We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could give it 10 stars...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish I could give it 10 stars...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world, and this is my new favourite. The service was exquisite and the hotel itself was stunning. My room overlooked the sea and had a large living room, gorgeous bedroom and huge, breathtaking bathroom. I usually find something to complain about wherever I stay, but every detail from the toiletries to the bath robes, to having local Batik sarongs provided was wonderful. You even have a 'butler bell' in your room, which when pressed elicits a phone call from a butler, who will try and help you in anything you need. I only needed a jug of skimmed milk, but it was there within 5 mins, cold and not charged for! The whole hotel was old fashioned, service orientated, super clean and so charming. I thought that the food in the restaurant both for supper and for breakfast was very well done and really delicious, with a huge range of options to chose from. Highlights of the stay were the cold scented towels and fruit juice on arrival and drinking G&Ts by the pool on the very comfy sun loungers!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinginItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,149
    779
    241
    92
    44
See reviews for
685
1,655
163
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

Usually for me a hotel is just a place to sleep while traveling, but E&O may well be the highlight of my Malaysian holiday. I made my reservation by email, and the reservation staff was incredibly prompt and cordial in their response.

Due to a late flight we checked in at 2am. The check-in staff was ready to greet us by name and offer a cocktail and wet towel at the lobby. The top-floor sea-facing suite was elegantly furnished and spacious. The bathroom is the size of some small hotel rooms. The only regret is that personally I found the bed a bit too hard and the pillows too soft; housekeeping was able to add a thin mattress on top of the existing one when requested.

In fact the staff never seem to refuse any request. Everyone is courteous and friendly, making our stay very smooth and enjoyable. Internet access at the business centre is free.

The seaside pool is very beautiful and the perfect place to relax. Breakfast in the garden at Sarkies' Corner, or a poolside drink from the bar are also great ways to pass the time.

In terms of location, the hotel is only a few steps away from the restaurants and bars of Jalan Penang (restaurant Opera and reflexology centre Liangxin are recommended), and local Chinese and Indian eateries are also within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

The E&O Hotel is situated in a great location. It's walking distance from a lot of historic, cultural and tourist sites. The staff are very polite and friendly. Check in is relaxing as you are given a cold towel to wipe your hands and face & you receive a complimentary fruit juice. We checked in and out 3 times as we used the E&O as our home base hotel while traveling around the country. The price per room was a bargain for this hotel. The 3 rooms we stayed in were all very clean, well furnished, spacious and had beautiful ocean and swimming pool views. The beds were a bit on the hard side though. The rooms had a sitting area with sofa, coffee table, desk and chair; there is complimentary teas/coffee (the BOH tea is great); a tv and French doors that open up to a moderate sized balcony with chairs and small table. The large bathrooms included a tub as well as a separate glassed shower and two sinks on opposite ends of the bathroom.
The hotel has a fine dining restaurant (we didn't dine there), a casual restaurant named Sarki's Grill, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a pub called Farquar's. Sarki's serves a buffet breakfast with a mix of Malaysian, Asian and Western food. There were items like miso soup, roti, prawn curry, fruits, cereals, etc. The meals we had there were good. Once a week there is a fancier buffet dinner at Sarki's with live entertainment. There is a small gift shop, a business centre and an outdoor swimming pool that is really nice. The grounds are immaculate and the view of the ocean is stunning and vast. There is a rental car company located just down the street and the hotel has parking. It seemed quiet while we were there even though the restaurant had many patrons. Maybe it just has that laid back quiet atmosphere. It's a lovely, historic hotel and worth staying at.
PS. Take a rickshaw ride around the neighborhood - the guided tours are pretty interesting and fun.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

Stayed at this magnificent hotel for 3 nights in April after leaving Langkawi and found the service to be great in some areas and lacking in others which was the same as the food. The hotel is magnificent with a great pool and views over the straits of Malacca. We had a deluxe suite which was big and very clean with a huge bathroom and big sitting area. When you check in you are offered a cool drink and cold towel which is great especially given the heat and humidity at the time.
The service given by the staff in Farqhars bar was excellent especially David and his supervisor Kelvin. I originally ordered something on the menu and was told that it was not available (shades of the Westin) but they went out of their way to go to another restaurant in the hotel and arranged for a curry for me. Great Service.
The same can't be said however for the "Straites Restaurant" which provides breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. The meals were mostly cold and service abrupt and impersonal. We went for what was advertised as dinner and dancing only to be confronted with a noisy overflowing restaurant and cold food and it appeared the staff could not handle the full house. There was no dancing and the music turned out to be a 3 piece band with a bongo drum and a guitar. My wife and I stayed for 20 minutes and left for the quiet of Farqhars and where we should have eaten in th first place.
The location is fantastic to walk to all the attractions of Penang and the night markets are only a 30 minute taxi ride at Batu Ferranghi which are an experience not to be missed.
Overall a great hotel that needs to get its act together in some areas.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaHCSIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahrain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

E&O has a beautiful architectural building whoch stands out in the area. the rooms are very big in size and so are the washrooms. the beds are quite comfortable and gives you a feeling of being in a spacious house rather than a hotel room. the room we were putting up did not face any sea view. the hotel is very close to the famous street market of penang which boasts of lit up streets in the nights, variety of shopping items and eating options.

room service is satisfactory. the breakfast spread is quite good and it feels good to sit out in the sun under shades overlooking the sea and have breakfast.overall the hotel is good especially if you are looking for a centrally located hotel in the heart of the city. its a wrong choice for people looking for some scenic beauty or peaceful ambience.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — very noisy location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shamBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

Great Hotel with huge magnificent rooms and personal service.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hatchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

An old colonial hotel recently refurbished in immaculate condition. Room (all are suites) was beautifully appointed with ocean views. One of the very few hotels we have been to where the stunning website photos actually match reality. Also has one of the best European restaurants (1885) in Asia we have been to (and we like our fine dining). Great service and concierge. Amazing pool setting - we cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
7.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Property: Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Fastbooking so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing