We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hole !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

In the good old days, there were only three decent hotels east of Suez. The E&O is one of them.

Right in the heart of George Town, the E&O is still the place to stay and relax after a day of sightseeing. Walk into the lobby and you are likely to hear Glenn Miller's "In the Mood" (or something similar), though via a CD recording these days, not a live band. You might half expect to see Noel Coward coming out of Farquhar's Bar after downing a few chota pegs with the planters back from upcountry supervising the natives on the plantations.

We stayed in the original wing which was extensively renovated about 10 years ago. The guest rooms have everything one needs, lounge area, TV, bedroom and bathroom. We had a pleasant view overlooking the gardens and seashore. And there is a modern "Victory" annexe to meet high season demand.

The breakfast buffet is superb though there is no pork because of local culture. You definitely won't need any tiffin for quite some time after enjoying the buffet, but there is always Sarkies Corner for local fare as well as some European dishes. Surprisingly, Nasi Goreng was not on the menu. When visiting the Straits Settlements, this reviewer greatly looks forward to a nice plate of NG plus a big bottle of Tiger beer.

All the staff are unfailingly polite, our butler Keat deserving a special mention here. We were low season guests therefore not incommoded by hordes of children and other high season types. So, all in all, it was frightfully civilised four day sojourn.

Time now for another chota peg. Where's the drinks wallah ?

Room Tip: The original wing. If only the corridor walls could tell what they have seen and heard since 1885...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,277 - 2,283 of 3,726 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

I sit here on stage three of Malaysia trip and as I sit here at the pool in the heritage wing I see the mysterious widow the older british gentleman with the young bride and exotic strangers all gathering together round the glorious pool surrounds. We have all just par taken of the glorious afternoon cream tea and we just relax whilst looking forward to the evening meals. Overlooking the malakka straits and with views on all sides this is a gloriously presented and well run hotel which reminds you of agatha Christie stories of mystery and suspense. The staff Are attentive the rooms are wonderful and the only problem I had was only being here three nights. Just try it and I know you will love it

Room Tip: The heritage wing just blows you away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronnieredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and posting a review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation and found
the staff attentive.

It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we look forward
to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We did the E and O tea service recently and found the experience enjoyable. While we did not stay in the hotel (stayed in Batu Ferrhangi), we heard that visiting the hotel was a must while touring Georgetown. That advice was spot on because the hotel itself is a historic site. First off, it is right on the water and there are beautiful views from the back of the property. The tea service was in a cozy restaurant with nice views of the water. The tea itself was loose leaf tea and was delicious and reasonably priced (lots of scones, cakes, etc). Stick to the classic teas (darjeeling, kavah, etc) and avoid the new fangled teas (Irish cream..bleh).

The lobby and grounds are nice to walk around and take pictures (check out art gallery and the small history center). The gift shop was also very nice, with interesting items (somewhat pricey).

Next time we visit, we will definitely stay at this property…

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ0904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for visiting the Hotel and The 1885 for our highly popular
Traditional English Afternoon Tea. It is great to know that you had an
enjoyable experience and were able to look around the hotel whilst you
were here.

We look forward to welcoming you as a resident on a return visit.


Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My first time in Penang. I Stayed for 6 fantastic nights in the Victory annex. Stayed on the 15th floor, the room, the view, the balcony were just superb. Staying in the Victory annex allows you to access the Planters lounge on the 6th floor where you can enjoy breakfast and evening drinks and canapés from 5PM-7PM, this is a great experience sitting outside on the balcony overlooking the ocean as the sun sets enjoying the complementary wines, sprits, beer and lovely canapés and nibbles. The staff in the lounge are excellent they deserve a special mention although I have to say that every staff member I met where ever in the hotel was always very polite and always acknowledged my presence with a smile and a hello. Everything about this hotel is "sheer class". This is a very well run establishment and it certainly shows.
The location of the hotel in Georgetown is perfect, you can walk to Chinatown, Little India etc. This hotel is definitely 5 star. I was very sad to have to leave. Don't waste you time looking for somewhere to stay in Georgetown, stay in the E&O, you will not be disappointed. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Stay in the Victory annex on a high floor in a full sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samual_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Eastern & Oriental Hotel as your preferred
Hotel on your first visit to Penang. We are pleased that you enjoyed your
accommodation in the Victory Annexe and that your stay was flawless
throughout. It is all we can hope for that guests are pleased with our service
and products.

It has been a pleasure having you as our resident and we look forward to
your return visit soon.


Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed in Annex and was delightful. My only recommendation would be for the hotel, of this caliber, to restrict to adults. Nothing ruins an outstanding experience more than having 99% of adults in the restaurant or around the infinity pool looking over the ocean, and having two or three screaming children and their rude parents thinking this is the local YMCA.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank highstandards2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us in this review.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the Victory Annexe.

It is our sincere hope that you will return again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the E&O, Victory Annexe, for 6 nights, including over New Year's. We arrived at 11am and they were able to check us in early. We had a room on the 11th Floor, one of their standard rooms, which have a balcony overlooking the Malacca Strait. The view was fantastic (we had an unobstructed view of the Straits Quay fireworks over NYE) and the sliding doors could be tucked in/away so that it created almost an indoor/outdoor feel to the room. The standard bathroom, accessed through French Doors, is very roomy and spacious, featuring his/hers vanities and an old style cast iron tub and separate shower with massive rain shower head. The desk area had generous outlets. At least 11 foot ceilings, maybe higher. Dark wood floors in a herringbone layout. Everything was really top-notch. Breakfast and tiffin were included. One could take breakfast in two locations, at Sarkies in the old hotel which had an extensive breakfast buffet or Asian and Western foods, and on 6th Floor of the new hotel, less extensive buffet but not as crowded and wonderful views of and breezes from the ocean. The tiffin was fantastic as well -- wine, beer and spirits as well as warm appetizers, bread and cheese. The infinity pool overlooking the Strait, on the 6th Floor of the Victory Annexe, was gorgeous, though the water was always a touch chilly ... there is a small area sectioned off for small children (of which there were very few, guests mostly being couples and a few families with teen children). We did not know that the water taxi to Straits Quay was included, but not sure we would have availed ourselves in any case -- too much to see/experience in George Town just wandering around. And Straits Quay is like any other new waterfront real estate development, nothing really unique. Wifi, which we relied on extensively, was very good, including at the pool area. We didn't use any unique butler services, but the staff was very attentive and friendly when we needed taxis and info. Would highly recommend it for business travelers, couples who want a touch of understated old-style colonial luxury ... possibly for families. It's not that the hotel is child-UNfriendly, but you'd probably get glares and stares from the other guests if you have young children running about and shrieking in the public spaces. Very convenient to the heritage sites and hawker stalls/centers. We thought about staying at Hotel Penaga or Seven Terraces or Macallister Mansion, but ultimately glad that we stayed at the E&O (blissfully quiet, no street noises, both during the day and evening, when you opened the balcony door, all you heard was the sound of the waves).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dxkxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternandOriental1, The Management at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for posting your nice review and rating us 5/5 on Trip
Advisor. It is great to see a breakdown of your full experience with
us and we are glad to read that you enjoyed your 6 nights stay at the
Victory Annexe.

We are glad that you found every aspect of your visit to your satisfaction
and of course it is always motivating for the team to know that they could
contribute to make a guest’s stay remarkable. Please accept our sincere
apology that you were not made aware of the water limousine service,
however it would be great if you have the opportunity to experience it on
a return visit.

Once again, thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We look
forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Fantastic hotel, we stayed in the new Victory wing and our room was amazing. Big balcony with sweeping bay views, huge bathroom with freestanding bath, separate shower and double basins. Smooth check in, loved the 6th floor club lounge and infinity pool. Service on the 6th floor was too relaxed, we had to ask three times for a menu, the hotel needs to improve facilities for guests who have checked out but need to freshen up before flying home. We were directed to use the fitness suite shower (just one shower) the room had no towels, shampoo, conditioner so trips back to the lounge and a 10 minute wait to get them. Nowhere to hang clothes or towel in the shower so you are rather exposed to anyone else who happens to be using the ladies toilets as you are drying and dressing. A hospitality room for guests to use or hooks in the shower would resolve this. Unfortunately the porter put our bags in the wrong taxi on departure and so our trip was marred by a rather stressful ending when we were the centre of a loud dispute between two drivers, 10 minutes into our trip to the airport we were told by the driver he had to return to the hotel as he had the wrong booking. We continued to the airport as we all refused to return to the hotel. Another example of staff needing to improve service skills and checking correct bookings both at check in and check out. Even with this feedback I would stay at the hotel again and recommend it for others.

Room Tip: Rooms 810 and 811 are great for two couples or a group of friends as they have there own corridor wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weekender1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
879 reviews
2 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 87 in George Town
490 reviews
2 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 87 in George Town
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $146 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing