We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely colonial hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 79 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
bridgetown, Exmoor
2 reviews
“Lovely colonial hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Just lovely to find the E&O in Penang. Excellent breakfast. Big room with sea view, bathroom had his and hers sides (so mine was tidy!). The red garden food hall across the road was great - you choose your dishes from the surrounding stalls and give them a table number and they trot along with their stuff and collect their cash - at £2 a course -yum! Only downside was the Coel birds in the tree outside our room -diurnal and active at 5am!
Arrived by bus from KL (60 ringgit each -can do cheaper) that terminates in a backwater bus station some 25 ringgit set fee to E&O in a crappyish old taxi. Airport transfer from E&O was 57 ringgit in a posh taxi (only 30 mins but traffic was good).
Weather this feb was torrential rain every night - so be prepared!

Room Tip: Think all rooms had a sea view. A few have balconies. Very well supplied and replaced - one addition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenna1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    715
    228
    80
    36
See reviews for
636
1,511
149
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (883)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My sister & I stayed at the E&O in January this year and had the best stay ever. We were in a premier double room overlooking the sea. The room was so nice. My sister is a smoker so she had her own private balcony to smoke which was good for me as I am a non-smoker. We also had are own sinks - so good for 2 girls. We loved all the staff - they were so friendly, helpful and respectful. We spent most afternoons having a quiet cocktail in Sarkies - the staff treat you so well. We tried the afternoon tea at the restaurant which was a special experience.
We recommend Paul for Taxis rides - he is honest and so helpful. We wished we'd asked him originally to take us places as we know we would have had a better experience. He knows so much. Breakfasts were amazing - so much choice and it wasn't too crowded when getting our meal. We will be going back so thanks E&O for making our holiday extra special.

Room Tip: One with balcony overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varsityGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just spent 5 days at the hotel. We have stayed there many times while we were in Penang. A few visits ago they disappointed us with both service and f&b quality. This time around, we found that they have taken our comments and complaints to work and have revised their food menu and improved their service tremendously.
Their food menu, although seem limited was open to cooking meals that were not in the menu. However, they do not have a kids menu and I found that lacking. They seem to have a lot of families staying in the hotels and the hotel should make some adjustments to make the little ones feel welcome. Perhaps a small play area in the hotel or an outdoor play slide next to the pool garden.
Apart from that it was a good stay in the E&O. They are slowly getting their old charm back and with the new wing coming up soon, they will need to continually improve.

Room Tip: Sea facing room is always a good pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolchique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of my favourite hotels. We had visited before just for lunch when we were on a cruise and decided that we must return as we loved it so much. This time we stayed for 6 nights and had a really lovely room with lounge area overlooking the sea, a beautiful view to wake up to every morning.
Our room was kept beautifully for us and we were provided with a different selection of fresh fruit every day.
All the staff, on the door, reception, restaurant and bar were excellent, extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, we felt valued as customers and never had any cause for complaint.
I really enjoyed our afternoons by the pool, we were always immediately given towels and a glass of iced water when we were arrived and were able to easily order drinks and food also.
We had the Buffett breakfast every day, wonderful choice of fresh fruit and huge selection of foods to appeal to all nationalities, local delicacies such as delicious home made roti and curry, Japanese food, English and American, really fantastic choice, we loved it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and looking forward to going again!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank loverealale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

My daughter and I had a suite overlooking the pool area and the sea, with large bedroom, smaller but adequate lounge and large bathroom with double sinks, etc. Biggest accolade goes to the staff, who were welcoming, friendly and could not do enough to please. Breakfast so abundant with everything you could wish for - and if they didn't have it on show, such as fresh mango one day, they went to get it for you. Loved our stay, hope to return one day to Penang, and this will be the place we will make our home. Great location, in walking distance of all major sights in Georgetown, and the shuttle to the beach hotel (Lone Pines) at Batu was a bonus (this was also a great place to go for the day, nice poolside lunch, stay for the night market).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellersalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great hotel in the same style of the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok and The Sofitel in Hanoi. Lots of charm, great location to all the amazing street food vendors and historical sites. We had a room in the wing close to the Banquet Hall and it was impossible to sleep. The hotel was kind enough to move us quickly without any fuss. So inform them before you do not wish to be in that wing. Breakfast is charming by the veranda but the food is just alright. The hotel seriously needs an update. The toilets could not be flushed properly and they are still giving Nescafe sachets for your morning coffee. Seriously - this is 2013 and to promote itself as a 5 star hotel, they need to move up a notch.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in the wing away from the Function hall. if not, you will be bothered by music til...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FRParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

A fantastic location in Georgetown to relax, enjoy the waterside scenery, swim by the shoreline and take in the ambiance now and what it must have been like years ago..
Suggest you organise transport from airport to hotel prior - about 20-30 min trip.
The great service starts from when you are greeted at the door, and then handed a refreshing drink while you check-in.
Suite rooms are fantastic, and the buffet style breakfast at Starkies was just unreal.. Roti Canai, freshly squeezed juices and ....
The hotel is within ideal walking distance to Bayview Hotel revolving restaurant, the heritage aspects of Georgetown, Little India and many other great stops.

Room Tip: Understand the rooms are all suites, or larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougieTr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 79 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 79 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 79 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 79 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
7.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Property: Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Fastbooking and Booking.com so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing