We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms on the 9th Floor”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 17, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,091 reviews

An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 17, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 12, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

My family stayed in this hotel on Aug 2008 for few nights, i didn't really remember. but for sure i'll stay in this hotel again whenever i visit penang for medical reason. i plan to book the room for my next trip on Oct 2009.
The room is not that big but it's okay cause i find other hotels which is more expensive wd smaller room. the thing they have to fix is the leaking in the bathroom,cause when i stayed there wd 2 different rooms, and this 2 rooms have same problems.
the wifi is better in some rooms, better to pick rooms to the nearest wd d wifi modem which we can see in the hallway to the room.
i like the location which is near to little india, restaurants, bar, 7-11 and shopping centres. taxi to everywhere is mostly RM 10 from opposite the hotel.
the staff is also friendly and helpful.
It's worth to stay here cause the reasonable price that the hotel gives.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed June 1, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE Be aware this hotel is now dated and quite frankly a bit of a mess.The lobby area is fine and has no reflection on the rooms,However the rooms are dirty and very dated,I travelled to PENANG on the 7 April this year,we had pre booked the Cititel because of its atractive internet rate of 99 RM.Upon getting into the room it was quite clear why it was cheap,Dirty and you could hear the people in the room opposite taking there showers quite terrible sound proofing,and another bugbear of mine and yours im sure, room doors slamming all night long ,.I was so tired i did'nt ask for a room change until the next day but they refused quite blankly,so i said we would check out so i paid for 1 extra night and left ( my penalty ) We went to the HOTEL ROYAL EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY POSSIBLE cost 140 RM with breakfast but it was worth every penny and we were upgraded to an office suite attached a great hotel . These hotels are in totally different leagues . I hope this review is of use to you travellers out there we go back to Penang every year as her indoors is AN EX- PENANGITE (Oh i highly recomend a day trip to kedah and go white water rafting a great thrill without being over the top) regards Joe.K

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkier100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed May 10, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chulia Mansion
Chulia Mansion
#13 of 87 in George Town
863 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 87 in George Town
1,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#14 of 87 in George Town
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $56 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing