We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Seven Terraces(George Town)
$176
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
$145
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Kelawai(George Town)
$127
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
$39
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveler rating
174
384
195
34
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
384
195
34
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgurney drivesea viewtennis courtshealth clublobby loungebak kut tehbusiness hotelwalking distancedecent hotelbit datedpulau tikusmineral waterhawker centrehotel is locatedmini barfood stallsroom was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
675 - 680 of 813 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We spent two nights at Evergreen Laurel and liked our stay. The room was spacious and comfortable. The buffet style breakfast was good with plenty of different foods and dishes to sample and choose from. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodated our request for an early check in. The hotel's location near the waterfront was good and there were plenty of eating/shopping places nearby, but we had to use taxis and public buses to get to most tourist attractions and sites in Penang. Overall, we felt the hotel was good value.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Good and clean hotel. Nice location along the sea but a bit far from the old town (25-30 minutes pleasant walk). Breakfast could be better. Rooms with seaview are nice. TV programmes are limited. Free internet connection in the rooms, a major plus as far as this traveller is concerned (as a matter of principle). This is the 21st century!
Tip: taxis charging high prices and refusing to switch their meters on (when they have one). On one occasion, we booked a hotel limousine and were given a price. The limousine was then declared unavailable and a normal, old taxi was called by the transportation desk. We were requested to pay the same amount as for the limousine.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Honoraryconsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Nice surprise, elegant city hotel at Gurney Drive, close to many foodstalls and shopping centres.
Rooms are beautiful furnished and very clean.
Very nice and helpful staff and great breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bicheno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Someone else wrote in a previous review that considering other hotels in the area is a “no brainer”. I agree wholeheartedly. Don't bother because you won't get better than the Evergreen Laurel

We stayed for 4 nights in late December. We paid extra for a sea view room which I recommend. The view of the ocean is enchanting. With ships coming and going, small fishing boats and lovely mornings and evenings to sit and watch.

The Evergreen Laurel is extremely comfortable in every aspect. The staff are efficient and helpful. The breakfasts are out of this world with an enormous variety of delicous food on offer.

Each evening we thoroughly enjoyed walking along Gurney Drive up to the Gurney Plaza for dinner. There is a 711 just a few doors down from the hotel as well as a useful little gift shop on the premises which sells drinks and some foodstuffs. We had a few lunches next door at a place called the Coffee Bean which was great for that type of meal.

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cacilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

The Evergreen was a lovely place to stay. Within walking distance of the Gurney Drive hawker stalls and a large shopping mall. Very clean hotel. Excellent service, both in the lobby and from the cleaning staff. Air conditioning worked great, rooms are large. Kids enjoyed the pool as well. The gym was well maintained and had a nice selection of exercise machines, as well as TV and a boombox.

The food in the Cafe Laurel was average or a little worse; you can get better food from the hawker stalls or restaurants at the other end of Gurney Drive, or from the food court in the mall.

The decor in the rooms is a little dated but everything is in excellent shape and looked like new.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anonymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews