We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

A female friend and I stayed at the E&O for 5 nights and would thoroughly recommend to any one who enjoys old world charm and elegance. This hotel is well situated for sight seeing in Georgetown and has a free shuttle service to Batu Ferringhi if you are looking for beach..... I personally would not bother as we were not that impressed with the beach. The pool at E&O is lovely and the breakfast is excellent.
Staff are friendly and helpful and our only complaint was that they gave a recommendation to a Spa called Deluxcious which was a complete dud. Do NOT use this place. Find somewhere in town where it will be cheaper for sure and could not be any worse.
All in all a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The writer’s suites are enormous. Worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMB16465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,160
    782
    241
    93
    44
See reviews for
688
1,664
163
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

If you want to treat yourself to a little luxury and old fashioned service with your own butler then this is the place to go.

Restaurant is not much, but with so many places on your doorstep this is not such a huge problem.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chilliedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

In July this year we returned again to the wonderful E&O for where we stayed for three fabulous weeks. We have been to Penang on many occasions and every year when we return it is like coming home.

We are always warmly welcomed at the airport after an overnight flight from Australia. On reaching the hotel the staff are delighted to see us again, and their smiles are warm and genuine. We are swept straight through to our favourite suite overlookng the sea where chocolates, fruit and wine await.

Our reservations are dealt with professionally and courteously by Mr Jimmy Lee. The new manager, Mr Harold Rainfroy is delightful, hospitable and ensures all guests are welcomed and any requests promptly attended to. The pool is a fabulous place to relax and Josman laughs, smiles and offers iced water frequently. I love getting up early every day to swim as the sun is coming up. Early in the morning the pool is a calm, serene and peaceful place, and in the late afternoon after exploring Georgetown, it is a great place to have a drink and unwind.

Breakfast is now in the new Sarkies, and perhaps the buffet is a little less impressive. We hope the Old Sarkies finds a new purpose soon. It looks a little lost and forlorn.

The Bombay Shop has lots of lovely items, and the smiling, fun-loving ladies are full of information about the hotel, and the history of Georgetown. Dinner out one evening with them was full of fun, laughter and great food.

This is a hotel full of grace and charm. It is staffed by people who are professional, helpful, courteous, warm and friendly. The E&O is a haven of tranquillity after the heat and bustle of Georgetown.

Go on! Do yourself a favour and go and stay there!

We are already planning another holiday there next year, which will be exactly forty years since our very first trip to Penang. And in the many holidays in Malaysia since our honeymoon in 1973….oh what changes we have been fortunate to experience!

Room Tip: Definitely a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatE88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

E&O hotel has a rustic charm about it, which we rarely see nowadays in other city hotels. From the outside you can immediately notice the gorgeous colonial style architecture. It has luxurious decors, elegant atmosphere, good size rooms and facilities. The poolside view is breath-taking, combined with the very relaxing tropical atmosphere of Penang. It's central location is also an additional plus, with close proximity to everything. It's within walking distance to heritage sites in Georgetown, and also to shopping areas. But what impressed us the most is the quality of service the staff delivers to their customers. Upon arrival, they immediately made us feel welcome and anticipated everything we need before we even asked for it. We would like to extend our sincerest gratitude to the Resident Manager of the hotel Mr. Harold Rainfroy, who is always there to answer our queries, offered suggestions and help made our stay much more enjoyable. He is such a valuable asset to the hotel. The reception staff were also very assistive & attentive to our needs. We wish that all hotels have the same outstanding quality of service E&O has.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelcocuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosier
Level Contributor
74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is like many other colonial hotels in southeast asia (raffles in singapore, oriental in bangkok, strand in yangon or metropole in hanoi) The room booked was 208 located over the swimming pool and facing the straits. Large bathroom, with a small living room. TV is not a flat one but not that useful as Wi fi free in the hotel. Buffet breakfast is large, however, you will taste every dish if you spend several nights there. We tried the 1885 restaurant:food is above average but the service is not (slow, not careful to guests needs).
Location is good as many sightseeings are within walking distance. The blue mansion is very close (5min)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amexGosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

FIrst off, the service was excellent. Arrived at 11PM and was served promptly with welcome drink and ushered into room immediately with no hassles

The room decor is a little old and the toilet flush worked ok on arrival. floor in bathroom is also marble so need to be careful when wet

room space is excellent and everything is great, from the welcome fruit basket to the size of the room.

Breakfast was great; great view of the city skyline. Gym and location was great. Close to nightlife

Room Tip: Nice place to hold a wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Spent 7 nights in this wonderful hotel. Treated like royalty. Staff attentive, polite, friendly and seemed to genuinely take great pride in their hotel and country. Relaxing atmosphere, great breakfast selection and view to match. Room was everything that we were promised, cleaned daily and bed turned down each night. Enjoyed relaxing around the pool and taking in the view across the sea. Shame we had to leave but will definately return and include their sister hotel, Lone Pine. Malaysia truley Asia!everything and more. Will and Joanne Australia.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
7.2 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Property: Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing