We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what does up grade means to the duty manager ?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“what does up grade means to the duty manager ?”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

i was back from thailand working trip with my wife and 1 daughter 1years old plus .. when i reach penang sunway hotel straight away i ask the driver send me to sunway hotel BUT NO OTHER HOTEL . i arrive 4pm almost ... i check in and was given a room , after was given a room straight away leaves our beg and valuables in the room and ready to have a good rest after all the stress from thailand and try to have a good sleep and rest . FINALLY AIRCOND IS NOT WORKING . so our rest is totally out and me and wife and kid we have to go to somewhere else to give way to the hotel management as they said the aircond problem will be fix by 6pm ... so 2 hours is still okie because i do understand that THIS HOTEL JUST NEWLY RENOVATED AND MAY HAVE SOME PROBLEM .. after i was back from walk around in penang which i always did , the aircond problem still not fix yet .. guess what ? the aircond done at 11pm night . which ME AND WIFE AND KID HAVE TO STRAY AROUND but not in the room for resting !! when i spoke to the manager of the hotel *( i cant remember his name , is a indian man manager wearing a spec ) he tiold me he will do something for me for tommorow as he said upgrade the room for me or NOT JUST FREE ME ANOTHER NIGHT ) finally we got no choice but to change the room that night to another which is still the same WITHOUT AIRCOND ALSO . ( what the hack ) ?? but is getting late and my daughter is sleep so i have no choice but to tolerate 1 night as the manager will do me something for me tommrow which i agreed


the next day morning , which i suppose to check out , but i was told to meet the manager so i went down to the lobby and the manager is there is very friendly and polite . ( thast the way for 4 star hotel ) , he told me that he will upgrade for me the room . and iw as told i still need to pay for the room . just only discount rm100 from the actually price for the 1st night .. after disscusion with my wife , my wife say okie take it as WE DONT HAVE A GOOD SLEEP for that night , after paid the room was change to the room with full of aircond ( this times it works ... ) yeah !!! BUT .,,, HE DIDNT UPGRADE IT FOR ME .

POINT IS

1 , WHAT DOES IT MEANS OF UPGRADE , ? ( I KNOW WE STILL HAVE TO PAY but the room is not upgraded and still have to pay after all the NONSENSE AND MOOD SPOILT FOR THE RESTING NIGHT .,

2 , I AM EXPECTING MORE THAN JUST UPGRADE ( IF U WERE ME AND U CHECK IN THIS HOTEL ! WHAT WILL U DO ? ( in the 1st place i didnt yell at counter or make noise or complaint of refund , i undersatnd and i try to tolerate . BUT DID THE HOTEL DOES IT TOO ? TO BE HONEST I EXPECT A FREE NIGHT STAY INSTEAD OF UPGRADE ( but didnt upgrade ) and i still have to pay ...?? i cant get and dun understand !! how your manager to comfort a suffer REGULAR CUSTOMER DUE TO YOUR HOTEL facilities fuction failure ? ..

at last ... i check in time was december ,!! ask your indian manager ( a bit fat ) i am sure he still remember me . and i expect this to be reply AS SOON AS POSSIBLE .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank garyazlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelGP, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

First and foremost, please accept our utmost sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you and your family during your stay with us in December 2012.

However, based our investigation record, we regret to inform you that we had an inadvertent technical problem pertaining to the said room air-condition system. Though our precautionary measures in terms air-cond servicing and all other routine checks are conducted regularly but at that juncture the incident was beyond our control. On this note, we understand that the situation could have been resolved immediately and in a more tactful manner that will certainly easy your distress and of course it will be more comforting for your wife and baby.

Nevertheless, we have instructed our associates to step-up on service delivery then and always.

Moving forth, in any business like ours, the greatest way of improvement is from constructive comments from our valued guest like your goodself and on this instance, we certainly value your feedback and appreciate your kind understanding despite the shortcomings.

We would like to emphasize that we have every desire to address your needs and provide the best solution to meet to your requirements and reassure that what you have experienced is certainly not the reflection of our standards of service.

We are committed to you as our valued customers and it is very important to regain your trust and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves in near future.

Please be informed that our hotel will be fully renovated by end May 2013 and we look forward to welcoming you and your family to Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    711
    268
    95
    45
See reviews for
360
323
76
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

First time stayed in sunway for two nights as walk in. Check in at midnight, assistant manager Michelle was very cheerful & friendly during check in. She informed us the renovation still in progress, swimming pool still under renovation but the gym already open for guest. We need help with the luggage and she called the housekeeping guy to help us. Housekeeping guy Osman also very helpful. Room was nice and clean. Definitely we will come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cwr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The newly refurbished rooms are comfy and I love the spacious rooms. The location is ideal as it is only minutes away from the famous street hawkers at the left side of the hotel. It is also located near the Komtar and Little India.

As for the service standard, despite the negative reviews here, I found out the hotel staff are mostly friendly and helpful. There is this tall Malay bellboy who worked in the morning. He is always ready to provide assistance with a smile; I was quite impressed as I did not expect such high service standard from the hotel. Also the receptionists are polite and paitent.

The resturant is newly-renovated and looks classy. The only thing that I find wanting is the breakfast, which has a limited range of choices available.

Also it could be better if there is free wifi available at the lift lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maverick020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stay there during Easter holiday for 2 nights. During checked in, Front Office Michelle show a very bad attitude of unwillingness to serve. Bathroom was choked and when ask to be repair, it took more than 1 day to get it done. Maintenance came but didn't do a good job. Was given only 2 towels on the 2nd despite having 3 persons in the room. When called front office to ask for extra towel, they did not send it to us immediately but said that they can only send to us after they change their shift at 12 midnight and the timing then was 11.15pm. Room was spacious though and the DM Darren was the only one with good service during my entire stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 118Anne2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunwayHotelGP, Public Relations Manager at Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang!

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had experienced in terms of the service delivery and other shortcomings that had caused you a degree of distress during your recent stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us via our recent telephone-conversation.

Our associates have been reminded of their duties.

However, we would like to emphasize and reassure that what you have experienced is certainly not the reflection of our standards of service.

Again, we highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do. It is our goal to retain you as a satisfied guest and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Thank You.

Yours Sincerely,

Marketing & Communications Manager
Sunway Hotel Georgetown, Penang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed nine nights in the Sunway while it was being refurbished. The new rooms are comfortable, classy and minimalist. The controls are intuitive and everything seems to be placed just where it should be.

The staff were friendly and helpful and really trying to make the guest happy. The rooms were clean as a whistle.

There is an excellent little hawker stand steps away from the Sunway. I had a lovely comfortable stay.

Room Tip: There seems to be a better view out the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xieng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for New Year Celebration. Overall our experience is that this is a very mediocre hotel.

The hotel was in the midst of renovation at the point when we check-ed in. We got ourselves pre-renovated room so it looks a little old but clean.

My Advice : This is a safe choice if you are going Penang for the first time. Nothing bad can go wrong but there's nothing wow or anything impressive that you will remember.

Value-wise : Definitely there is a better value hotel around.

If you ask me if i'll stay here again on my next visit to Penang? I would explore other hotel.

Hope this helps :)

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ufong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel quite ok despite the renovation made the lobby hotel not so comfortable and need more plants in the hotel entrance to make it more shaded.
Unfortunately front desk staff so unfriendly and never smile from we checked in until checked out
Need more improvement in serving guests with hospitality

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ameliaplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,041 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 84 in George Town
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 33 New Lane (Off Macalister | (Off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of GeorgeTown, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing