We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Surprisingly pleasant!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprisingly pleasant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Attended a conference in Penang and stayed for 3 nights at Evergreen Laurel Hotel at Gurney drive. I was given a room with splendid ocean view on the 9th floor, and the room was clean and tidy. Reception staff were helpful and patience with my request when I had problems accessing the WiFi. Breakfast selection were surprisingly good with local and international choices. The hotel even has the courtesy to ask me for my preference of daily newspaper! The room has both LAN and WiFi access which come free with fairly good speed. There are plenty of restaurants and pubs along the Gurney drive after walking out of the hotel, and most of them operate until quite late at night. In short, this hotel does provide good service and it was well worth the money.

Room Tip: Always ask for the higher non-smoking floors with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YinYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    330
    169
    31
    20
See reviews for
188
167
56
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for a night when I had to attend to family matters near Gurney Drive. In terms of location the hotel was fantastic for me as the place was just a 5 minutes walk away from where I needed to be. I had a sea facing room which was very pleasant to look at at anytime of the day and that was very calming and probably the best thing about the room. I took a deluxe twin bed room which I bought at half price via Agoda. It came with free wifi and breakfast for two.

Besides the lovely view, I was not particularly impressed with the room though. I thought the room wasn't very big but my main grouse is the fact that the room was run down. Wallpaper was peeling of the edges of the wall and around plug points/sockets, the bulbs on the lamp shades could fit properly and kept going off and had to be constantly adjusted to work, the ironing board stand was broken, the shower did not have good water pressure, the tiny kettle they provided was brown with stains on the inside and the marble table around the sink was also stained. Additionally, they charged MYR8 just to have the complementary instant drinks replenished. Most hotels I've been too wouldn't charge to replenish those complementary instant drink packs. There was a large flat screen TV but the channel options left much to be desired as most of the channels were local channels with only 2 English cable channels and none particularly dedicated to children. The pool was also closed for renovations.

The room was however very quiet (even with the Chinese New Year firecrackers blasting away at midnight) and with the gorgeous view of the sea was very pleasant to be in particularly at sunrise. The bed and pillows were comfortable and sleep quality was great. The room was clean and house-keeping was good. I was located at the 10th floor and had no problems using their wifi throughout the hotel. The service provided was good and staff were efficient and friendly. Food variety at the Laurel Cafe where we had our buffet breakfast was decent although the taste could be improved. There were 2 coffee machines where we could get cappuccino and mocha over and above the freshly brewed coffee and tea. Staff at the cafe were friendly, efficient and helpful as well.

In terms of amenities, theres Coffee Bean, Starbucks, Subway and local food stalls within a 5 minutes walk. Airport taxis are easy to get here and are priced according to the airport's rate. There are also the famous Wat Chaiya Mangkalaram and Dhammikarama Buddhist temples within walking distance and likewise the famous Gurney Drive food stalls too. The place is very convenient to get to Batu Ferringhi and the night markets there. There are also malls very nearby if you prefer shopping there. It's also about a 20 mins drive to the Kek Lok Si temple where you get to do bargain shopping.

Overall, the hotel is decent and worth staying if you are paying half price for it!

Room Tip: Definitely ocean/sea view and high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viraz122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights at a very good price thanks to booking.com . The room was large clean and was serviced each day . The staff are friendly and the inside carpark easy to use . The hotel is just across the road from the sea and promenade , we did not eat at the hotel preferring to use hawker stalls down the road .
We used the pool each day and noticed there was a good gym if you wished .
Recommend to everyone if you can get a good deal , although like us the room would most likely face the city rather than the sea

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichnSueT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Whenever we travel to Penang we always stay at Evergreen Laurel. The staff are so friendly, rooms are clean and fresh and a great breakfast. Location is good, only 15 minute walk to Gurney Plaza. Lots of yummy restaurants close by. We will be going back in March 2013.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Got a voucher for free stay from staff party so I'm not sure how much it would cost on my own account.
The reservation was made very quickly via e-mail.
All staff were very polite, food was nice and the most important thing is room was clean and quiet and they deliver newspaper every morning.
Location of the hotel is suitable for people who prefer quiet place to relax as this hotel is located right at the beach and a bit far from the city center, however; very convenient to find food shop and place for shopping.
The nearest bus stop going into the city center is a bit far from the hotel but, of course, I don't mind walking and it's fun to have a look around along the way to the bus stop.
There is an outdoor local food center at the entrance of the street leading to hotel and there are some shopping places along the way too.
Overall experience for this hotel is very good. :)

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1016 with city view . I could see the city very clear and I could see the sun rise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wenyuan X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in the ELH, as a change from the G Hotel as we got a special deal from my close friends. It was a god send after the disaster at Leisure Cove!

Hotel situated on Gurney Drive which is about 15 minutes from Gurney Plaza. The rooms were clean, spacious and well maintaned. The room rates came with a sea view and breakfast - with a decent selection of food & beverage.

Staff were friendly & helpful, and hotel prides itself on going "green". Hotel is owned by Taiwanese people and its clientelle are quite cosmopolitian, from my observation. We left as Mr. Psy of Gangnam was going to stay there for his short performance in Penang!

Room Tip: try to get a sea view room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe8168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The room was old and furnishings were rundown. The dining choices at the hotel fell below expectations. The staff was not service-oriented at all, except for the transportation desk.
The biggest downside is that there is no wireless internet access in the room - so only your plugged laptop can be used and not your other mobile devices.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#35 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#11 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
2.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#14 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Property: Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Address: Evergreen Laurel Hotel 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing