We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

If you are looking for a special unique hotel with character and history then this is it. The hotel which was fully renovated in 1996, has in recent years been extended and includes a new wing. We stayed in the existing heritage wing, had a sea view room which also included a small lounge and a very large bath room.

Staff were found to be extremely helpful in all areas with special mention to reception, concierge and the Farquar bar staff.

While we considered our stay to be a special experience, the hygiene standard could be improved. We found dirty black marks in the adjoining living / bedroom door, while the bathroom tiling grouting was in poor condition. However, we will definitely be back !

Room Tip: Sea View in Heritage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are indeed grateful for your kind compliments of the hotel and its
services. Thank you for making special mention to the team and it is nice
to know that you enjoyed your accommodation in the Heritage Wing.

We take extra note on the feedback that you have kindly raised with
regards to areas that require greater attention. It would be great if you
could share with me your room number, I can be reached at
rainfroy.harold@eohotels.com

It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we are glad that
you would be planning a return.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,269
    829
    252
    97
    45
See reviews for
725
1,751
173
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the E&O for three nights as part of our 4 venue sojourn in Malaysia and it was a welcome haven from the cut and thrust of Penang.
We stayed in the Heritage wing and the building and the rooms are just stunning. The rooms are so well appointed, good bed linen, comfortable bed,huge fluffy towels, good quality shower gel etc, plenty of pillows and comfortable seating in the sitting room (do not mock - these things matter) and a sweet little balcony overlooking the swimming pool and the sea beyond all gorgeous.
The whole place has the ambience of a bygone era and had me dressed in a tea dress and speaking like one of the cast from Brief Encounter. It really is rather lovely.
The pool is warm and pleasant and the drink and food service obliging - particularly when addressed in my new found BBC tones.
To further my new found 1920's self we partook of afternoon tea ( a glimmer of protest from my partner, which was swiftly quelled by my new found Margaret Rutherford persona). If there is one thing I would recommend any one to do it is this, the cakes, macaroons and scones were simply delicious and the service too has that old fashioned charm that makes the experience an event rather than just tea and cakes.
Breakfast however was quite another story. The food itself is good and varied but one could wait a lifetime for a coffee.
Food in the bar was fairly average and unimaginative (a fried offering by enlarge ) but the Guinness was apparently acceptable and the service was timely and pleasant.
Overall great building and ambience let down occasionally by slipshod service.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank genavive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with this
review. It is nice to know that overall you had an enjoyable stay
with us and your appreciation of the rich heritage of our building
that has been well maintained over the years.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our very popular Traditional English
Afternoon Tea. However, please accept our sincere apologies for the
shortfall in service that you had experienced during breakfast. Your
feedback will be reviewed with the team for improvement.

It will be great to have you visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Recently had 3 nights in a hotel you can't fault. Beautiful buildings location and facilities match the wonderful well trained staff who are all eager to constantly please every traveler. All rooms overlook the ocean in the Victory wing making it pleasant as well as having a designated club floor where guests can indulge in the free happy hour drinks and snacks. The dinner is well worth considering as it is very reasonably priced and the cakes are simply magnificent. A boat trip to nearby Straits Quay was enjoyable and a great way to see Penang from the harbour. Worth spending the dollars to experience such a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: Level 11 had great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4thtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the team, please accept our sincere appreciation for giving
The Eastern & Oriental such a nice review. It gives us great pleasure to
hear that you have had a truly seamless and enjoyable experience here.
It is all we can hope for that guests are pleased with our service and
products.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Overall, E&O is a nice looking hotel, very expensive but seemingly worth it, with good service from their full time staff and clean rooms. However, we had the worst experience here when we stayed in the hotel and attended a dear friend's wedding dinner at E&O itself. My wife's handphone was stolen from the table by one of the waiters, while we were not watching. We managed to track it down using the phone GPS service, to the mainland, to where the thief was. With the help of E&O head of security (who was excellent), the phone was finally recovered, though damaged. Unfortunately, everything was wiped out from the phone as the thief has already been using it. A lot of extremely important data was gone because of this which caused us many weeks of grief personally and in business, after our stay in E&O.

While I might recommend the hotel to stay, I would implore anyone wanting to host a function or dinner there to avoid E&O at all cost, as they obviously do not have a proper filtering of workers in place. This might be just a phone, but there could be a bag, there could be even a child abduction in the future. I am sorry, in terms of service, to have ourselves robbed for the price we paid to stay? It gets a huge zero, no offense to the head of security, who was helpful to us.

I wrote a very long email to E&O, and finally got a response after 1 and half months saying they have looked into it etc etc. The full email is found at my gilagolf site.

E&O, for the price we paid, we expected more. As a hotel stay, no complaints. As far as hosting a function goes, horrendous. Overall, extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

First, the good:

1. Seriously good looking hotel, inside and out. Lovingly restored colonial buildings with a stately, pristine bone-white facade.

2. Fantastic location - within walking distance from great eating spots (Penang Rd, Burma Rd) and areasof interest (Armenian St for street art, museums).

3. Gorgeous rooms - all suites with dark wood panelling - large room with 2 TV sets, bedroom area and adjoining living room, 2 separate sinks in bathroom, soft down pillows (3 big ones and 1 small one on each side of the bed!!), gazillion thread count bed linen. We had a room overlooking the sea - the gentle sounds of the waves coming and going were extremely relaxing.

4. Impressive facilities - ample free covered parking, DVD player available on request, state of the art gyms (in both the Heritage and VIctory wings), 2 swimming pools (1 in each wing - must check out the stunning infinity pool in the Victory Annexe)

5. Service - outstanding - extremely warm and cordial and attentive. Sit down while you check in, while they serve you cold drinks. Also, every room comes with a butler service which we used once, to get water and a DVD player - never have I received such quick service (around 5 min). Also a turn down service each evening just in case you don't feel pampered enough.

Next, the very very slight minus points:

1. Carpark is at the Victory Wing, so if you are staying in the Heritage wing, you have to walk through the connecting corridor, exit this wing and walk outside to enter the Victory Annexe lobby to reach the carpark lift. The route is covered though, and rather pleasant. I guess one could use the exercise, considering the fact that you are in a foodie's wet dream of a city.

2. Breakfast buffet - not too much good quality local food served, which is a slightly wasted opportunity, when there are such high food standards in Penang. There is a very generous selection of Western food though. I do think there could be an opportunity here to blow guests away even more with great local food - all under one roof, overlooking the sea..... ... We skipped breakfast on days 2 and 3, to invest our calorie intake in some truly local delights.

Overall - Thanks for a lovely, relaxing, luxurious experience. Truly a standard setter.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room in the heritage wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post such thorough and
constructive review on Trip Advisor following your recent visit.

A detailed review like yours is always helpful for us and other fellow
travellers considering The Eastern & Oriental Hotel for their forthcoming
stays. We are most pleased that you had a lovely time here. Your feedback
is much appreciated and has been shared with the team. We are extremely
proud of our staff who aim to make our guests feel at home and comfortable
during their time with us to ensure their stay is one that is memorable.

Once again, thank you for enjoying your stay with us and taking the time
to provide us with this review. We look forward to welcoming you back
soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were wonderfully surprised!
Upon reading reviews, we opted for the Victoria Annexe and were not disappointed. The room we were given was superb, on a high floor with a spectacular ocean view.
Service was attentive and to a high standard. Salim at the reception was especially helpful.

Room Tip: Stay in the Victoria Annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It pleases us to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us in
the Victory Annexe and found the room to your liking and the
staff very attentive, in particular Salim.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for just one night in January. My check in was very smooth and I was allocated just the room a wanted - a King bed room on a high floor in the Victory Annexe.

I loved my room where there had clearly been careful thought in its layout and attention to detail in its preparation. The balcony overlooking the sea is nice, but I spent no time on it, rather being elsewhere in the hotel.

The shower in my room was possibly the best I have ever come across - sheer heaven.

The bed was slightly hard, but comfortable with great linen.

The hard furnishings in the large corridors outside the room can be noisy, but this is luck of the drawer about how considerate your neighbours are.

I found breakfast to be a slight disappointment - the food was good but the staff could not cope with the demands of the guests and I had to ask several times for a coffee. In the end I had to go and stand by the machine to resolve this. I wonder if this problem was because the staff offer a very high level of personal service and they are adapting to the requirements of a busy restaurant with the Victory Annexe?

The best service I received was from the concierge, who anticipated all my needs and pointed me in the right direction several times.

The guests struck me as a lovely mix of people looking for this kind of hotel experience.

Totally recommend for a night or two / ideal maybe at the start or end of a beach break in Penang.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your one night stay
with us at the new Victory Annexe and would like to thank you for
taking the time to share your experience here on Trip Advisor.

Whilst we are glad you enjoyed so many elements of the Hotel, we
acknowledge the feedback you have kindly raised with regards to
service at breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfall
you have experienced and rest assured this will be reviewed with the team
for greater attention to this area. It is only from feedback such as yours
that we are able to improve our services.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to the pleasure of
welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.


Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
811 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
412 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 84 in George Town
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
549 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
7.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Property: Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing