We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Nearby Hotels
$192
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$147
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$47
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
$22
$20
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$104
$90
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muntri Mews(George Town)
$103
$63
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
GLOW Penang(George Town)(Great Value!)
$47
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spices Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
$59
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$38
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
$35
$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveler rating
327
764
284
102
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
764
284
102
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew lanehawker stallsstreet foodhawker foodwalking distanceclub roomtaxi standprangin mallmacalister roadbuffet breakfastclean hotelsmall poolearly checknasi lemakroom was spacioussingle bedpleasant stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
940 - 945 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked this hotel together with AirAsia flight for price and location. Email them after booking to request for a baby cot and they remember during check in and setup the cot minutes after we enter the room. The room is newly renovated and clean. The baby cot seems old though. Water from the tap is a little yellowish but this could be a Penang problem rather than a hotel issue. All staff are friendly and breakfast is ok. I went to the gym at opening time of 6am twice but both times they were not open. Called the front desk and they quickly sent someone to open it. I wanted them to open the toilet next to the gym as well but strangely they say can only open that at 7am. All in all, it's a goos stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohjonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We book our hotel at Agoda 5 months ago before we travel. Thanks to Agoda this site is very reliable when it comes to hotel booking.

This is the first time we stay in Sunway Hotel in Georgetown of Penang we never expected that this hotel is beyond our expectation its a good hotel and very clean the room is quite big for us the best thing that I appreciated was that we got a good view in our room facing time square and the plus point is that the area is very accessible for everything like shopping, food . Like if you want a local Penang food there's a hawker lane that walking this distance form hotel we go around the area it was amazing that you would not able to loose. Staff of this hotel is very accommodating and helpful with the guest which is very important to a guest. I hope if giving a chance to come back here i would happy to stay here again. over all we really satisfied our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hermyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our first time not staying in a hotel at Batu Ferringi. This hotel situated in a very central area that easily accessible to any places in Penang with a very reasonable rate. Rooms have been newly refurbished, modern and spacious. Bathroom has complete set of toiletries. Breakfast is adequate but not fantastic, but think of the room rate you pay......New Lane hawkers stall is just outside the hotel and food there are yummy and cheap! Will come back again for sure :)

Room Tip: Ask for a connecting room if you need one.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

your will be satisfied with the condition of the room ... your will satisfied with the environment and feel ... restaurants look very nicely... room and services very comfortable ... The room condition very nice after renovation and look new ... you definitely satisfied sitting in this hotel ...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apisfq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The plus points for Sunway is its close proximity to downtown and is next to the New Lane Hawker Street. You will have no problem getting your local Penang food during your stay in Sunway Georgetown. The reception and concierge are helpful, making your stay a more pleasant one.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shalom73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews