We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Louis Tan
Singapore, Singapore

It is a great location for a short stay and for food excursion along Gurney street.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 19, 2019
Stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel with excellent service, awesome breakfast spread and a heritage hotel. Large grand entrance and hotel room is very big and comfortable. Of course, it needs some minor updating but the rooms are clean and bright with large window peering to a sea view. Overall experience is great and lovely. Service, well it depends if they are busy because Penang pace is supposed to be slow and easy right?
Date of stay: March 2019
Room Tip: Rooms are larger in the middle section with a great sea view.
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$101
  • Expedia.com
    $99
  • Agoda.com
    $87
  • Priceline
    $102
0.6 miles from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$128
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $126
  • KLOOK
    $90
  • Vio.com
    $123
0.7 miles from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$150
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $94
  • Expedia.com
    $140
1.4 miles from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
$49
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $49
  • Agoda.com
    $43
  • Priceline
    $46
1.2 miles from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$112
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $86
  • Vio.com
    $65
  • Expedia.com
    $89
1.5 miles from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$65
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $48
  • Expedia.com
    $66
  • Hotels.com
    $65
1.3 miles from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$49
  • Priceline
    $49
  • Agoda.com
    $39
  • Expedia.com
    $49
1.1 miles from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room / Club Deluxe Room
$96
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $96
  • Priceline
    $80
  • Hotels.com
    $96
1.5 miles from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $173
  • Hotel Website
    $147
  • Algotels
1.4 miles from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $30
  • Hotels.com
1.4 miles from Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveler rating
205
429
212
42
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
205
429
212
42
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gurney drive sea view gurney area walking distance bit dated mineral water high floor f b spacious room local food shopping mall strategic location gym penang georgetown jacuzzi hawker
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 919 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

First impression says it all. From the check-in process to the final departure, I have nothing but compliments. However, there are a few areas that can be worked on. For instance, smiling. Simple enough right? But carries plenty of impact even if things go sideways. And the best part, it’s free. Therefore, the management should be looking into these simple factors that can take your line of service to a whole new level. Overall, beautiful room, great food, coffee house is a +1 for vegetarians and most importantly the standard of service was as expected from a 5 star hotel. Kudos to the team and will be looking forward to another enjoyable stay at your property :)

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Bernardnmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

The hotel in and of itself does not have many negative factors about it, but that does not mean that it does not have any. One of the negative aspects is that the rooms may not be ready for when you arrive occasionally. However, they do offer you their sincere apologies to you. Another push factor is that the sea view that the hotel once had is no more as the seafront is being reclaimed for the Gurney Wharf Project. Some rooms do look out of date despite the comfy feel of them, people do tend to frown upon the furniture and despise the hotel just because of that factor. The hotel is near the main road, however, causing loud noises to be heard rarely.

Now the positives. The hotel is conveniently a 5-10 minute walk to and fro Paragon and the Gurney Drive nightly food court. It is well maintained and is more hygienic than most hotels for the same price and around the area. The hotel has non-smoking and smoking rooms on different levels for everyone's convenience. It is located in a peaceful environment of Penang, so I would highly recommend this hotel to those looking for a nice quiet getaway. The spas and kids centre gives opportunities for parents to have some free time as well. It is also an advantage that not all tourist choose this hotel, therefore it is not packed with them even during festive times. The staff are well maintained and polite to all visitors that visit here.

I have been to this hotel several times for Chinese New Year with my family and other occasions and it has always been a great pleasure to be staying here every time.

Room tip: if you arrive earlier than your booked time, the room is most likely not to be prepared yet.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank incorrect_tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

I had many visits before to Paris , first time find hotel with all I need in my room , bath room perfect
Area around hotel very nice , many coffe shops , Resturant , there is mall near here
Very quit place and elegant

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 245daliak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

Nice hotel with all the amenities and services I am looking for in a typical 4* at a reasonable discounted price online. They upgraded me to a premier room which I only had to pay a small amount but the room had 2 double beds. So this was the downside. They said checkin was at 2 and I had arrived half hour earlier as the room I booked was not ready. I wish they could have upgraded for free as most hotels do. Room service took 40 minutes and the guy arrived with an unhappy face to deliver my food. I wish they had friendlier staff. Most of them did not smile. Why are they looking so unhappy? From concierge to recep to cafe.. they are in the hospitality industry. Nonetheless I still liked the hotel and I hope to come back and find better service in the future.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank ppylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 23, 2019 via mobile

Reception staff who serve me were friendly. Room is spacious, clean with comfortable beds and nice sea-view. Conveniently located, 5-10 mins walk to Paragon, Gurney Mall shopping n Gurney drive night food court. Hotel have got ample parking lots, overall have an enjoyable stay!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank yuenwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews