We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great service and more”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel gave us a free room upgrade, daily papers by our door every morning, and agreed to instant late room check-out without extra charges. It also has easy access to taxis and is within 20 minutes' walking distance to food areas (Guerney Drive, Pulau Tikus).

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank shin03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    366
    186
    33
    23
See reviews for
209
183
64
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here for one night after making a quick return to Georgetown on my holidya in Malaysia. Had friends staying here and the hotel was great. Has a great location close to bars (Mr Pots, a 24 hour bar!) There are also other bars not too far which includes Slippery Senoritas which was great and Soho bar..Also a taxi ride or bus to the beach which is lovely and has showers and toilets for a small fee!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cole271189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The room had a great view ,clean, spacious and well maintained. The hotel staffs friendly and helpful. There is complimentary Wifi and parking. Overall I enjoyed my stay and certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xuxa20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed at the Evergreen Laurel for two nights with the wife and thought it was extremely good for the price we paid.

It has a grand lobby, and the rooms are spacious and although slightly dated very very clean.

Amenities are also excellent with a good gym and swimming pool. Breakfast was also worth paying the little extra for, with a lot of choice and surprisingly good.

Location was also perfect for us... only a short walk and you're amongst many restaurants and two big shopping malls. It's also fairly close to all the tourist attractions which we took a taxi to.

So what is my complaint?... I lied, I have two small complaints; 1. The rooms have possibly the slowest wifi connection I have ever experienced (dial up would have been faster!) 2. Very bad reception on the TV.

However we hardly spent much time in the room let alone have enough to watch TV or use the internet, but for these reasons the hotel gets 4 and not a 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Porkychop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at ELH for 4 nights and 5 days and the stay was very pleasant and comfortable, the rooms are quiet spacious and clean. ELH is on the gurney drive which is a favorite hang out spot for both locals and foreigners in penang and its also near shopping malls and score of restaurants that line the gurney drive so eating out was never a problem for us. The breakfast was poor but the restaurants nearby served delicious breakfast so it was not a big deal. Though by the end of 3 rd day our toilet flush had some issues and the hotel was running out of bath towels and we have to wait for an hour to get our towels. Overall we were happy with the stay here except a few minor glitches here and there. will definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Czanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Evergreen Laurel Hotel in Georgetown, Penang from 5 to 7 Jan 2014 . On the whole the hotel was clean and comfortable. We were upgraded to a better room for a discounted rate and it was spacious. However, we expected the hotel to be closer to shopping malls along Gurney Drive but the nearest one, Gurney Paragon, is 15 minutes away and if the weather is not cooperative, you can break a sweat or get drenched.

Basic amenities at the hotel were available and staff were helpful.

However, the furnishings and fabrics were pretty outdated and the whole appearance was a throw back to the fifties. Even the music was dated and it certainly felt like time stood still in this hotel on Gurney Drive. For those who have a nostalgic

The view from our hotel was picturesque beach side sea view. That was a lovely sight to wake up to.

Breakfast at the cafe could have some different variety each day. However, we appreciated the staff's attentiveness in clearing our used plates, etc.

On the whole the hotel is good value for money but a five star hotel could improve its image by updating their furnishings.

Special mention must be made of our cab driver, Mr Gan, who is well spoken and well versed with Penang, locations and history. We enjoyed all our trips in his cab.

Thanks to all the front desk staff and concierge for their helpfulness.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is the 3rd time we are staying in the Hotel, the only complaints are the water takes a long time to heat, the lights in the room are not bright enough and the TV has limited channels.
It has not changed much and may need a spruce though I would say they still maintain the place well & is pretty clean.
The price was reasonable and good value for money besides a great location. Our seaside view from the window of 16th was amazing...

Room Tip: High Floor, Sea Facing & King Size bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffmachoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 84 in George Town
1,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences Penang
2.0 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.4 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#45 of 84 in George Town
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Property: Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Address: Evergreen Laurel Hotel 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing