We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Defines the word 'average'” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #20 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Bangkok
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Defines the word 'average'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Here now for 3 nights on business. One more night to go. Location is good. Everything else defines the every essence of the word average. First, their slogan is 'Your business friendly hotel'. I have no idea why they print this everywhere as nothing about the hotel is particularly business friendly. Alright, here are my observations.

In room Wifi - Free. That's nice. The problem is that it is extremely slow at times - like 20 seconds to open a text only email in Gmail. In the end I had to pay for their mobile internet service, which is much faster and costs RM 55 for 3 GB usage.

I booked a deluxe room. Nice view of the sea, but everything is very dated.

Bathroom - Bathtub is tiny and a bit dirty. You wouldn't actually take a bath here. Water pressure is very low.

Aircon - Freezing even on the maximum 30 degrees.

Fan - Has two modes - OFF and HELICOPTER. God only knows why they don't have a switch that allows you to set the fan to low. It would be nice to use instead of the aircon.

Bed - Comfortable enough, but nothing special.

TV - A handful of channels.

The breakfast is, well, very average. The quality of the food is not great and the variety isn't there either.

When you see the pool and 'gym' and think back to the images on their website, you will understand the wonders of wide angle photography. Both are very small - the gym consists of a treadmill, two benches, and a cheap universal weight machine. There is a sauna and steam that looked alright. But a hotel this size should have a real gym with 20 or 30 pieces of equipment. Also, note that the pool is indoors so if you want to get some sun, you're out of luck.

The staff are friendly.

Overall, it's just very average, although as states, the location is pretty good. I'm not sure if I would stay here again. They need to upgrade a number of things and then I probably would.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us and I hope that you had a good trip home.

My sincere apologies for the inconveniences and the disappointment encountered during your stay with us - I appreciate your taking the time to list the areas of improvement which I have immediately looked into.

The fan speed control is located under the bedside table and should have been set at the lowest speed at all times - my apologies for our lack of attention in this instance, as with the thermostat control for the air-conditioning.

I am looking into the possibility of extending the space of our gym to accommodate a few more pieces of exercise equipment and upgrading the bathroom is also in our plans for the coming year.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write as it is through continuous feedback that we are able to objectively review our facilities and services we provide to ensure that they meet and hopefully exceed our guests’ expectations.

It is my fervent hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to Cititel Penang again soon and please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance with your next reservations.

With best wishes and kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    555
    231
    45
    23
See reviews for
197
238
89
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Selangor Darul Ehsan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My second time staying at Cititel Georgetown, both also for work.

Both times also booked online - to enjoy the special rates. However, the second time (this round) booking, the rate has doubled. Well, I love walking about in this area, Penang Road, Campbell Street etc for the arts, historical values, and of course food.

The online booking was smooth, for both times.

The check-in was fast, maybe because I have key-in all my details online. Front desk personnel was helpful.

Booked Deluxe room as advertised below:-
IN YOUR DELUXE:
* Air conditioning with individual temperature control
* Bidet
* Ceiling Fan
* Complimentary coffee/tea making facilities
* Complimentary WiFi for 2 users per room daily.
* Daily replenishment of bottled mineral water
* Full room amenities
* Hair dryer
* Higher floor, City or Sea View
* In-house movies
* In-room safe
* International direct dial
* Iron and ironing board
* Key card access/security lock
* LCD TV with satellite channel
* Long bath and shower
* Mini refrigerator

The room has everything it advertised, except bidet and in-house movie. And perhaps one more is the low floor I am in.

Other comments about the hotel:-
1. The water hole is too close to the toilet. You are for certain to step on it. Very inconvenient and unhygienic

2. In-movie - if the hotel is referring to Fox Movie, then that is not the in-house movie.

3. Vision Four - Cititel should just unsubscribe it

4. The ceiling fan only comes in one speed - highest, and not adjustable

5a. WiFi - seems to have a quota. Come on Cititel??

5b. WiFi - Only can browse to certain sites - downloading, sending emails, out of luck

6. Shower - no super jet like, unlike Tune Hotel, probably at fraction of the cost.

7. Pillows, bed - really hard to sleep on. That is why I am awake to key-in this review

8. Noisy bed - Yep, noisy. Whenever I turn, there is noise.

Overall, the hotel is pleasant to stay, although the lifts seems rather slow. Last night dinner seen quite a long queue waiting to get back to hotel rooms.

Ok, that's it.

Room Tip: 1. Go for non-smoking room 2. Avoid too close to smoking floors. Really stink
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamuelTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mr Tan

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for writing and for sharing your positive comments of our service team and hotel location. however, it is with regret to learn that your recent stay was not up to your expectations.

I apologise for the shortcomings of the set-up in your room; the room’s fan’s speed control is located under the bedside table and have advised my Housekeeper to ensure that it is tuned to the lowest speed at all times, and yes, Vision Four is our in-house movie channel. Fox Movie is one of the satellite TV channels that we subscribe to.

We have been experiencing some issues with our wifi connectivity of late and are working to resolve it – my apologies for the inconvenience. I am sorry that the condition of our pillows kept you up; we do have a selection of pillows from our Housekeeping Department and regret that you were not informed about this during your stay.

I regret that I did not have the opportunity to meet with you during your stay with us which I am sure, would have enabled me to correct the situation, leaving you with a more positive impression.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write as it is through your feedback that we can continuously strive to improve and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

My team and I look forward to having you stay with us again and to have another opportunity to serve you better. Please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance.

With best wishes and kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Cititel in August. It's in a very handy position in Georgetown an easy walk to restaurants and transport. The "delux" room I booked was an extremely reasonable , it wasn't big but it had everything needed including a jug and fridge and a lovely city view. The linen was white and of good quality and the bathroom was well maintained. Extra pillows would have made the beds more comfortable . The staff were helpful and efficient. It's very handy having a swimming pool, which the Cititel does. It's not a very attractive pool, being indoors surrounded by white tiles, but it was clean and cool. The only problem here is that the WIFI is very bad. Slow and almost non existent. They need to fix it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyKitchenStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts – I am very happy to note that you have had a most enjoyable stay here and my sincere thanks for your kind and gracious comments about our hotel team members and the service rendered.

I apologise for the shortcomings during your stay – I am presently reviewing the system and am confident that the connection will be up to par when you next stay with us. I also regret to know you were not kept informed that a selection of pillows are available at our Housekeeping Department when required.

Nevertheless, I do hope that these issues did not detract you from your overall enjoyment of your holiday and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us on your next visit to Penang.

Until then, my best wishes for a great weekend ahead.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Centrally located. Easy to travel around the city area for good foods, sightseeing and work out (can start jogging towards Esplanade and then Beach Road, the return via Chulia Street or run into Kimberly Street then walk thru Cintra Street market and back to hotel)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeforeJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for your positive comments of Cititel Penang - it is wonderful to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looks like you know your way around our heritage city! You might want to consider bicycling instead the next time you are here – we can arrange the bike for you too!

My team members and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for sharing your experience with us.

With best wishes and kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Booked a Superior Double Room directly from the hotel as it was on promotion. We were given a room with seaview. Unfortunately, due to the haze blown in from Sumatra, Indonesia, we couldn’t enjoy the view from the room throughout our stay.

I chose the hotel for its location as it is within walking distance from plenty of eateries, some of which are famous for their Penang hawker fare. In fact there are two 24-hour Indian Muslim or Mamak restaurants within a short walking distance from the hotel. The UNESCO World Heritage Site of Georgetown is also within walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel has a coffee house, a Chinese restaurant and a Japanese restaurant but I didn’t try any of them as I prefer to savour the famous Penang street food.

The room has strong and stable WiFi signal with decent internet connection speed. Our room was near the lifts/elevators.

Room and bathroom are clean and we had good housekeeping throughout our stay. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night’s sleep.

Staff are courteous and service was prompt. Check-in and check-out was quick and hassle free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwk-my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

It is very heartening to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us recently.

We truly appreciate your kind comments about our team, the service rendered and hotel facilities; yes, many of our guests are pleasantly surprised at how convenient it is to move around from here for shopping, dining and even sight-seeing, and I'm glad you took the time to discover the various attractions in and around George Town.

My team members and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit to Penang and our sincere thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Have a great weekend ahead.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

the hotel is in a good location and quite decent and well priced. the rooms are small but nothing to complain about and had breakfast once, although i would recommend eating out. would have been a decent stay if not for the worst checkout experience i have ever had.

first, the gentlemen who was handling my checkout told me that i had not provided them with a deposit. I told them i was not asked for us at checkin although they asked me for one later and i provided it the night before. he insisted (quite rudely) that i did not and 'demanded' that i show receipt for it. i had to insist several times before he finally found it in the system. Did not apologies for it.

Next, my room rate included the internet and I was given a user name and password upon checkin. I could log in the first time but when i try to log in after i switch off and switch on my laptop, and when I enter the given details, it asks me to choose a package. I knew it was a glitch in the system and 'thought' even if I click, the hotel would not double charge me (and yes i did not use it on multiple divices).

Again, I was told that 'oh well, you clicked it, you have to pay for it', It didnt matter that my room included the internet and was being double charged. It wasn't much but i didn't want to pay again for something I had already paid for. He insisted again, said it was my fault, so I courteously paid, thanked him for his outstanding services, and told him I would never stay at a Cititel again. He wasn't bothered.

I would never stay there again, and would not recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mshahdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear En Mohd Shahdy

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share the review of your recent stay and it is with much regret to learn of the less-than-positive experience of your recent stay with us. I would like to assure you that your recent experience is not how we carry out our operations here at Cititel Penang.

Our complimentary WIFI system is set up to accommodate 2 devices; once the 2 devices are in use, with the 3rd devise, the system will automatically prompt and route the user to our normal package rates for package selection. The deposit required was for the use of the 4-G services which was actually a verification of your credit card that was not charged the first time. It was only charged upon your check-out.

I have also cautioned the staff concerned on their delivery manner which did not come across positively.

I sincerely hope that you did not allow these issues to detract you from the overall enjoyment of your stay here and my sincere thanks once again for your kind feedback. It is my fervent hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Cititel Penang again soon.

Please contact me directly at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance with your room reservations.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Its bathtub is smaller than the previous hotel I stayed in Ipoh but it is clean and the bed is much more comfortable although I didn't really get to enjoy it as we decided to check out earlier fearing the massive jam ahead in our journey back to KL as it is the last day of the school days. You've to pay to use WIFI in your room unless you go to the lobby or to its breakfast area, which is not very convenient. You have to use the access card in the lift to get to your floor, which makes you feel secured staying here.

Room Tip: A non smoking room that is close to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraLeeKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Ms Lee

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and I trust that you and your family had an easy journey back to KL.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and I am glad to note that you liked our key card access security feature. We do provide complimentary WIFI access for up to two (2) devices per room for all reservations at Cititel Penang; however, you will need to book directly with us instead of through the travel agency in order to be eligible for this.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance with your future reservations.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to stay with us again soon, and until then, my best wishes for a great month ahead.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.8 mi away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
0.8 mi away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#21 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing