We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in George Town
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Evergreen Laurel Hotel is a lovely hotel right at the heart of the city.
I stayed 3 nights in this hotel from 03 december 2012, for business purpose.
Superior Room is clean and bed is comfortable. too much time taking for check in.
The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
No wifi in room. Wifi available in hotel lobby area.Poor wifi connection.
it is best value hotel in Gruney drive area.Location is very convenient if travelling to down town.
Welcome drink voucher, Good housekeeping, 2 free water bottle every day, tea making facility in the room, empty Fridge. iron & iron board in the room.
Breakfast buffet offers a lot of choices, in cafe laurel , lot of variety, thai, japnese, very good,
There are plenty of food choice around the hotel.
There is a lot of hawker food around the hotel.
Will stay again when visit Penang again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahtesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    322
    165
    30
    20
See reviews for
184
165
55
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights in November whilst on business. Location was good, food prices were very reasonable. Rooms were dated and had no Wi-Fi access. This is only available on two floors at present and all rooms on those floors were fully booked! Not much fun trying to answer business emails sitting in a lobby full of tourists, and totally unable to communicate with family via Skype for the same reason.
Check in staff were pretty cool and efficient but not friendly at all. Concierge service was good and the staff on this desk were much friendlier, accompanying you out ot the car every morning. Door staff and restaurant staff all cheerful and friendly.
This is definitely a tourist hotel and not really geared for business guests, All together a hotel that is really resting on it's "laurels" as no doubt it has been a great and imposing hotel in it's time

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor with Wi fi access. Email the hotel and ask for WI-fi specifically. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spudfer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Rooms and hotel overall looks 'evergreen'- OLD world charm, seems like a hotel still living in the 80s, but nevertheless room was sparkling clean, and sheets clean as well.
The pillows were comfy feather ones, and even feather duvet, surprisingly.
However, I would not rate this a 5 star hotel (could give it a low 4)

Room Tip: Sea view rooms costs slightly more but is exactly the same size, sans the view- direct view of the S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamlye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Booked 10pax buffet dinner for my husband's birthday (4 vouchers + 6 paying). Slipped my mind to inform them it's a birthday party. When we arrived, I asked if they have anything for brithdays, the answer was 'Sorry. You have to call in earlier.' This alone points out that the company does not encourage walk-in celebrators. So disappointing.
The next major disappointment was the food. I had such high expectations when I did the booking... unfortunately my expectations fell flat to the ground. It was 'East meets West' theme. Seafood was the main theme. BUT it was ALL OVERCOOKED! The beef was tough, the mussels were falling off the shells as were the clams, the salads were in such huge pieces that it was difficult to eat neatly and worse of all the ice cream was not kept at optimum temperature. My table was less then 10 paces away from the ice cream freezer. Yet my ice cream started melting even before i sat down to eat!
For a five star hotel the cafe isn't even worth 1 star. The hawkers at the road side would have served a better fare with better quality food at a lower price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei Huei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Overall hotel outlook - old from the outside but rooms are decent and clean

Service - one word. Terrible. We stayed a night at this hotel for the penang marathon. Upon check in we asked the staff on directions to lorong bangkok which was presumably right behind the hotel and the lady who checked us in was not able to tell us where it was but simply told us to check on the map!! We then asked on possible logistics/ transportation to get to the run site, but again, she was not able to help!! We were referred to another lady at the 'Daily Activities' table who was also unable to provide us with helpful information. It was finally that the concierge helped us out. The penang bridge marathin is presumably one of the largest running events in penang and i'm very surprised that the hotel was pretty clueless / ill-informed.

We were originally a party of 3. However only 2 of us made it and hence, the extra bed was not required. We did not inform the hotel , neither did they confirm the etra bed upon arrival. Imagine to our horror and shock, at 11pm, housekeeping entered our room with a bed when we were sound asleep. And no they did not knock or ring the bell prior to that!! We sent her away to be rudely awokened by a call 2 minutes later from front desk confirming this. Neither apologized for rudely entering our room without prior knocking/ ringing the bell until we lodged an official complaint this morning.

I hope something can be done to improve the overall service of this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank siaoyue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stay 3 nights at this hotel. No major complaint. The room are clean with a 32" LCD and it has internet access in the room, however it is quite slow. And there's only wifi in certain area like the lobby and cafe. If you need wifi in the room, an additional $5 is charge which I think is not worth it as it is too slow and signal is weak. The breakfast can be improved further as the taste is like a left over food from yesterday. There is a lot of hawker food around the hotel but the Gurney plaza is still quite a walking distance away. It takes about 20 min walking to reach there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed 2 nights at this hotel in mid October for a business event that wad held in the hotel. Room is clean and bed is comfortable. It is a little slow for check in. There is no wifi in room. it is still the best value hotel in Gruney drive area by considering the good room rate. Will stay again when visit Penang again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#14 of 78 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#35 of 78 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#11 of 78 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
2.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#13 of 78 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Property: Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Address: Evergreen Laurel Hotel 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing