We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Was disappointed to find out that the renovation works will only end around mid year. The coffee house, lounge, swimming pool, gym are all closed during this period. So if you are looking for only a place to sleep at night it's ok. Otherwise, the isn't any place you can either relax, have a drink or exercise.
We were given a renovated room at the end of the floor, the housekeeping kept the big door next to our room opened and we were quite uncomfortable about it due to security reasons cuz we are all females. They forgot to deliver newspaper to our room and forgot to deliver to our room again when we reminded them before we went out.
Other than the above, the staff are quite friendly and service is good. Location is superb as its next to the hawkers street along macalister rd. Nearby there are lots of coffee shops, Penang times sq, local products shop and a big foot reflexology centre around e corner.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Moomeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    640
    250
    89
    39
See reviews for
306
282
65
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was on a business trip to Penang, and put a night at Sunway Hotel, Georgetown. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The doorman came and offered to help us with our luggage, even though we only had a bag each.

This hotel is strategically located at New Lane (Lorong Baru), just outside the hotel there are rows of hawker food. Convenient store is also nearby within 200m. When I was there the hotel was still under progressive renovation, with the hotel rooms renovated, it was very clean and comfortable. The room I stayed was a double bed room. Spacious with tv, drink bar, a refrigerator, and complimentary wifi. The bathroom was fully equipped with towel, toiletries including shaver and shaving cream (which I don't see in many hotels).

The breakfast provided was great in variety- waffle, cereal, roti canai, nasi lemak, eggs, noodles, etc. Staff were friendly and they made me felt like a VIP enjoying my breakfast. What not to forget to mention is that the view I woke up to was fantastic!

With the price range from RM250-300 I think this is a very good hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: If you would like to wake up to a beautiful sunrise view, you could ask the for a room facing the ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hOcmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Upon arrival, we approached the front desk to check in but there were no staff present. Then a phone started ringing and a lady came out to answer the call without acknowledging us. After ending the call, she still did not acknowledge us. We then attempted to check in, which was very slow. We had booked a room for three people and had emailed to check that there would be an extra bed in the room as we had paid for this. The lady assured us that this was fine, and that the breakfast was for three people. When we got to our room, there was not a single bed and the whole floor stank of smoke. We called the front desk and we were very happy that a nice male staff member took us to another room and promptly arranged for an additional bed to be provided. At breakfast, our booking only mentioned two people but we were eventually al able to eat. The breakfast staff were friendly and able to deal with our requests. The concierge were also incredibly friendly and helpful. We were woken by construction noise on both mornings but we did not find this too annoying. Since the rooms were so new and the location great, I would probably return to the hotel following the completion of the construction work, although in future I would expect a much, much better check in experience that what we experienced from a very rude and grumpy staff member.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kawaiitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at Sunway previously about 2-3 years ago. The location is excellent, 5 mins walk to Komtar, Prangin Mall and 1st Avenue, not forgetting New Lane Hawker Centre just next door.

Previously I was disappointed with the dated rooms and furnishings so I was pleasantly surprised that they are doing a full scale refurbishment of the hotel. The rooms are all newly renovated. The lobby was recently completed as well. Currently renovation is underway at the swimming pool, gym and coffeehouse. Breakfast is being served at the ballroom.

Two things that stood out for me were the comfortable beds and the superior sound proving with absolutely kept out traffic noise.

With the completion of the renovation, Sunway Hotel would be my first choice in Georgetown.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SG_Excursionist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here- the room was very clean, and the shower was exceptional. The staff were very polite and friendly. We liked the location of the hotel- with the street filled every night with the food hawkers. The main area of Georgetown was an easy 10/15 mins walk. We weren't bothered by too much noise with the renovations and could sleep well of a night. Breakfast was Ok on the one morning we ate there- other days there was plenty of cafes nearby that we could eat in for not very much mone. Would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room- we had a great view of Penang bridge and Butterworth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night and had no reason to dislike it. The hotel was being renovated, and lot's of building work could be seen. We didn't notice this too much as most of the time we were out exploring Georgetown. Our room was nice, large, clean, and newly renovated. We didn't have any food or see the pool, so can't comment. The location is what made this place perfect and the reason why I gave it 4 stars. It's close enough to the shopping centers and within walking distance to the old part of Georgetown (great for exploring). So 'great location, nice hotel'.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoctopusDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runaway Bay Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here in October 2012 and work was only part way done but looks like they are powering ahead with it. We had a quite a nice room which was obviously had had it's reno done Yes there were noises to be heard but if you wanted a relaxing place to stay wait till the renos are done. Good spot if you use it as base...but a little walk to most of the major shopping areas. Great street food available at night just down on the corner from Sunway.
Staff were good and very friendly and the breakfasts had all the variety to appeal to all tastes.
Can recommend this one

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sungirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#21 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#22 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#14 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#19 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang
Hotel Jen Penang
#25 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 33 New Lane (Off Macalister | (Off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of GeorgeTown, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing