We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in a Chilled Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Value in a Chilled Location”
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed at the Evergreen Laurel in December 08 and agree with many of the comments made previously with regard to the hotel not being the most modern or swish, but that this becomes almost an irrelevance as it has so many other things going for it.

Firstly the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly, which helped enhance the great atmosphere which pervaded within. The pool area and gymnasium were good places to relax. The facilities, including rooms, were clean and well maintained. I found breakfast more then satisfactory, especially when considering it was included in a daily tariff which was below expectations.

I also found the location of this establishment to my liking, along the gurney promenade which has assets including great seafood restaurants (try Bali Hai), and a relaxing sea breeze.

I would definitely recommend the Evergreen Laurel who wants a nice place to stay, at good value, with a relaxing ambience.

  • Liked — The Ambience
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    362
    186
    33
    23
See reviews for
208
183
63
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Just got back from a trip to Penang where we stayed at the Evergreen Laurel, on Gurney drive just north of Georgetown. Location is great in that it's only a short walk to all the food stalls on Gurney drive and an only RM15 taxi trip into Georgetown.

Rooms are a little dated but certainly clean and comfortable - the sea views are pretty good. Restaurants and room service are OK but, apart from breakfast, you'd likely be eating elsewhere every day.

Facilities and staff are very good - the health spa and gym are top quality. One minor complaint - the pool is shaded for a lot of the day and the poolside bar is rudimentary (beer / soft-drink only).

Would definitely choose this place again for the location and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed at Evergreen for 4 nights. We booked directly and to be honest didn't have any expectations. We had such a pleasnat surprise when we arrived - it is beautifula and such a good value. We loved everything - the rooms, buffet food, location. Cannot fault anything. We would be back anytime!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Cannot fault anything
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MickeySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estonia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Stayed there for holiday with family. At start they did not find our booking in their system. Searched for 30 minutes. No welcome drink, no apology... One second day they had confirmed it, but I had to ask. Nobody informed, that it is OK now.

They are more concerned about fraud avoiding, than service. First credit card was booked 550 RM, no other hotel did that. First and biggest sign was in the room price list of all hotel items. Maybe my items have some value also, should I give price list to hotel reception?

Blanket was too short for me. Asked for extra blanket, to not share one with wife and use it diagonally, but they did not have any available. How can it be possible?

Rooms, breakfast and facilities are adequate and in good order, but hotel attitude to service is times below level that Mandarin Oriental offered to us in KLCC.

So, it is good 3 star hotel, but not more. You can stay there if no other option available.

  • Liked — Rooms in good order
  • Disliked — Pure service and attitude
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaitN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2008

Stayed here in Dec08 with family and had a great experience.
Staff was very very friendly and paid fine attention to our requests all the time. Room was big enough (for three) with ample space for us to walk around. I suggest getting a room with the seaview instead of city view! Bathroom is very clean - not old at all.

Hotel is located along Gurney Drive - a good walking distance to two popular seafood restaurants (Bali Hai & Oriental) and a shopping centre (Gurney Plaza). Taxis are usually around the area but if you have trouble getting one, walk right towards Gurney Hotel and there's a taxi stand there.

Overall, great stay at Evergreen and will def be back again!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

not the newest or most modern of hotels but serves its purposes more than amply...

the service was adequate, the gym was well-maintained, the pool area made for a nice afternoon chilling with papers and magazines, the room was relatively big and pretty clean, the bathroom was in great condition (my baby even commented that the bathtub was in a good enough condition for us to use the bubble bath we brought along - altho' he had actually packed it for the mandarin oriental KL)... all crucial elements in making a hotel stay pleasurable. one little bugbear tho': i found the pillows a bit too soft for my liking!

the hotel location, tho' not the nearest to gurney drive, was not too far from the action [around 15 min from gurney plaza (great shopping!) and the gurney drive food stalls] - and the bak kut teh eatery on its left is a fantastic choice for a convenient meal!

all in all, a great place to stay. kudos to my baby for making a good choice. i definitely wouldn't mind returning the next time i'm in penang.

  • Liked — mostly everything...
  • Disliked — the pillows..?
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank diamantesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

When I found out that Evergreen Laurel was 11 years old and had not undergone any renovations nor refurbishment, I was concerned. But my concerns were unfounded as I discovered why Evergreen Laurel is an evergreen laurel:

1) Room was clean and does not look old. There were nice touches like a little container of sweets on the work desk. Internet connection is free. There were sufficient toiletries and the bath, hand and face towels were not thread-bare but fresh and thick. The cotton robe was soft and comfortable (I dislike struggling with thick towel robes.) The bed was comfortable and the pillows just-nice.

2) The general ambience of the lobby was "dignified" -unlike some hotels where it is crowded and noisy - like a railway station.

3) The best part was the can-do attitude of the staff -from the car park old man to the maintenance staff. I was warmly greeted by the reception staff, Farrah and her Manager, Ian Papineau. Every time I walked past the reception desk, the staff on duty will nod, smile or greet me. The same goes for the bell-hops and room service staff in the corridors. Twice I had to call for service and the staff were prompt in meeting my needs. The maintenance rep who was called in to fix a stuck sink stopper was so positive in his attitude.

4) One minus point - we wanted a massage and visited the spa and the 3 staff at the counter - a lady in a black coat plus 2 men in white/beige suits were rather off-putting and made us feel that we had interrupted their leisure hour! Needless to say, we left without any massage.

  • Liked — The friendly services
  • Disliked — the spa staff attitude
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingAngi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 84 in George Town
1,609 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
0.4 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#46 of 84 in George Town
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
412 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
2.0 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Property: Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Address: Evergreen Laurel Hotel 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing