We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“New Deluxe Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Ranked #24 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“New Deluxe Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Hotel just refurbished the room, room is very nice n comfortable. Location also Great.The hotel breakfast also not bad.Overall is good.Beside the hotel is hawker stall,a lot of local food can eat,such a nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fabian2625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    667
    259
    91
    39
See reviews for
323
297
68
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
240 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I am not a big fan of the Sunway group but decided on the hotel because of its location in the heart of Georgetown and because it has a private covered carpark. Also liked the look of the newly refurbished super deluxe rooms in pictures.

Was a bit worried after reading the mixed reviews here. Thankfully, getting a super deluxe room on the 5th floor for 4 nights was the right choice. Our room, which had a view of Kek Lok Si and Penang Hill in the distance, was as good as it looked online. Stylish, clean and modern, it just lacked pictures on the walls. The strong water pressure and constant hot water at the shower were excellent.

Hardly heard the drilling / renovation works. The only time we were bothered by the renovation was on the day we were checking out - they were working on the lift lobby on the ground floor and it was awkward when getting in and out of the lifts.

Buffet breakfast in the function rooms on the lower ground floor was nice enough. Liked the Indian bread and curry, Chinese porridge, nasi lemak and bread+butter pudding. The food was tasty but could perhaps do with more changes each morning. A few of the waiting-staff were really friendly and enjoyed talking with the guests.

Although we had a car, it was an easy walk to the food stalls / coffee-shops and shopping malls like Times Square, First Avenue / Komtar and Prangin Mall. Wondered at first what the colonial-style building next door was, we found out later that it houses the Penang state art gallery.

Room Tip: get a super deluxe (already refurbished) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malaysiantraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was chosen for its location - ie near the hawker food favourites in Penang. But the hotel is being renovated. Given the state of the bathroom - no wonder the bath tub was really battered and full of patched up

Only stayed one night but was really noisy - some karaoke bar nearby I think.

The check in was not most efficient and check out took too long.

Luckily the food in Penang ade up for the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTGULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 2 times this year to attend a business meeting.
Hotel was really great. good location at the heart of George Town. staff were really friendly, room service good, breakfast was really nice lots of variety, room was small but really clean, Big lobby, view amazing, Great view of Penang city .You could enjoy all the local foods and attraction nearby. All in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ackt1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I booked this because the location looked great and was impressed by the website. The location IS good, but the hotel experience isn't. Reception staff are somewhat clueless and within 5 mins of getting to my room the drilling started. The whole place is in the middle of a renovation that will take 13 months and last til march 2013. The noise is unbearable and signs say the works go from 9am-5pm, daily. I asked to change rooms and was told itvwould be the same wherever i was. Really? All fifteen floors? It also means the cafe and club lounge are closed so you can't get lunch, dinner or drinks. Breakfast is 'ok' but again because of the building works it is served in a conference room in the basement, which is hot, windowless and smells damp. I booked for three nights but only stayed for one. Awful

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Robinj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel was a great place to stay to see the sights of Georgetown. Good location, we could walk from there to any attraction in Georgetown. We were very impressed with the excellent service provided by the reception staff and the concierge.

The new rooms are fantastic, spacious, modern, clean and ambience in the room is superb.
I will definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myPetonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have been to hotels in Malaysia ... this is one of the worst hotels I have been too.

The reception was reasonable and okay ...

The rooms are in very poor condition, bathroom in wreck ...
Only 1 bar soap given no liquid shower ...
T.V. is old CRT type ...

For the price I'm paying, I'm sure I'm able to find a better hotel elsewhere in George town.

Room Tip: Just avoid this place, pay abit more to get a better hotel as the cost is already high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DamienYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#23 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.3 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#15 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang

Property: Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Address: 33 New Lane (Off Macalister | (Off Macalister Road), George Town, Penang Island 10400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the vibrant city life and heritage charms of GeorgeTown, Penang, Sunway Hotel Georgetown Is the preferred 4-star hotel for business and leisure travelers to the Pearl of the Orient. It is easily accessible to major commercial and business hubs as well as the numerous tourist attractions and farmed hawkers centres. The iconic Penang Bridge, Ferry Terminal and the Penang Internation Airport are just a short drive from the hotel. Sunway Hotel Georgetown has the honour of being location in a UNESCO World Heritage site as well as within walking distance from the renowned KOMTAR Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing