We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast Ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Beautiful hotel right on the ocean, our room looked directly out on the pool, gardens and bay.
Our dinner in both 1885 and the bar were excellent. The breakfast was unbelievable. Envision the best hotel Sunday Brunch you ever had and that is what you receive complimentary every morning. Eggs cooked to order, fruits, pastries, cheeses, smoked duck and other meats, sushi, salad and noodle soups with seafood , and many other items I can't remember. Staff was friendly and in a great location within walking distance to shops and temples.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denalitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,625)
There are newer reviews for Eastern & Oriental Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,688 - 2,694 of 3,625 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good location! It's just a 5min walk to the Blue Mansion (one of the definite must-go sights in Penang). Close to many famous hawker foods (lor bak & chendol just down Jalan Penang, 10mins walk from hotel). Breakfast at the hotel is also good, sit alfresco, beautiful view. Lovely service, always ready to help. Taxis aplenty from the hotel, they hardly run by the meter but it will cost about RM15 to anywhere in central Georgetown from the hotel.There's a steam room & sauna at the hotel gym, complimentary of course. The free WIFI was also stable & fast, no complaints. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploppyplop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The E&O was everything I expected: attentive but not imposing service, old world charm and wonderful facilities.

Our departure flight was at 10pm at night and we asked for a late check-out. The hotel staff was very sympathetic: our check-time was postponed to 3pm and they offered us use of their gym facilities to freshen up before we left for the airport.

The only downside was the lack of a second bedside table/reading lamp.

Will definitely stay at the E&O again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CafeTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I.stay at the E&O for 3-4 nights every other month and have been doing so for many years. It is disappointing to see the changes in the menu for breakfast and also in Farquhar's and the poolside. It would seem that with every change of management there are cosmetic changes that affect the old world charm and appeal of this hotel.

Concierge, front desk staff and service remain excellent. However the hotel uses a lot of college trainee staff and generally these trainees lack the situational awareness that is required in the service industry. They avoid the guests and refuse eye contact.

Is it possible to revert to some of the old items in the menu eg banana split at the poolside and curry fish at sarkies?

Could a senior staff member monitor the trainees to ensure that the service level does not continue to deteriorate?

The outside seating area at the new sarkies gets extremely hot in the mornings and afternoons.

The limousines of the hotel are not cleaned and give a very bad impression to the guests. Is it that difficult to maintain them ( like the Pen in hongkong)

It's a shame to see the grand old lady starting to show her age.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ohchinchye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here last year and found it to be a great experience. Very old colonial and service to match. Not at all cheap but worth it! We dined in the 1855 resturent one night and had a great meal. I also proposed to my soon to be wife! This was observed by a regular to the resturent dining with his family who sent us over a bottle of wine from his private cellar. Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swissmeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This hotel really has old world charm from its origins in 1885. Apart from our room most of the hotel looks pretty good. They even painted the front door whilst we were there. The free shuttle bus to the sister hotel ( Lone Pine in Batu Ferringhi) is also useful as you get full use of their facilities. The breakfast is fantastic for quality and choice. Has unlimited free Wi Fi. The main detraction was our room.. Chips of paint off the walls, frayed electrical chords to the bedside lamp and standard lamp, thermostat on the air conditioner that did not work, moth hole in the quilt cover etc.. And worst of all a worm in the bottom of our ice bucket. ( they offered no apology for this. I think they were as shocked as we were). We broke the first rule in visiting Asia - do not have ice in your drinks..
Overall I would rate 9/10 for charm, 5/10 for facilities and 5/10 for attention to detail.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrewb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently spent three nights here as part of our honeymoon. We had high expectations having visited Raffles hotel a couple of nights before whilst in Singapore, but unfortunately we felt a little let down.

The hotel is beautiful and the pool area is lovely, but the new restaurant brings the quality of the hotel down. On our first night we arrived late afternoon so decided to have a meal in the buffet restaurant. It was overcrowded, full of kids running about, queues for food and we were seated right next to the main food area, not very romantic for a honeymoon. We had breakfast included in our room rate which was also served in the buffet restaurant. On the second day the only toaster was broken and the selection was not as good as all the other hotels we stayed in as part of our honeymoon. I can only think that when the new wing of the hotel is opened the hotel will become too overcrowded and will lose the exclusivity of its reputation.

Our room was lovely and spacious, but it did smell very musty. I know that the hotel is old but I don't think it should smell!

On a positive note, the service was very good, we were collected and dropped back to the airport in their car, all staff were very attentive and you get a great service in the bar and around the pool.

Out of all of the 5 hotels we stayed in on our trip, the E&O was the only hotel that didn't do anything to recognise our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Q_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 85 in George Town
855 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 85 in George Town
463 reviews
2.0 mi away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 85 in George Town
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Edison George Town, Penang
6.9 mi away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern & Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $143 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing