We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stay 3 nights at this hotel. No major complaint. The room are clean with a 32" LCD and it has internet access in the room, however it is quite slow. And there's only wifi in certain area like the lobby and cafe. If you need wifi in the room, an additional $5 is charge which I think is not worth it as it is too slow and signal is weak. The breakfast can be improved further as the taste is like a left over food from yesterday. There is a lot of hawker food around the hotel but the Gurney plaza is still quite a walking distance away. It takes about 20 min walking to reach there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    330
    169
    31
    20
See reviews for
188
167
56
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed 2 nights at this hotel in mid October for a business event that wad held in the hotel. Room is clean and bed is comfortable. It is a little slow for check in. There is no wifi in room. it is still the best value hotel in Gruney drive area by considering the good room rate. Will stay again when visit Penang again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall experience at Evergreen Laurel Hotel:
Room - Adequate size, clean and spacious bathroom.
Internet in the room was slow.
Check in and check out were smooth and fast.
Location - Good, along Gurney Drive and within walking distance to Gurney Plaza. Approximately 15-20 minutes to Komtar.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lai1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there in late October/early November for 11 days and was very satisified with the choice. The rooms are spacious. The furniture and fittings are in very good condition and the view from our room over the water was always interesting. The fridges are average re cooling power but they do provide ice cubes on various floors. I should add that finding the ice is a bit of a daily treasure hunt. Ice is not provided on all levels on all days. The best bet is to go to the top floor which seems to have the more reliable supply.

The rooms are clean and serviced on a daily basis by very pleasant and helpful staff. English is not universally understood and misunderstandings can be expected. For example, on one night we requested two glasses from 'housekeeping'. Promptly, there was a knock on the door and two staff presented us with two boxes of tissues, four bottles of water and two toilet rolls. But no glasses. Amusing. BTW if you have problems, Rachael Ines on the front desk is the person to see. She solves problems!

The hotel is on Gurney Drive and is within walking distance of the CBD and the ferry terminals. If walking is not your go, then the 103 bus stops in the road behind the hotel and fares are ridiculously cheap.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet because the windos and double glazed and cannot be opened. Rooms at the front g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stay in this hotel 3 years ago, on business trip. Tried here this time round for this business trip. Finds that hotel room is a bit run down and not as well clean and maintain as last time.
Location is very good though, but not so much value for the price paid and I don't feel the 5 star rating. Breakfast is decent but nothing to shout about. Besides location, view from room (16 floor) is good. May not consider this hotel next business trip or even for holidays, unless the price is really attractive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChewGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is my first choice when I need to stay on Gurney Drive for work at Gurney Plaza. It's just a 5-10min. walk to Gurney Plaza and the located right beside the shore.

The Pros:
1. Reasonably priced considering what you get. The rooms are standard, beds are comfortable, and it's clean.
2. If you're driving, there's a block right beside the entrance where parking is available and free for guests.
3. Check-in was fast and the staff converse well in English.
4. Again, the location allows you to explore Gurney Drive from the start to the end. Food is not a problem when you're in Penang!

The In betweens:
1. Given that the Evergreen has been around for quite a while, signs of aging is evident. A small facelift or upgrade would do the hotel even greater. I'm sure they have the budget for it.
2. At one glance, you know the reception staff are seasoned veterans - they know what they're doing and know how to do it fast. However I don't receive an atmosphere of hospitality as one would expect from someone who's been at the job long- what more at a hotel. People skills could be improved in my opinion.
3. The hotel is pretty dim, but the rooms are not.
4. There's supposed WIFI, but I did not use it.

The Bad:
1. Once I booked my room online through the hotel's website with my Amex, the next day after checkout, my card was used to purchase an airline ticket from Etihad and a software from a European website. Luckily my bank immediately called upon transaction and I had it disputed on the spot. I suspect the website had phished my card details or either that a staff had access to my details. I would advise travelers to reserve via phone.
2. Rooms are not always available especially on short notice. Book in advance.
3. Give the gym an upgrade! Only Arnold's generation would consider the gym well equipped!

On the overall, the hotel is business and family friendly. Even with my grouses I would still stay at the Evergreen whenever I need to by in Gurney Drive as the hotel meets standards and expectations for the price paid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teh_Ais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely clean, bright welcoming hotel in a truly superb location.
Reminiscent of Shangri-la hotels without the service. Now don't get wrong dear reader, The service was good, but the reception desk team could do with the same training that they give to Shangri-la staff. We want a bit more friendliness, rather than the matter of fact get it done efficiency that this company provides on its airlines.
The rooms were great, Clean, fresh comfortable bright with a great bathroom that even had big fluffy towels.
There was a basket of fresh fruit which was replenished every day and 2 complimentary bottles of fresh water.
Breakfast (not included) for which i paid extra was a sumptuous feast which had I gone to earlier, I could have eaten more on the first day. A great buffet breakfast catering for all nationalities with so much choice, indeed worth the price I paid.
The location gives a great view out across the bay and the location is wonderful for getting to shops and hawker food stalls. It is only a 10 minute walk to Gurney Plaza and shopping heaven for all the ladies out there.
The hotel has a happy hour that lasts nearly all night, and the gin and tonic is excellent!

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view, worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JustJack112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#35 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 1,428 reviews
0.6 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#11 of 77 in George Town
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
2.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#14 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Property: Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Address: Evergreen Laurel Hotel 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
#9 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing