We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time at the E&O”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful time at the E&O”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We would like to thank Denise who was so informative and enthusiastic about the hotel she took us around the old and the new parts of the hotel her knowledge was fantastic the Hotel has a wonderful and Informative employee
We can also recommend the afternoon teas fantastic not to be missed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad that you had a wonderful time at the Eastern & Oriental Hotel and
thank you for making special mention to the particular staff who had helped
make your stay even more enjoyable.

The Traditional English Afternoon Tea available at The 1885 is very popular, and
thank you for your recommendation of this.

It is our sincere hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,243
    817
    246
    97
    44
See reviews for
718
1,729
170
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (982)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A month before my check in to this hotel, i tried my luck approach the hotel request they assist me make over my room..Reason? i am going have married propose to my girl friend, giving her a surprise on our holiday break. The relevant personnel replied with yes they could help me on the plan.

Result ?? Look at the photo attached, it was so much lovely and perfectly decorated. My girl friend has get surprised and shocked a moment she open the door, at first sight she thought reception has assigned us a wrong unit, hesitated a moment, until i take out the flower and ring asking "would you married me?" she start to smile very sweetly.

i am not going to describe the room condition, the size, the cleanliness and bed and etc...one word i would say is PERFECT !! and nice sea breeze too.

The hotel has help us reserve a romantic find dining dinner at Restaurant 1885, ground floor to their heritage building. Although the food is little bit pricey, but the chef has make up a excellent best combination of selection, from a appetizer to a soup and the main course, by putting into our mouth you can feel the chef has make his best on preparing the great food. Very happy.

Infinity pool on 6th floor of new wing, quiet, relax and the wind would just blown your stress away.

Breakfast with lot of choice, from a Malaysian breakfast delicacies to an English style of bread toast, combine with great lavazza coffee, this is marvellous.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeromeNG_WK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is so rewarding to hear that everything went perfect for you during your
recent stay with us on this very special occasion. Thank you for your
compliments and the photos you have uploaded with your review. We
are pleased to see that you were impressed with the special arrangement.

Your glowing comments on your satisfaction of the presentation of your
room, cleanliness and dining experience were so pleasing to read. We are
glad that we were able to make your stay special and memorable.

We thank you for your patronage and hope that you will visit us again soon.


Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Generosity and charm abound in this very beautiful waterfront colonial-style hotel. We enjoyed the ambiance of the Victory Wing, with its 6th floor infinity pool, mega-high ceilings, large rooms and cooling sea breezes through the balcony doors. We could have stayed longer and continued to appreciate the generous extras, such as the complimentary drinks and canapes every evening and the wonderful food...

Room Tip: We loved the Victory wing and our very quiet room was on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WagU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation experience
in our new Victory Annexe and its infinity pool located at level 6. The pool is indeed
a beautiful sanctuary for relaxing after a tiring trip or to start the day with a refreshing
dip.

Many guests appreciate the complimentary cocktail and canapés available from
5pm – 7pm at the Planters Lounge and we are glad you found it to be the same.

We hope that you will visit us again soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The E&O hotel is one of the best hotels we have stayed in in travels which have taken us throughout Europe, Asia and north and south America.

We stayed in the Victory annex and the facilities are as have been described by previous reviewers: good size rooms; large bathrooms; balcony with sea views; and, the cocktail (two) hours in the Planter's lounge. We also had more than adequate breakfasts in the lounge.

We found all staff to be excellent. The quality service commenced at the time our taxi driver from the airport dropped us at the Heritage reception area rather than the Victory Annexe lobby. One staff member very happily escorted us to the correct area.

We found staff in all areas of the hotel to be as accommodating and cheerful as that fist person, especially Salim when we were checking out.

We may not have gone to Penang were it not for the reputation of the E&O. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. For us the hotel lived up to our high expectations.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is a huge compliment to be considered one of the best hotels that you have ever
stayed in. We certainly do our best to main our high standards and deliver efficient
and friendly service at the same time. Thank you for making special mention to Salim,
and for contributing this wonderful review.

So delighted you found every aspect of your visit to your satisfaction and of course
it is pleasing to learn that the team took good care of you. Your words of appreciation
of the staff shall go a long way to motivate the team to continue to deliver a high level
of service to our valued guests.

Once again thank you for your valuable input and we look forward to the pleasure of
welcoming you back.


Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

There was nothing to be missed in this wonderfull hotel: perfect service, large room with great bath, amazing views from balcany and a lot of extras you would like to get from a hotel, but you seldom actually get: Free softdrinks from minibar, coffee from Lavazza coffe machine in room, all little ameneties in the bathroom, perfectly served breakfast on a veranda with great views - fresh squeezed juices included. And the athmosphere of a hotel with great history lives on in the new Victoria annex.

There is not much to be improved, hopefully the service stays on the high level. We enjoyed our 1-night-stay very much!

Room Tip: All rooms in Victoria annex will have seaview. Ours was on 7th floor and it was just great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vollzock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are most pleased that your experience at The Eastern & Oriental Hotel was enjoyable
and greatly appreciate your kind compliments on the areas that we have served you well.

We are glad that we were able to give you a great impression even at only a short stay
with us.

It is our sincere hope that you will return again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice location, stunning view. Chose the heritage wing, more character than the new wing. Athmosphere at breakfast not comparable to the style of heritage area. Somehow contradictory...
High prices... But definetely a must see and stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback and making recommendation ‘
of the Heritage Wing to other reviewers.

We are glad that the location and view suited your requirement. We do monitor our
prices compared to the other similar hotels on the island and felt that our prices were
in line with our competitor hotels. It is important to us that we offer value for money
for our guests.

It is our sincere hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in the new wing, Victory Annexe. The hotel itself is beautiful and enchanting, especially the Herigate Wing. Seeped in history.

Our room in Victory Annexe is spacious, nicely decorated with a huge bathroom. The rain shower was super. The food, the pool, the grounds; all very satisfactory to the max. There is no fault with the hotel itself.

The service was another story and the stark differences between the old wing and the new wing made me questioned whether they are two separate hotels with interconnecting walkway.

I walked to the Victory Annexe reception for check-in and I felt so unwelcomed by the staff. No friendly hello / welcome to the E&O, no smiley faces. Apart from one person. I was baffled. This is a 5 star Heritage hotel, one of the best in Penang. The attitude of the reception staff were the same throughout our stay. Apart from that same one person who smiled and said hello to us.

One occasion that made me really disappointed with the reception staff was when i asked him about the Free Shuttle on Heritage Route on the map. It was clearly a map of centre Georgetown. Without even looking at map or myself (he was busy looking at some document), he said - Lone Pine and Straits Quay. Thats all. No further explanation. I just walked off as i knew that i wouldn't get much from him. I have never seen a less interested hotel staff treating a guest that way.

I then walked to the Heritage Wing and ask another person there. I was given a full explanation of the route and where to wait for the shuttle. It was indeed a heritage route in town and definitely not to Lone Pine which is on the other side of the island. On the way out i was met by another staff and he gave me more information on the Heritage area worth visiting. The service was totally different on this side; very friendly, informative and with highly knowledgeable staff of its locality.

The breakfast service at Sarkies is another downside of our stay here. It was erratic and the staff were unable to give a proper service due to maybe lack of training. One the first morning we were given a table only to find out that it was taken by another guest whilst we were taking our food. Plates were not collected and again most of the waiting staff were not smiling at all. I am not sure why ....

We stayed at Lone Pine last year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We wanted to try its big sister hotel the Eastern and Oriental in town for a change. Dont get me wrong, we love this place. Its beautiful and fully equipped. The breakfast spread is vast and tasty. The location is perfect for walking around town and you can take the free shuttle to Lone Pine for a day on the beach.

However, the service of the staff in the Victory Annexe soured our stay. The hotel room and rates matched its five star status, unfortunately the service is not quite there. Yet. We hope to return next year with improved customer service.

Room Tip: rooms in Victory Annexe has a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang and for taking
the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.

Whilst we were happy that the product met with your expectations, it is deeply
regrettable that you had such an unfavourable experience from the reception
staff at our new Victory Annexe. We only wished you had informed us of your
concerns at the time to make us aware of the issues as we would have done
our utmost to rectify this. We are sorry that we were not made aware of your
challenges during your stay. Nevertheless please be assured that your comments
have been taken on board and have discussed your concerns about the attitude
from reception with the Department concerned, who will address this with his
team. This is not a true reflection of our usual high standards that we pride ourselves
in.

It is also very disappointing to hear that service at the restaurant was a let-down.
Your comments have been shared with the Food & Beverage Team who will address
this accordingly to ensure our guests are provided with the best.

On a positive note, we are glad that the staff at the Heritage Wing delivered an impeccable
service, and that you found the breakfast tasty and our location suited your requirement.

We would certainly appreciate an opportunity to change your impression next time
you are in Penang. We very much look forward to receiving you again.


Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
7.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Property: Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing