We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location, room a little dated”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #21 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great staff, great location, room a little dated”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed mid August for 3 nights in Cititel Georgetown. The staff were very good, attentive, helpful with any questions and very quick to check-in / check-out. The room itself was a good size although it could do with a little bit of a refurbishment. The bathroom was a little dated but overall clean and the sheets on the bed had a few stains on them so could do with a replacement.

Good for the price and in the right location with great staff.

Room Tip: For lunch, try the curry house across the road to the right of the hotel, delicious meals at a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boo5td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

It is indeed very heartening to know that you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

My team and I truly appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang again soon.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    568
    234
    45
    25
See reviews for
202
243
92
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed 3 nights over the Hari Raya long weekend. The hotel was packed. Great and helpful staff. Very helpful tips and great service.

Given the long weekend, the hotel rate was not great value for money.

On the downside, my room on level 10 was dark and smelled of mildew. The room does not seem to have been recently refurbished and the carpet looked poorly maintained. The bathroom looked old and tired. The hotel gym had limited equipment and the pool looked poorly maintained and was not well utilised.

There was also no safe in the room and any valuables have to be stored on the front desk safe.

Great wifi connection. Fast and easy to connect to and it came free.



Breakfast buffet was so so. There were flies in the buffet room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laddylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to write and hope that you had a good trip home. Your kind comments are most appreciated, especially that of our team - thanks very much.

I apologise that our gym and indoor pool were not up to your expectations; I am presently looking into the possibility of extending the gym area in order to accommodate a few more pieces of exercise equipment and am confident that we will realise this by 2014.

I am sorry that your guest room was also not in the best condition and I regret that I did not have the opportunity to meet with you during your stay with us which I am sure, would have enabled me to correct the situation, and to ensure that you had a more fulfilling stay with us. I sincerely hope that these issues did not detract you from the overall enjoyment of your stay with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write as it is through your feedback that we can continuously strive to improve and ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again – do contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance.

With best wishes for a great week ahead.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel and it was surprisingly good. For the price we paid and the reviews online, I was bracing myself for the worst.

Our check-in was late (7.30pm) and we were attended by a Mr. Calvin at Front Desk. He was courteous and made our check-in a breeze. I asked for a non-smoking room and he gave us a deluxe room on the 6th floor which turned out to be quite pleasant. The room size wasn't as small as I expected and I think it fits 2 people quite comfortably. The room smelled and felt clean. The only boo-boos were our stained towels which they changed promptly after we called it in, and the carpet felt a bit dusty (I guess that what the slippers are for but we didn't really need to use them). The pillows were fluffy, air-con cold, and the sheets were clean. The bathroom though a bit aged, was clean as well. They have free in-room wifi that has its ups and downs but it was mostly manageable.

If you're looking for a pit stop in Penang, I think this is good enough for a brief stay. Why pay exorbitant amount unless you're looking to stay in your room the whole day. So all in all, not too bad this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t30Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

I am pleased to note that you opted to stay with us during your visit to Penang – your positive comments of our hotel services (especially on Calvin), facilities and location are most appreciated. Thank You.

My apologies for the lack of attention to the room towels and appreciate your understanding on our wifi connection. Am glad that these issues did not detract you from the overall enjoyment of your stay here.

Thank you for recommending our hotel. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Penang.

Best wishes for a great week ahead.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I had a free evening and returned to this hotel for a drink.
Athirah made me very welcome.
She is very professional and has been trained well to look after customers.
The standards here are always consistent.
A very well run hotel.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philkeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Mr Keating

Good to have you back! THANK YOU for your kind words and for your continued support.

I look forward to meeting up the next time you are in our neighbourhood!

safe travels!

Best wishes and kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. The room is just standard. It's old hotel, the room is not so big. Location is great, it's in penang road, just walking distance to some famous place/tourist spot in georgetown. You can walk thru the eastern&oriental hotel to the seaside. The internet is very slow.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank destriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and am glad that you liked our location and took time to explore George Town.

Have taken note of your comment on our internet speed – my apologies; as we provide complimentary access for a maximum of two devices per room, we are constantly monitoring the usage as heavy downloads may cause the speed to slow down. Nevertheless, I hope that this issue did not detract you from the overall enjoyment of your stay here.

Thank you again for writing and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Cititel. We were more than happy with our choice. Check in and out was a breeze and all staff from reception, through to dining, and cleaning were exemplary being very professional and friendly. Special thanks to Amir, Alvin and staff in the dining room for their attentive and first class service, even offering to get us a coffee as we arrived for breakfast. We were also very impressed with the level of service provided by Syahirah & Athirah in the Cititel Lounge - well done all, you are a credit to the hotel.

Hotel location - was withing walking distance of all the city attractions. We walked around and through the city centre comfortably within a day. The hop on hop off bus stop which is also where you can catch the bus to Batu Ferringgi is about 200 metres away. There are also numerous restaurants in the vicinity including the Jaya Indian Restaurant on the opposite side of the street (delicious cheap meal - loved the tandoori chicken) & the Red Garden Food Paradise about 100 metres to the left and on the right hand side as you leave the hotel., where you can get a wide variety of cheap eats and drinks.

Hotel Room - our deluxe room on the 18th floor was of average size, not large, and met our needs. It had a nice view over the sea and a very comfortable king size bed. The bathroom, like others have mentioned, could do with an update but was clean and had a nice hot shower over the bath with good water pressure. It was a pity that the shower curtain did not stop water running along the back of the bath and out onto the floor. This was a bit of a nuisance.
Wifi was available but very intermittent and extremely slow on occasions

Buffet Breakfast - was included in our room price and couldn't be faulted with a large assortment to choose from and constant replenishment. A great way to start a day!!

Pool/Jaccuzi - We were a little concerned when booking the hotel that the fact that the pool was inside may have made it uncomfortable. However, to the contrary, we found it very refreshing, and on each occasion we used it we had it to ourselves. There was also a adjacent small gym, steam room and sauna.

Computer access was also available in the hotels Main Street cafe, where you could also print out up to 5 pages free - ideal for on line airline check-in and printing of boarding passes

Would have no hesitation recommending the hotel to friends or staying there if ever in Georgetown again

Andrew & Dianne Beechey
Australia

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yotsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Andrew and Dianne

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and I trust that you had a good trip home.

Thank you for your gracious comments on our hotel facilities and services and have shared them with my team here with much pride.

I am very glad to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang and it is most gratifying to know that we have exceeded your expectations.

Thank you for recommending Cititel Penang and we look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was one of the best we have stayed in around the world. The rooms were very clean, fantastic location to all site seeing, the breakfast wow it catered to Japanese, westerners, Koreans, vegetarians and many more. The service was great the staff very attentive and friendly. Management is doing something right. I will be recommending this hotel to family and friends

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHeffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Chris

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you so much for your kind comments of our hotel services, facilities and location - they are greatly appreciated.

My team and I are truly glad to know that you have had an enjoyable time here and thank you for your recommendation and support.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for yet another fulfilling stay.. see you soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.8 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.6 mi away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#30 of 84 in George Town
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wembley – A St Giles Hotel, Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing