We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location, amazing staff and perfect issue resolution.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I loved the E&O. All the staff were brilliant, friendly, knowledgable and attentive. We stayed in the Heritage wing with a great sea view and lounge space. A really solid room with no noise from anywhere, gorgeous bathroom and the best bed I have slept in for years. Unfortunately for us we were there during a long weekend so there were lots of kids, but they all seemed to hang by the Heritage pool as the water was warmer. I think that the pool in the Victory wing was refrigerated, it was so refreshing.
There was a relatively minor matter with the concierge and check in process, but the manager apologised and remedied the situation as soon as he became aware, he also followed up once I got home to make sure I was happy.
If I had to change anything, I would make some of the breakfast offerings a little spicier (there were curries & stir fries as well as great pancakes and omelettes) and have a dedicated, child free breakfast area as it became a bit of a zoo when it filled up on Saturday morning.
I would go back to E&O tomorrow if I could. I proper loved it.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank woollahranick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for contributing this review following your recent stay at the Eastern and Oriental
Hotel Penang.

I appreciate your positive comments in regards to the service you received from the team
and that you found your room with a great seaview and bed to your liking.

Your stay with us coincided with the long weekend and school holidays in Malaysia where families bring their kids here for a holiday, hence you will expect more kids than the usual days.

I do note that you experienced some glitches with the concierge and check in process and
would like to sincerely apologized for this.

I have noted your comments regarding our breakfast offerings and an area for children’s
breakfast, and shall pass this on to our Food & Beverage Manager and Chef for consideration.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,625)
There are newer reviews for Eastern & Oriental Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,433 - 2,439 of 3,626 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The ambience of the hotel brings you back to the colonial era...
Friendly front desk staff. We stayed in the new Anexxe Wing with free access to the lounge where they served breakfast & hi tea. The buffet spread is not as many as in Sarkies Restaurant but we love the food...
Spend most of our time in the hotel..
Nice view from the swimming pool on the upper floor...

Room Tip: Asked for corner suite... worth it!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinaAzlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing this review following your recent stay with us.

It is wonderful to know that the accommodation, service and facilities
met with your expectations and that you enjoyed the food at the Planters
Lounge. Guests staying at the new Victory Annexe Wing may choose to
have breakfast either at the Planters Lounge where they may be able to
enjoy a different ambience or the Sarkies Restaurant which of course
offers more variety from the buffet spread.

It will be great to have you visit us again.

Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After reading a few of the not so good reviews on tripadvisor we were a little apprehensive about our up and coming stay at the E&O.

We arrived and received a very warm welcome from Jimmy, he explained the hotel to us very clearly, we were checked in and shown to our room, we had booked a suite but the hotel upgraded us to a large suite which was very good of them.

The room was awesome, we had a great view over looking the straits and the room was nicely decorated, simple but elegant, which sums up most of the hotel.
The E&O has a charm and history, and after reading some of the negative views you wonder if they are the people more used to the major chains.

Every member of staff was nice, smiling and polite, we really could not have asked for more, we did however meet a couple of stand outs in many ways, and this was at breakfast, the too chefs working the kitchen Abdullah and Mr. Kallapilti (Not spelt right) these two guys were marvelous, not only were they engaging with the guests and explaining the food options and choices they would help clear table in the bust times and walk around and ask if things were ok, these guys were proud of what they did and it showed.
E&O should also be thankful of such dedicated staff.

Both the pool areas were really nice, the new part (Victory) would get shady in the afternoon, but the old part pool was really pleasant and most comfortable.

The gym was well equipped and never too bust whish was nice.

We did the Afternoon tea and it was a pleasant experience and was a nice interruption to the day.

Penang has such great food, which was the reason we went in the first place, and the hotel is located perfectly to benefit from this.

We would go back in a heart beat, and to others that maybe be worries, don’t, its one of those things, you get out what you put in....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88fivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is an absolute pleasure to hear that you had thoroughly enjoyed your
accommodation experience during your recent stay with us. I am grateful
for your appreciation of the room upgrade and the staff members who have
served you well and shall pass on your compliments to them.

It is also very pleasing to know that we have exceeded your expectations in
both the product and services. We are proud of the rich heritage of our building
and have ensured that this has been well maintained over the years.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your room with a great seaview, the breakfast as
well as the efficient service received. We do strive to provide a five star service
to the guests and I am pleased that you found the team members to be helpful,
smiling and polite.

Our English Afternoon Tea is quite popular and I am glad that you were able to
experience and found it to your liking.

Penang is known as a food paradise with many local delights to choose from and
we are in a convenient location for this and other places of attractions.

On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for the positive compliments
that are a great encouragement to us all and we look forward to your return soon.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the new wing for 2 nights and the room is beautiful especially the bathroom. Overall experience is good just some minor details like room is missing the bedroom slippers and there's a empty bowl that's supposed to fill with bath salt. Housekeeping also forgot to clean our balcony.

The swimming pool is on the 6th floor and it's got impressive view and spacious layout. There's also daily complimentary cocktail between 5 and 7 pm which is not mentioned in the website where we made our booking. So it's a pleasant surprise when we checked in. Free wifi in the room and breakfast included in the rate. Good variety of breakfast choices.

Location is quite convenient, it's on the waterfront but Penang Street is just behind the hotel where we can access all the local hawker food.

Floor staff are very professional, friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again and this time will stay longer.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Victory Annexe Superior Suite which is the cheapest but it's good enough!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILee_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

While I was glad to see that your overall experience was positive, I must apologize
for the inconsistency in service provided by the housekeeping and have addressed
this with the team to ensure such lapses are not repeated.

We greatly appreciate your kind compliments on the areas that we have served
you well and even more pleased to hear of your return to spend longer time with us.

Many guests appreciate the good variety of breakfast choices and also the
complimentary Cocktail Hour from 5pm – 7pm at the Planters Lounge. I note your
comment in which this was not mentioned in our website and shall review this.

We are ideally located within walking distance to places of attractions and local food
and I am glad you found this beneficial. Thank you for you valuable feedback.

My team and I look forward to your return soon.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at the E&O in Penang and found it to be one of the nicest hotels we have visited. We booked into the recently opened victory wing and enjoyed the club room for pre dinner drinks. We met the chef for the Sarkies in the wing who mentioned he was having a special seafood buffet on our first night. We decided to try it and weren't disappointed. There was a large variety of fish and other dishes- very tasty and reasonably priced.
We used the infinity swimming pool in the Victory wing and enjoyed the pleasant outdoor setting.
The rooms were amazing- very large bathroom with 2 separate sink areas and 2 wardrobes. The balcony looked out directly over the sea- all very pleasant and due to the special rate on the room no more than a very average Australian accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelon4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Your positive comments on the presentation of your room and the swimming pool
on the 6th floor of our new Victory Annexe wing are much appreciated and that you
found the E&O Hotel to be one of the nicest.

I am glad that you were able to experience the complimentary drinks and canapés
in the evenings at our Planters Lounge from 5pm – 7pm. I am also pleased that
you enjoyed the special seafood buffet with a wide variety of seafood and dishes to
choose from, recommended by our Chef.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you
back again.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel has to be simply put, the best place to stay in Penang. Firstly it is in the heart of Georgetown which is the 'old' city of Penang so going around this historic area is easy and close. I would suggest for sightseeing to hire a tri-shaw then you see everything up close and personal. Also the very exciting Little India is only a short ride away.
Now for the hotel. The rooms are exqusite, bed linen sensational, toilitires top notch. The breakfast buffet has EVERY thing that one would want for an enjoyable breakfast. Staff fall all over themselves to serve.
The pool area is beautiful and set in a lovely garden. BTW the bar is just steps away. We had dinner one night in the hotel and as it is built on the edge of the ocean we sat outside and had a beautiful view.
I would definately ONLY stay at the E&O when next in Penang and advise everyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I was pleased to know that you
were impressed with the Hotel and that you consider the E&O Hotel the best place
to stay in Penang. It is our absolute pleasure to hear that your experience at the
E&O was enjoyable and that both the product and services met with your
expectations. I am even more pleased to hear of your return and recommendation
of this hotel to others.

The hotel is indeed located very central in the heart of Georgetown with dining,
shopping and places of attractions just around the corner and it was great that this
helped in making your stay exciting.

I am also delighted to know that you found the room, amenities and facilities to
your liking and that you enjoyed your dining experiences.

Once again, thank you for all your positive comments and recommendations and we
certainly look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is superb for those that treasure the luxury if being transported to the colonial era. Room is clean and facing the sea for the deluxe suite though the sofa is bit old. Love the pool at the victory annex at the upper floor, fantastic view of the ocean. Breakfast has many choices and should try the afternoon tea. Felt some staff are not well trained such as no idea what is latte, towels not replaced when used ones removed in bathroom, cutleries setting wrong side if table when clearly shopping bags were placed on that seat and guest seated side was none. No common sense at all for a hotel if such stature.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SgnExp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaroldRainfroy, Resident Manager at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is great that you enjoyed your accommodation experience in particular the
cleanliness of your suite with a seaview and the swimming pool at the 6th floor
of the Victory Annexe wing.

I appreciate your recommendation of our English Afternoon Tea which is quite
popular and glad that you found varieties in our breakfast.

Whilst I was delighted to read the positive comments you made, I was disappointed
to learn that there were a few instances where the service quality delivered was not up
to expectation which is not reflective of our normal standards. I must apologize for
the shortfall and rest assured I have shared your comments with the department
managers for corrective action.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming
you back in the near future.


Kind regards,
Harold Rainfroy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 85 in George Town
855 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 85 in George Town
463 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 85 in George Town
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $143 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing