We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, service lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed in November 2013. This hotel, cloaked in striking white, is located near the city end of Gurney Drive and faces the sea.

Checking-in was slow even though we had booked and prepaid online and happened to be the only ones at the counter at that time - staff inefficiency.

Room was spacious and very clean, beds and pillows very nice and comfortable but water pressure in the bathroom was quite weak. Fixtures, fittings & amenities in the room were well-maintained except for a few glitches. First was the safe, which was locked when we arrived and despite informing them a couple of times, where each time they promised to send someone up immediately, but no one ever came to unlock it. Since the safe was not unlocked we had to lug along the laptop and other valuables whenever we went out. What a hassle! Then it was the newspapers which was not delivered in the morning although reception had arranged for it and noted down during check-in. Coordination problem or short-handedness, I don’t know.

Wi-fi reception was good anywhere within the hotel premises, even in the room but the Lan cable broadband in the room could not connect. Their IT personnel came to help but nothing changed. Fortunately there was the alternative wi-fi access.

The swimming pool is located on the second floor but was only a half olympic-sized pool with a uniform depth of 4 feet throughout. There is a kiddies’ pool at the side too. You can also do your workouts at the gym which is next to the men’s changing room.

Breakfast buffet was marvellous with a wide selection of local and western fare.

Overall, I would say that the hotel building and facilities are excellent but the all- round staff inefficiency are sadly very glaring. In my humble opinion, retraining and refresher courses should top the hotel management’s priorities in order to inject some fresh breath into the service standards and maintain prestige of the fine hotel.

Four star to five star rating anytime. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 788 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

Glad that we were allowed to check in early. That comes handy since we traveled with little kids. We requested for a higher floor, and we got that too. We booked a sea view room, needless to say, the view was nice. Most floors were no smoking and that was a good thing.
The baby cot that was complimentary was useful and my toddler actually slept well and overall the room comfort and other amenities in the room were good. The bathroom was spacious and clean.
It has a nice indoor kids club and suitable for toddlers. While it has a decent swim pool for adults, the kids pool is very small.
Satisfactory buffets breakfast.

Room Tip: Seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Tried calling to book a room. Receptionist was rude and I was transferred 5 times without any success of talking to a person.
Called multiple times after and had the same treatment.
Worse than a 3 star hotel service

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
3  Thank jacklynlyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

With all the Hype that this hotel has been given i must say i was pretty disappointed and that i will never stay here again. I asked for a non Smoking room on my booking that i made online but on arrival to my room it smelt like an ash tray. The second room was the same. Finally by the thrid and final complaint i got a non smoking room. The room was nothing to rave about. the bathroom sink had mold and the bathtub was dirty plus a few odd hairs. The mini bar wasnt a mini bar unless 1 can of coke is classed as a heavy beverage.On departure we had to sign for our deposit and if it didnt match up we were made to re do it, overall admin side of things at the front counter were at a poor standard.

Room Tip: Choose the view for your moneys worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chantel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here in Aug 2013 and during an earlier visit in 2008; on each occasion I have found the Evergreen to be a very relaxing and restful place to stay. While Georgetown, Penang and Adelaide SA are sister cities, the weather difference during Aug is quite noticable, from winter to warm and humid - so the air-con was really appreciated! The hotel rooms were clean, well maintained and my room on the eighth floor provided some magnificent views of Georgetown. As others have advised, I found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. Almost immediately outside the hotel front door on Gurney Drive are some wonderful local eateries, perhaps most notable among them is the Song River Cafe. Further along Gurney Drive, travellers will find Gurney Plaza which offers a great experience if you are looking for western style shopping. Just a short taxi ride away are the Georgetown markets and ferry to Penang. Overall, the Evergreen is a very good hotel which offers a great place to rest after a day of fun in Georgetown, Penang. ADF personnel may be interested to know that discount rate may also be available.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnOG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We returned to Penang after 30 years away, most of the current hotels were not built when we left so we chose The Evergreen Laurel on the reviews, we chose well. Gurney Drive used to be a good eating spot and still offers a wide range of meal choices nearby. The door and reception staff were both friendly and helpful, fun but proper. Our room had a city veiw but was the same layout as all the other rooms we looked in,next time we will go for a sea view. As I am a smoker the reception staff arranged for us to have the windows open when we wanted to feel the warm air and hear the local sounds. They have a few floors for smokers and a lot for non smokers. Breakfast was a wide variety of Chinese, Malay, Indian and European meals. Each morning the Chef would prepare a special dish of the day as well as eggs cooked to your own requirements. There were cereals, toast, sweet pastries, fruits, juices, rice, curries, noodles and meat choices laid out for our selection. We were very happy with the the hotel and will choose it next time.

Room Tip: With smoking and non smoking floors, reception can help with the aspect of your choice being Penang...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The two things that make this hotel a very pleasant place to stay - and makes me rate it 'Very Good' instead of 'Average' - is the friendly staff and great pillows!

A large business hotel catering for conferences and large groups, as well as business travellers. The facilities are exactly what one would expect of an international hotel, it is clean and well-run, and rooms are spacious.

Best features: firm but comfortable beds with great feather pillows and fine cotton sheets; friendly and helpful staff, always willing to help.

Downsides: decor is a bit worn, and the piped music in the lobby and lifts is horrendous!

All in all, a great location, and perfect for a business trip.

Room Tip: While the hotel charges a premium for the sea-view rooms, the rooms on the other side have an equall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.3 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 88 in George Town
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#42 of 88 in George Town
521 reviews
0.6 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 88 in George Town
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Address: 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
#11 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $62 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing