We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellence in Hospitality”
Review of Cititel Penang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cititel Penang
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellence in Hospitality”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of this property, not just because it had the highest level of cleanliness I have ever experienced, but because of the staff courtesy, the pride in the hotel they serve showing in every transaction.
Check-in counter folk had a sense of humour, smiled with genuine warmth and wanted us to enjoy every experience as their guests. The room was spotless, and I mean Spotless, with every nook and cranny free of dust or grime. My benchmark is the door jambs on the inside of the bathroom. You will nearly always see traces of rot or accumulated gloop where they meet the floor tiles. Not so at the Cititel. Like new. Perfect marks to housekeeping.
Breakfast was simply superb, with the F&B Manager the first to ask if everything was OK and if we were to find anything to correct, to let him know immediately. We couldn't fault any aspect of the dining. The furniture and floor sparkled and the food selection as vast as any prince might demand. In short, it is now my Value and Quality standard setter but I think I'll be travelling for a long time before it is matched again, let alone surpassed.
Put this hotel on your Must Visit list. Not only will you will not be disappointed, you will be delighted.

Room Tip: The view out to sea is superb so go for a room on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and I trust that you had a good trip home.

Reading your review was indeed a great way to start the new month!

THANK YOU for giving us full marks on our hotel facilities and services! I am very glad to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang. It is most gratifying to know that we have exceeded our guests’ expectations and had provided you and your friends with a totally fulfilling stay here.

Thank you for recommending Cititel Penang and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon.

Wishing you a great weekend ahead!

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    563
    234
    45
    24
See reviews for
199
243
91
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We Stayed in 1110, it was a last minute upgrade decision that was proposed by the counter staff.Good thing that we did. The view we had was panoramic , picture perfect sea view, and partial view on the rustic old Georgetown.

Its walking distance to the famous chendol stall behind Kimberly St, and the Famous Line Clear Nasi Kandar Mamak is just around the corner (Beware, they rip customer off if you order in english, please, if you can order in malay.I got ripped off when the staff charged me RM23 for a plate of rice,one fried chicken and a tiger prawn.)

I've been to Penang many times but im glad that i've stayed in Cititel and definitely i'll be back for more.

Room Tip: Select Higher Floor , spend a lil bit more and upgrade to corner rooms, preferably one facing the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR_XLEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to write and I am most happy to note that you were happy with the upgrade to our Corner room.

It is indeed a delight to know that you have enjoyed your stay - however, I regret to hear of your encounter at the ‘Line Clear Nasi Kandar Restaurant' but hope that it did not dampen the enjoyment of your overall visit to Penang.

My team members and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang on your next visit and our sincere thanks once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

A large hotel , comfortable king sized bed. Our room had a great view of the Straits between Penang and the mainland. Well located with the Red Garden Food Garden nearby for cheap food. Free cat shuttle bus stop across the road along with other bus stops to other tourist spots eg Penang Hill 204 and Batu Ferringhi #101. Laundry one block away and short walk to esplanade. Hotel prices for laundry are per item expensive. Allowed us a late check our which was appreciated. Staff friendly and helpful. Doorman was very attentive and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a room with water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

It is indeed very heartening to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang.

We truly appreciate your kind comments about our hotel facilities and services - yes, many of our guests are pleasantly surprised at how convenient it is to move around from here for shopping, dining and even sight-seeing, and I'm glad you took the time to discover the various attractions in and around George Town during your stay.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Cititel Penang soon and thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Simply put, Cititel is a standard fuss-free, no-frills hotel. We chose it for its prime location in town that made it easy to explore its neighbourhood on foot, including the heritage quarters and the tiny nooks and laneways for food and local colour. We booked a standard room with amazing views of the sea. We always return for a stay here for their really comfy bed and pillows. Rooms are clean, carpet's new, but bathroom's a bit old (but still clean!). Don't expect fanciful anything other than that. Our bathroom comes with a standard 2-in1 body/shampoo pump which I don't particularly fancy, but I suppose it makes good business sense for a hotel to save up on amenities. But, you do get your complimentary toothbrush, shower cap, cotton buds and a handsoap. Staff are friendly. Despite the great food we could get outside, we dined one night (to avoid Penang's crazy traffic) at the Main Street Cafe and ordered a mix of local and Western food. To our surprise, they didn't fare too badly. This hotel makes a great base to explore the city if you want something convenient. I'd say it's similar to any Ibis and Novotel. You'll find no fault with it if this is what you're looking for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaRamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note your positive comments on our hotel location, facilities, services and Main Street Café’s service and food standards. I had much pleasure in sharing your thoughts with my team members.

I am very happy to note that you have made Cititel Penang your base whenever you are in Penang and Thank You for your continuous support.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon.

Wishing you a pleasant weekend ahead.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly reception, a Chinese girl and another Japanese? (sorry forgot their names). They makes me feel warm and welcomed.
I stayed in the refurbished superior room, nice and clean. Extensive toiletries which includes razor and toothbrush.
If you're driving there, you'll need to pay RM4 "deposit" when you first enter the car park. Get a parking pass from reception with the parking receipt which you can drive in/out with the pass. You can get back your RM4 deposit from the parking attendant if you pass him the pass after check out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleHooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang!

It is indeed very heartening to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Cititel Penang and THANK YOU for giving us full marks on our hotel facilities and services.

My team and I truly appreciate your taking the time to compliment our hotel facilities and services and it was with much pride that I conveyed your kind comments to Eriko (our Japanese Guest Service Officer) and the Front Desk Team.

Thank you once again for writing in and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were upgraded to a deluxe room which had a great view over the water. We spent two nights here and found it a fantastic location from which to explore Penang, we were able to walk everywhere. We ate both nights at the night market across the road which provided delicious food. The pool was disappointing in comparison with the rest of the hotel. However the hotel staff were very helpful and efficient and we would recommend staying here if in Penang.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.

Thank you for taking the time to write and I hope that you had a pleasant journey home. I am most delighted to know that you had a great time in Penang and thank you for the kind compliments on our services during your stay.

Our hotel location is indeed, one of the best-selling points of our hotel and many of our guests share your opinion on how easy it is to move around from Cititel Penang, be it for sight-seeing, dining or shopping.

I am sorry to note that our pool was a bit of a damper; it actually is our indoor jacuzzi pool, hence is not very large in size. I am pleased to share that the front section leading to the pool will be converted into a total wellness centre by the year end and hope that you will take the opportunity to try it out the next time you stay with us.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and it is my fervent hope to have the privilege of welcoming you and your partner back to Cititel Penang again soon.

With kind regards,

Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

All the above. We upgraded to a deluxe room on arrival and were very happy with it. I think all we got extra was the view, but it was great. We didn't opt for the breakfast option but there was a cheap, tasty Indian restaurant right across the street and we ejoyed murtabek and sweet tea there every morning.

Location seems within walking distance to everything, which we did. We have nothing bad to say about the room at all, and the bed was huge and comfortable. I plan to return to Penang next year and will certainly stay at the Cititel again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the higher rooms with the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juroDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest

Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang!

I am thoroughly delighted to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Cititel Penang and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

It is always gratifying to know that we have exceeded our guests' expectations during their stay with us and your appreciation is great motivation to all of us here. I also hope that you had a great time exploring our heritage city during your stay.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us next year and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of assistance with your reservations.

Until then, my best wishes for a great week ahead.

With kind regards,
Tony Goh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.7 mi away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
0.8 mi away
Royale Chulan Penang
Royale Chulan Penang
#17 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
0.4 mi away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 84 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Property: Cititel Penang
Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing