We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the E&O in March for our 25th wedding anniversary for 8 nights.
I will start with the Pros;
We had a corner suite in the Victory annex, it was huge, a view to die for.
Pool was gorgeous, superb breakfast (service on the weekends was difficult for the staff), concierge
was outstanding, very friendly staff, 1885 restaurant superb, Sarkies was very good as was Farquhar's bar and a great little gift shop. Special acknowledgement for, Dean, Izzy and Norman who were outstanding for their professionalism and genuine friendliness. Without them, our stay may not have been as pleasant.
Now for the cons;
Our room each day was not cleaned throughly and twice we had to ask for it to be cleaned.
The balcony had not been cleaned at all, even before we arrived as there were stains on the floor and footprints on the chairs.
We had access to the club on the 6th floor and we were very disappointed. We have been to numerous clubs and there is always a dress code and children not allowed under a certain age.
People were dress in shorts and thongs and very young children were running all over the place.
Very limited drinks to choose from and you had to help yourselves. It was obvious that some guests made dinner for themselves and their kids from the canapés. You could see that staff were looking at each other in dismay, rather embarrassing!
There is a great little hotel history museum behind the concierge in the new wing with a wonderful lady who is very knowledgeable and so happy to see you. There needs to be a bigger sign or a special mention to let guests know that it is there, otherwise you will miss it.
The pool needs to be cleaned better as often there was green fungus etc on the floor and sides of the pool.
Over all, it is a lovely hotel and if we were to visit again, we will stay in a suite in the old wing, have a drink in Farquhar's bar and not pay the extra for club privileges in the new wing.

Room Tip: If you can afford a corner suite in victory annex, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jobandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,123 - 2,129 of 3,726 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I loved my room at the E&O. Really lovely buildings. Recently renovated with classic fittings and touches. I found the service a little ordinary though. Nothing you can really complain about, but nothing to write home over either. The food was decent, but the buffets tended to run down really quickly and take a little while to refill. Location is OK, but you'll need transport to pretty much everything except the Blue Mansion.

Still, worth a visit if you have the time, even if u don't stay overnight.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzGobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Everything was superb ! Our reception,suite of rooms, cleanliness, spaciousness, decor, attention to detail,free fruit in the afternoon,free newspaper in the morning, great ground floor pool and pampering by pool attendants, surrounded by breathtaking views of the bay.
The breakfasts were simply stunning (we ate out every evening ), and our son told us that a famous British chef, Rick Stein, described the E and O's breakfasts as the best in Asia !
Definitely 100% satisfaction guaranteed, and great value for money !

Room Tip: We stayed in 011,with French doors leading on to a small terrace, then immaculate lawns, then the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Life is built up of treasured experiences here on this delightful hospitable Island of Penang we have one of the Jewels in the Crown The Eastern and Oriental Hotel . It is made up of a serendipity of unique and treasured moments. We are greeted by a host of delightful people welcoming us. Look out for Jimmy Denisea and Erika and the man on the door dressed up befitting the colonial style uniform. From the moment you step forward they wish to please. They take time with you on check in a welcome cool drink and personally shown to your suite. It's location on the water side lends to a truly romantic stay. Head for the bars. Farquares steeped in history and ambience with its low colonial style chairs where we are greeted by Izzy very bubbly happy young lady being a perfect host. Staff are very supportive with an distinctive charm and charisma. Look out for Wee she is a delight. Onto 1885 restaurant we are treated by Nureel and his team. Again the service is seven star. Every one is so happy Liza smile is so charming as are all. When I was staying they put on a special meal. They will go out of their way. Sarkies and Sarkies corner provide a wealth of choice and experience to satisfy all nationalities. Those staying in the Victory Annex may sample Planters commanding spectacular views of the seas. Led by Duninda again giving that special and truly unique touch and experience. Watch out for Foo and Danial you will never be let down. The rooms are exceedingly spacious and spotlessly clean. I have been eight times in the past two years and can't praise enough all the magical moments people and experiences. It is a home from home and much more where Alice fanaticises in this wonderful garden of sweet smelling roses.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both the Victory Annex and Heritage Wing. You can't fault either location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 429Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I consider myself something of a world traveller, but my holiday in Penang always turns out to be very special indeed.
The locals are friendly and easy to talk too, and the cuisine is delicious , with a wide range of local speciality and ethic dishes.
Best of all is the Hotel of my choice , the Eastern and Oriental Hotel, which is fabulously located on its own promenade over looking the Andeman Sea, and mainland Malaysia on one side and Georgetown on the other, the heart of the shopping centre is approx 5 mins away
The welcoming Staff in all departments, cannot do enough for you at the E&O hotel ,
It would be fair to describe this 5 star Hotel as "quirky" , as although it has all the trappings of a fine formal hotel "ala raffles" your not paying Raffles prices here, the E&O, is quite relaxed and friendly , except for its fine dining 1885 resturant , where exquiste cuisine Is served in a formal setting, with a Piano player on Fridays and Saturdays
The modern main resturant Sarkeys is serviced by a number of Speciality Chefs where the food is equally good, which an a amazing choice for all nationaitys , the breakfast cannot be faulted.
Although both halves are seamlessly integrated the Hotel has a "hertiage Wing " and "Victory Wing" the Victory wing being a brand new modern addition to the Historic Classic Colonial Hotel.
The Rooms in both wings are fabulous , these have been mentioned many times in previous reviews,
And other lovely touch is the complimentary shuttle. Which will take you to the Lone Pine (sister Hotel ) at the beach , where they do an excellent Tiffin lunch , and can you later walk the mile long night market for your holiday gifts, , and also taste the local food at the many hawker stalls .
Further more. There is also a Complimentary Water limo from the E&O to the straits Quay where perfect to sit around the marina, do some shopping , eat at many of the resturants, Hairdressers. And nail bar for the ladies.
The 2 swimming pools are also lovely and food and snacks are served there or at the famous Farquhar Bar which on certain evening has live music .
I cannot praise this Hotel enough

Room Tip: Any sea facing , or a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolly1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We walked into this hotel and we knew we were somewhere special. The grandeur hits you instantly. Checkin staff were courteous, drink and cold towel supplied.

We had Room 111 in the Heritage wing. Fab aircon, lounge area, seaview, decorated nicely, large bathroom with the usual bits you expect. Nothing whatsoever to complain about.

We had dinner that night in Sarkies - it was buffet style with wine and beer included. an absolute bargain if you've come from Singapore. 7pm - 10:30 instead of silly singapore hours of 6-9:30. the restaurant buffet had wonderful food, was full to the brim and even heaving outside with people having a good time on a Friday night. Service was friendly and good.

Breakfast was OK, no pork products :( but lots of other choices. the coffee needs to be improved. Its from one of those machines that make every drink under the sun, and the coffee is tasteless. Fresh juices are the best thing here, except for the orange - there's a big vat of it and the main claims its freshly squeezed, only its definitely not. So insist on a freshly squeezed one, don't settle for the sugar laden rubbish in the big container.

The pool area's were fine, but both noisy, as in noise made by staff who couldn't seem to grasp the fact that people were trying to relax - staff chattering between themselves, or furniture being moved and scraping across the floor. Comfy sunbeds though in both areas. The service was more aparant in the garden pool rather than the 6th floor annex pool, where we had to wander around looking for the staff that seemed to have disappeared.

The shuttle staff are pleasant and helpful. the boat that takes you to Straits Quay is lovely, but there's not much at SQ apart from a few restaurants. A few more land shuttle times would be good.

We took the hotel shuttle to the Lone Pine Hotel (an even better value sunday brunch is offered here - shame we got there too late to try it) to check out the beach area, but it was pouring with rain, so not much exploring to be done here. Taxi was MR40 back to the E&O.

Asked the staff to book us a standard taxi to the airport. It was a nice taxi but certainly not a standard one , MR65 for the airport trip as opposed to MR45 coming to the hotel from the airport with White Taxi Co.

A Lovely break in all, nice to walk the streets of Georgetown checking out the street art, and the abundance of lovely coffee shops that are around.

Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheluvz2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I wanted to try out both wings of this hotel, as I had read different things about each. Stayed one night in an AMAZING corner suite in the Victory Wing. I cannot say enough about this amazing room - the layout, size, views - as perfect as any place I've stayed. The second night I am in the Heritage Wing. An elegant room, worn (as you'd expect in the more historic part of the hotel), A/C not working as well. If I hadn't stayed in the Victory Wing at first, I might not have thought much about the Heritage Wing room, other than it is perfectly nice and suitable in a 'historic' sort of way. But I wish I could have stayed in the Victory Wing another night (by the time I realized this it was fully booked). The hotel is beautiful, staff is wonderful - no complaints, other than please be aware of the differences in wings / rooms.

Room Tip: Stay in Victory Wing. Corner Suite room is spendy, but a must if you'll only be here once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darbydoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
879 reviews
2 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 87 in George Town
490 reviews
2 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 87 in George Town
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $146 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing