We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect. absolutely perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“perfect. absolutely perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I liked this place. It is clean and has a tasteful design. The price is slightly higher than I expected it to be, but the hospitality of the staff covered up for it. Wifi isn't perfect though, which is sad.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the end of the hallways, this way there will be much less noise hitting your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethan1el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and trust that you had a good trip home.

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. I am truly appreciative of your kind words about our services and facilities and have shared them with my team here.

Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings of the wi-fi connectivity - we have been experiencing some issues with our wifi connection of late and are working to resolve it – I sincerely hope that it did not detract you from the overall enjoyment of your stay here.

On a happier note, THANK YOU for the full score in this review and for taking the time to share your experience at Cititel Penang.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Penang.

With best wishes and kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    556
    234
    45
    24
See reviews for
198
241
89
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangi
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Booked Cititel based on the reviews here on Tripadvisor. Check in was easy and I'd like to thank Calvin at the front desk for making it such a breeze. Rooms were small but I was in town for business and used it mainly to sleep, so it didn't bother me too much. Bed was comfortable enough for me and I had a good rest during my stay. One negative on the water outlet drain being too close to the toilet bowl because you might step on the drain cover and some guests won't like it.
The location of the hotel is unbeatable. You're Penang Road so there's something for everyone. Food, bars, discos, knick knacks etc It's all here on Penang Road. You don't need the breakfast in the hotel because there's simply a lot more tastier choices outside.
Will definitely return to Cititel when I'm on business. The service is great and location is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikaelangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your kind comments and it is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed your stay here. I have shared your thoughts with my team and conveyed your gracious comments about Calvin to him with much pride.

Yes, many of our guests have expressed their delight on the location of our hotel and how easy it is to move around in town when staying at Cititel Penang.

My team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks for selecting to stay with us through Trip Advisor.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if i may be of further assistance with your next reservations.

With best wishes and kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My Family and I had a 3 night stay from 7 Nov ~ 10 Nov, nothing spectacular about this hotel other than they are situated in a very convenient locations to some of the interesting historical attractions like Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion and Peranakan Museum which we enjoyed it much because we are NONYA.
Nevertheless, it is also quite easy to find places to eat, especially RED GARDEN FOOD PARADISE & NIGHT MARKET just opposite the hotel, they had some very nice local dishes and it does not cost a bomb. Overall, i will still come back to stay at Cititel, even for business. Simply because of Location. Well Done.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtej2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your kind comments and it is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed your stay in Penang - trust that you and family had a great time going down memory lane when exploring the heritage sites in George Town.

We look forward to welcoming you and family back to Cititel Penang and thank you for recommending our hotel.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and i had a 3 night stay at the Cititel Georgetown and found it a very good hotel. We had a room on floor 10 non smoking. Hotel is situated in the middle of a '' foodies paradise.'' Every kind of eating imaginable to any budget . Hotel staff were helpful and friendly, room was kept clean and stocked with drinking water / tea /koffie/ clean towels / fridge and free Wi Fi . Also a top class Buffet brekfast each day . We would stay there again .

Room Tip: Choose a non smoking room and a high floor if you like a view of surrounding Georgetown . This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

It is indeed a delight to know that you and your wife have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for you gracious comments on our hotel services and facilities and for your recommendation.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you both back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

With best wishes and kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

convenient location to all key George Town attractions, such as the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansions, Mural Art Trails and Penang Delicacies (Jln Kimberly, etc). Room is very clean and adequate. The lobby of the hotel is very grand. However, they do not provide two way land transfer to the Air Itam, therefore we had a hard time coming back although the staff at the lobby said that there is a lot of taxi at Air Itam.

Overall, it is a very great stay. We are very satisfied!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanniong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang - we trust you had a good trip home.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Penang and for taking the time to share the review of your stay - your positive comments of our team members, facilities and location are most appreciated.

My Team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back for more return visits and please do not hesitate to let me know if I may of further assistance with your future reservations with us.

With kind regards and best wishes,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is located close to Penang's famous Chowrasta market and some hawker food stalls. One of them is the "cendol" iced sweet dessert.
We stayed on the 12th floor and the room was clean.
However, the corridor reeks of cigarette smoke although this is supposed to be a non-smoking floor. The bathtub is a little worn/damaged.
The keycard access system is cranky - the elevator sometimes refuses to recognize it.
The indoor swimming pool is terribly small and not worth the effort. While we were there, some kids were fooling around in the pool, jumping and splashing in the small pool and generally being a nuisance. They also monkeyed around in the adjacent gymnasium and there was no supervisor to keep everyone in line.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Penang and I hope that you had a good trip home.

Many of our guests enjoy exploring the city’s heritage enclave, food haven and shopping bazaars whenever they stay with us. I hope that you and family have enjoyed the same experience too.

Thank you for sharing your observations during your stay; please accept my apologies for the inconvenience encountered with the key card security access panel in our lifts. We are having the panels checked again and if need be, will have the faulty panels replaced.

Regretfully, our hotel does not have a totally smoke-free environment policy but our Maintenance Manager and Housekeeper are constantly seeking ways to improve the air quality of our public areas and in our guestrooms. I regret the discomfort encountered with the lingering smoke smell on the 12th floor.

I am disappointed to know that our pool was not up to your expectations - our indoor pool with jacuzzi, although not equipped for serious swimming sessions, is aimed at providing our guests a welcome respite from the hot afternoons in Penang.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back again soon.

With best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed there for a 2 nights business trip and it was great!
The room was relatively small but knowing Cititel they don't offer big rooms at their hotels..
Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choices from local to international that would spice your tastebuds!

Location wise the hotel is located smack in the middle of the town.. its a walking distant from the ever famous nasi kandar line clear and other shopping/food attractions.

Customer service was excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iszkandardzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for the postive review and I am very glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

My team members and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With best wishes and kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.8 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing