We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, new wing needs serious snagging.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good value, new wing needs serious snagging.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Was a little disappointed having read so many fabulous excellent reviews of the new wing as it still needs some serious snagging as its early days and I expect they were up against it with reservations. Rooms all have sea facing rooms and beds are excellent and comfortable. In room tea/coffee with free soft drink mini bar. Bathroom large and excellent water pressure with claw bath. There are free sundowner drinks and nibbles on the 6th floor which were excellent. You can also have breakfast there but best to eat breakfast at Sarkies on the found floor as much more choice and juicing corner which they get top marks for. The woodwork on the desk and the floors in the bedroom left something to be desired and were quite marked for saying they had only been open for two weeks. There is work still going and we changed rooms as the room next to ours was bare, still no flooring so to avoid possible noise the next day they moved us with no problems at all. Staff excellent but still training the majority of room staff which is evident. The staff on the front desk recommended the worst Chinese restaurant ever so was disappointed but the next night did our research and dined at Suffolk House which was delicious and in one of the oldest colonial buildings in Georgetown. Just a two night stay which was more than enough time in Penang.

Room Tip: The Club floor is ons the 6th. Try to get a room in the middle and not at the ends which are not fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardson30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,210
    799
    243
    96
    44
See reviews for
705
1,701
168
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (967)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Speedy check-in with a suite upgrade overlooking the pool. Pool staff were very friendly and come personally to set up your lounger with towels. Every half an hour or so they come by serving ice cold water and semi frozen lemongrass scented hand towels, bliss! Check out their "who we welcomed" area near the lobby. Lovely heritage hotel, gives you a great feel of old Georgetown.

Room Tip: There are Ground floor rooms that I saw by the pool - you get a little garden and can just walk to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricket03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I will begin by saying that this is certainly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. This is not the original E&O founded in the late 19th century where the likes of Rudyard Kipling, Somerset Maugham, or Herman Hesse stayed in. Same location, different building that has been rebuilt over time. Nevertheless, it captures fully the atmosphere with it's remarkably detailed decoration and setting. The service is excellent and the overal experience excellent.
A few points for future visitors:
1. Make sure to get a room in the Heritage Wing (alll with a sea view) which is what I have described above. Recently they have built an 11 floor annexe which is a lot more impersonal, where you lose the colonial atmosphere and enter more the modern age of industrialised tourism.
2. Booking early, I obtained very reasonably priced rooms which were great value for what we got. On the other hand, all food and drink in the hotel is grossly overpriced. This is Malaysia where you can eat very well everywhere very cheaply. No wonder the restaurants are empty! We have been able to eat for two people at the nearby Red Garden food court, for the price of one beer in the hotel.
3. This is a plea to the hotel manager. Please correct the only bad detail I have found in your hotel: Your piped music is on a permanent and continous loop. The entry hall plays the same Vivaldi four seasons all the time durng our 5 day stay, and the restaurant on the day of our arrival played the same Sinatra song over and over again. People who do not appreciate music won't notice this. Those who do find it infuriating. Please either have some variety and don't repeat for a week or switch the thing off!
Other than these minor niggles, a dream of a holiday stay and a wonderful base from which to discover Penang

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guitarman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just visited this hotel for afternoon tea, which was simply wonderful and a real bargain at the equivalent of around £14 each. Good service, nice crisp table linen and excellent food. Started with finger sandwiches made with nice fresh bread, then warm scones with jam and cream and finally a plate of heavenly cakes all washed down with endless good tea. Yum! Far nicer than the overrated tea at Raffles in SG and a lot cheaper. All in all a lovely experience to be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Old world luxury accommodation that transports you back to another era. Antique style furniture and comfy rooms in an old world setting, this grand hotel does not spare any of the modern conveniences and even has a vintage brass switch to summon your own butler.

Unfortunately I was not there long enough to sample all the delights of the hotel, but there was no faulting anything that I tried. There was no shortage of food choices for breakfast although it is such a large, sprawling place that I got a bit lost wandering around very early in the morning trying to find where breakfast was served.

With only three levels where I was staying, the view across the harbour was stunning and the pool outside was picture perfect.

For anyone wanting a bit more nostalgia for their stay in Penang, this place should be on the top of your list.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_Toffer_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 3 exquisite nights as guests at the E&O, as part of our honeymoon. We were given a room upgrade, so we had a balcony & were very close to the pool.
Our travel agent hadn't conveyed we were on honeymoon to the hotel. When we mentioned it to reception staff they promised to look into it. We were given fresh fruit platters, handmade pralines & were surprised one evening with cheese cake & staff singing 'Only You'! A very memorable experience!

The service is second to none & the staff so friendly.

Breakfast is amazing.

Do recommend booking for the Wine & Dine Buffet on Friday night - fantastic array of food & great value. They replenish most of the food throughout the night (apart from the BBQ duck).

We adore it here & look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbb_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dan2244
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

i really wanted to like, in fact love this place. it is as it makes out a grand old colonial building and looks fantastic. However, that's all it is. the staff are average, not particularly attentive, the restaurants were empty and lifeless, the rooms, although grand and have a butler button, that we didn't dare push, was overlooking a brightly illuminated petrol station. Penang island is a bustling lively island suited to travelers and and street food, the E&O is out of place and feels like corners have been cut in staff and service.
it hurts to say as this could be so so special, but it just doesn't work. its very expensive and no where near justified

Room Tip: ask for a sea view, unless you like petrol stations....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.4 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.9 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
7.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Property: Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing