We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in George Town
sin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Hotel location is great. Just outside the hotel, the street is full of hawker food which open in the evening.

Breakfast spreading is reasonable. But we had skipped next few days breakfast and went to nearby local Dim Sum restaurant "Prosperous Dim Sum Restaurant". It is located just behind Red Rock Hotel.
Price is cheap and food is acceptable.

If you want cheaper hotel, just opposite Sunway Georgetown, there are 2 decent hotels - Hotel Sentral and a newly open hotel Heliconia Penang.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momo231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for your comments. We are indeed pleased that everything met up to your expectation during your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    666
    258
    91
    39
See reviews for
321
297
68
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Hi, overall is good, from the 1st step I go into your hotel, I feel comfortable. From Reception, cleaner, waitress all he/her services also very nice and good. But for the chief, especially the fatty indian guy is most rude in side the open kitchen area, the face and attitude is not acceptable. e.g no smelling at all, attitude for servings food is rude. Because of this, my wife, me, and another 2 of my friends also have this bad experience for this time. And the overall food taste also not that nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AndriyLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, as it is precisely through such comments that we are able to improve and remain true to our committed effort of serving guests in our utmost capacity.

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had experienced. We would like to assure you that we will be taking necessary corrective measures to address the area highlighted.

We sincere hope you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very good hotel with all the facilities you need in and outside the hotel. Good foodcourt just outside, Komtar busstation is nearby, taxi's right outside, etc
Breakfast is also very nice, more than enough choice for everyone.
All and all a good choice if you want to stay in a decent hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Boogie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We are delighted to learn that all arrangements and services extended during your stay with us met your expectations. Meanwhile, we thank you for your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Loved the hotel.very clean.super service...they really take the time to please the people who stayes in the hotel.
Nothing bad to say.allthough penang was not really our thing we loved the hotel and this maked everything super

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papatya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

We sincerely appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to provide us your kind feedback on our Hotel, and we look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, good service and good location. There is excellent hawker food stalls right outside. The Komtar is nearby so handy for catching buses around the island. Overall the hotel was like a basic motel with clean sheets, basic bathroom facilities, our shower floor was sticky and some decent views. Good value for money, just don't expect perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pommiepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang!

Thank you for your comments. We sincerely appreciate that you have taken your valuable time to provide us your feedback on our Hotel, and we look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I and my family had a pleasant stay at this hotel and enjoyed the food at nearby eatries.Staff at the lobby were all courteous except for a Indian female staff with short dark looking were not looking pleasant as she was staring at me.The room was clean and comfortable,decent stay but there a problem with the shower below the water drainer was slow going which gets into flood whenever we have shower. Overall it's a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Firstly, we are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us during your visit to Penang. Nonetheless, we appreciate your constructive comments and highlighting of areas for further improvement. We would like to assure you that we will be taking necessary corrective measures to address the areas highlighted.

Meanwhile, we look forward to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

if one of your key objective is to savor the street food at macAlister road, this is the perfect place to stay. newly refurbished, rooms are clean and reasonably spacious for the price range. location is literally having the macAllister outlets at your doorstep. if shopping is more your thing, Times Square Penang is at the other end of the road 5mins walk away. foods at the f&b outlet at the hotel is also quite palatable if you get tired (which i doubt) of the street food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayGeorgetown, General Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you for your review, we are indeed glad that our newly refurbished rooms and location met up to your expectation. We will incessantly strive to do our best to ensure our guests are happy with their stay here.

We hope to see you back again on your next visit to Penang.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.3 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#21 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 33 New Lane (Off Macalister | (Off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of GeorgeTown, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing