us there and pick us up. We have to pay for the train to go up the hill. Basically, you just watch the view and take photo so you don't need 4hrs. There were only 2 restaurants up there with no customer so we ended up not having dinner there. You better off to catch a taxi, its cost around 80-90rm per way.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adelaide144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We appreciate your valuable time to share your experience with us during your recent stay. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. Please be informed that the Travel & Tours operator is an external party. However, we have informed them of your comments. Nonetheless, we have taken the necessary measures on the areas that requires improvement.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. Room looked like it had been recently updated, everything in the bathroom worked. The room could use another chair for sitting -- one chair is not quite enough. Our request for a higher floor facing Penang Hill room was accommodated with smiles at check-in -- the view is lovely, especially at night (you can see the temple). One downside to the hotel is the loud music that comes on every night from some nearby square -- we could hear the music even though we were on the back (supposedly quieter) side of the hotel. Not much that the hotel can do about it, fortunately the music stops around 11 p.m. (this is the reason for the Very Good instead of Excellent rating). Otherwise, the location is great, within walking distance to many restaurants, shops, and tourist sites in the downtown. We left a tripod in the room upon departure, and the hotel was prompt in responding to email about it. Housekeeping had found it and had kept it until we arranged for its retrieval. Excellent staff!

Room Tip: Higher floor is always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for your compliments and the respective department has been notified. We wished you had a wonderful stay!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#21 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 33 New Lane (Off Macalister | (Off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of GeorgeTown, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing