We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cititel Penang Biz trip”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cititel Penang Biz trip”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Been to Penang for biz tip always stay in Eastin or Vistana , but I must say Cititel Penang is the bext location for tourist , breakfast was good but seems like catered to more Japanese food.
Room was a bit of old side , air con also had some funny smell even I stay NON Smoking.
Read some reviews here , did not knew about the free internal transfer , will stay in Cititel for next biz trip or personal trip as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WEIPENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for deciding to stay with us during your recent trip to Penang and many thanks for taking the time to share the review of your stay.

We look forward to your continued support and to welcoming you back for more return visits, be it for business or leisure.

With kind regards and best wishes for the new month ahead.

Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    567
    234
    45
    24
See reviews for
201
243
91
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Im Paramewari from kl used stying at Cititel Penang on 20th April 2014.I my self and my fren really loved our stay at this lovely hotel.We really enjoy our stay, Nice size room, very comfortable bed n pillow , food style wow n for the staff done the wow service by attend with cheerfull n warm welcome... its impressed me. Very professional but extremely friendly and helpful staff.. Thank yiu All .... If i come again to Georgetown i will stay again in Cititel Penang... I will recommend my frenz n Family Too....

Room Tip: We Thank to the bellboy and also all the staff..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anniekriyzen_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Ms Parameswari

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang

I am very delighted to note that you had an enjoyable time in Penang and that we have exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. My team and I truly appreciate your kind comments about our hotel facilities and services.

THANK YOU for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang for yet another fulfilling stay soon.

Best wishes for the new month ahead.

With kind regards,

Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

On a business trip to Penang and have my friend to book us a hotel and get to know this hotel.
It was a nicely located hotel. The only problem we have is that due to the age of this hotel, the carpet is smelly and the air-con is not cold. But likely the hotel rooms come with a ceiling fan which help to cool the room. When we were there, they having renovation. The staff are nice and also the buffet breakfast are good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank rayswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us and trust that you had a good trip home.

My sincere apologies for the lack of attention to details in your room – please be assured that this is not our usual standards of service that we maintain here at Cititel Penang and I have personally spoken to my Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager to ensure that this does not recur.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay on the whole and thank you once again for taking the time to write. It is through your feedback that we can continuously strive to improve and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

It's a simple hotel, not a very brand new, but it sits on great location.

There are plenty of foods around, near to massage place, etc etc.

I was driving there so I don't really eat around there, but saw a lot of bars, restaurants and convenience stores.

The furnitures are a bit old, but all working as it supposed to. So there is no complain at all.

The room size is not so bid, but not so small either. (I will put the pic later).

Car park quite little, but we always get the spot. Sometimes only left 1 or 2 spots. So, no complain at all too on this.

I don't really have special impression, but I don't mind coming back here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better, as usual
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kebosatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, our location is indeed one of plus points and many of our guests are pleasantly surprised at how convenient it is to move around from here for shopping, dining and even sight-seeing, be it by foot, by trishaw, by car or by public transport.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Cititel Penang and thank you for making us your preferred hotel on your next visit. See you soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Overall the hotel is in a fab location and the breakfast is good. The croissants were a but stale but the Chinese buffet was very good.

We had some issues-
We were initially given a smoking room and were not even asked if we wanted that. We could smell smoke in our room and had to spend the first night sleeping in a smokey room as they didn't have anything else.

The room is okay but feels a bit old and dated.
Also the windows to the rooms do not open at all, which I find annoying as I like to let in some fresh air.

Finally the internet connection is soooooo infuriating!! If you are touring around like is, we really rely on good internet so as to book next hotels and travel plans. The internet in this hotel is so slow and keeps dropping every five seconds.
In the end had to resort to making Phonecalls but the phone didn't work as they had blocked it because we had not paid a deposit!
We had to call reception, pay a deposit and then they unblocked it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bristolbakedalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share the review of your recent stay. I read your comments with great concern and am disappointed to learn of your stay experience here with us.

I regret your discomfort on the first night due to our rooms being fully booked at that time and could not offer you an alternative room. We do not have a totally smoke-free environment policy at our hotel, hence, our Maintenance Manager and Housekeeper are constantly looking into improving the air quality within the hotel, especially that of our public areas and our guestrooms.

Our guestroom windows are always locked as part of the safety and security measure of this hotel. However, the window can be unlocked upon guest’s request and signing of the indemnity form. It is our policy to request for a RM100 deposit upon check in – we regret that we had to disable the phone connection as you had declined paying the deposit when you checked in.

I am sorry to hear that you had a connectivity issue during your stay. I have asked our IT personnel to check thoroughly as we have substantially increased our bandwidth and number of access points recently on our guest floors, hence this matter should not arise, unless we have guests downloading heavy files which may have affected the connectivity. Alternatively, we do provide complimentary WIFI access at the Internet Kiosk, located within the Main Street Café, Lobby Level which I hope, had assisted you.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write as it is through your feedback that we can continuously strive to improve and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Once again, my apologies that your stay was not up to expectations on this occasion. However, I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again for another stay – do contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We spent 3 days 2 nights in Penang recently and put up our stay in Cititel Penang as recommended by a close friend. It is located in the heart of the city and close to many eateries. On top of this, there is a free internal bus service to transport visitors around the main areas of the city. The hotel has a large lobby area but unfortunately there is no entertainment provided such as reading materials or desktop computers to access free internet.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. Keep up this good work!

I would recommend it to my friends who want to stay in Penang.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smlim52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and trust you had a good trip home.

It is most heartening to read the review of your recent stay with us – thank you for your gracious comments of our team’s services and hotel location.

I am sorry to learn that you were not informed of the Internet Kiosk at the Main Street Café, our 24-hour café, located on the Lobby Level, where our house guests and patrons are accorded complimentary use of the computer units as well as complimentary broadband internet access. We do have reading materials provided at the Main Street Café too.

I sincerely hope that this did not cause you any inconvenience and did not deter you from enjoying your stay with us. My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again soon.

Thank you for your recommendation and please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if i may of further assistance with your reservations.

With best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 days 3 nights during 26 feb till 1st march 2014. Was here for a short getaway with my colleague. We choose this hotel as it is in a very good location. Walking distance of 5-10 mins to 1st avenue mall, komtar, chowrasta market ( place that u can buy pickles and souvenir, also they have old bookstore that sell 2nd hand book at low price on 2nd floor), Sup Hameed restaurant (u should try as they served mutton soup super delicious), restaurant kapitan @ chulia street and the famous Nasi Kandar Line Clear stall. Opposite the hotel, it have quite a few good and nice cafe to try it out. There are plenty of minimart that operate 24hrs. There is a bus stop opposite the hotel where you can catch the free shuttle bus or other buses directly to Penang Hill or Gurney Drive. Taxi stands are just opposite and its easy to get cab if you do not wish to wait for public buses. Surrounding by club, for sure your night will never be bored.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AiiniiAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your review - I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and happy to note that you have done quite a bit of exploring too. Yes, many of our guests agree with you on how easy it is to get around the city with Cititel Penang as your base whilst in Penang.

My team members and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

Terima Kasih and kind regards,
Tony Goh
Genera Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
549 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing