We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for how we used it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Oxford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good for how we used it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel as we were on a quick visit from KL. The hotel itself was clean as was the bedroom. We ordered an extra bed for our son and that fitted in the room OK. The beds were a little hard for our liking but I still got a good nights sleep. Our room looked out over the town which was not a problem for us as we weren't there to admire the view. The hotel had a couple of tennis courts which my son used, we didn't have time for a dip in the pool. Room service was quick and efficient, we used it twice to get extra towels and extra shampoo. The hotel has a bar and after our night tasting the local delights we had a night cap, there was a band playing with a couple of young ladies bellowing out the classics hits.
Breakfast was a let down for me, they had lots of Asian food on offer, noodles etc. but I would of preferred an English selection (bacon, sausages etc.) I settled for eggs on toast.
All in all I think this was a good hotel and an good price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    356
    181
    33
    21
See reviews for
204
179
62
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed three nights and while there weren't any major problems, we found the room rather small. We had to walk sideways to get around the bed and other furniture in the room. The bathroom was also quite small and had few towel bars for hanging used towels. The shower stall could be cleaner as there was mould in several parts that needed caulking. It also didn't drain very well. We paid more for a seaview room but the view was only from one side of the room; looking from the other side, we had a magnificent view of the hotel wall. We had stayed here two years ago, and it seemed that things were in better shape then. Given the price we paid, I think there are other better options in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Worthy hotel based on what we paid, the service was a little bit slow but it was ok, the only thing we didn't like was the location as it was crowded most of the time and personally I prefer a beach side hotel ( batu ferringhi) area in penang, but if you prefer a city side hotel stay in this hotel because it's a city center hotel in Georgetown.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baqery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

been there a few months back with my family. total 3 adults and 1 infant .
hotel location is ideal for a good shopping trip for you and yoour family as it is located a short taxi ride away from hotel. cost is RM$10. right next to the shopping center is a open air food center which have great food from evening onwards till late. after dinner u can walk by the beach (not on the sand ) then slowly walk back to your hotel which takes about 20 mins.
many couple and family sits by the beach n enjoy the breeze .. there are many resturants along the way towards back to the hotel.
room are bacially ok for stay , no complains at all.
breakfast can be improve as there is not enough staff working, so plates are left behind . but you can see the staff working hard. at least they try.
remember to use their swimming pool becuase the toilet on the pool floor include a jaccuzi which mens and ladies are seperated. really love the jaccuzi on the pool floor.
staff are very helpful which makes the stay delightful although rooms are getting old .
overall , a good hotel which will bring me back again

Room Tip: every taxi trip cost a fixed amount, ask before you get in. hotel turn left is the hopping center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

good location, good view, good breakfast, free parking, overall a good hotel The suite is OK, but the standard room is so small not suitable for family.

Room Tip: standard room is bit small, if for family, suite shall be better and the price is acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andelulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

My colleague & I only stayed for a night, we were there for business. There was no free wireless connection in the room, however, they offered free lan connection so we thought it was ok. My colleague could not get connected at first so she phoned the front desk & was told about the instructions on how to get connected onto the internet. I suppose they kind of expected customers to have this problem as the instructions were in the back of their hotel file on the writing desk. Finally when she got connected, it was so slow she could not download her documents for work. It could be that the documents contained lots of graphics.
On a whole, we had a clean room & toilet so that was good. It's about a 15 - 20 minutes walk to the Gurney hawker center. There are some seafood places and even an ice cream & crepe place. I enjoyed the evening walk. The Gurney Plaza also had many nice restaurants in there. And of a supermarket to get my usual supply water and fruit for snacks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazelmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The location of the hotel is good as it's quite a walking distance to few plaza and hawker stalls. The room looks clean and the view also not so bad as we got so called the "city view". But we got a bit disappointed with one of your the staff during our breakfast day as they way he approached me. Looks like a chinese chef (at the Eggs Conner/Station). When he saw me walking to his conner the way he asked "What!!.. what do you want ah!!!"?.. It's sounds not friendly, not polite at all and the way he act on his face as if i am one of his working staffs. We have been to few five star hotels before and i believed this is not the right way to treat your customers as we are still paying for all your services and nothing is free. So kindly 'treat your customers as how you like to be treated'. Hope the management can send this guy go for a short courses on how to behave/talks to customers (Not only act to be friendly with the foreigner hope to have the same practise with local customers as wel. TQ

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Northam All Suite Penang
The Northam All Suite Penang
#38 of 82 in George Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gurney Resort Hotel & Residences
2.0 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Property: Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Address: Evergreen Laurel Hotel 53 Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in George Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Georgetown
Hotel Evergreen Laurel
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing